PSNI Recruitment (Archived)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 wannabecopper

Hey just found this forum wish i had 6 months ago!! im a little worried though ppl seem to be saying they are getting accepted ive heard im in a merit pool and have recieved feed back from assessment centre so i no i got 54/70 in total, what is the merit number ppl are talking about??? anyone help me out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭goodcopbadcop

Hey welcome aboard and well done getting this far. Have you had vetting or been given a medical yet?

The merit pool is a list of people who passed the test and are ranked in order of how well they scored, the lower your number the better.
    If you have not had vetting or medical but got those two letters, you are in the same same boat as me. I had a high merit number, so going to apply this week again as its very likely this campaign is over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 colt19

wannabecopper u seem to be in a good position, thats a good score, u must be in late 200's or so in the merit pool, and there are 440 places. so it should all depend on the 50/50 for u.
    but call up 02890 650222 and ask for recruitment and they will tell u ur exact pool number, ave u had vetting or medical yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 wannabecopper

thanks for the quick reply folks, havent had medial yet but have done it in previous campaigns so might not have to, ill keep my fingers crossed for now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 CooperCop

Hey all,
    I've just been in contact with the Vetting Office regarding my current status and found out that as a result of studying overseas i.e. Scotland, it may take sometime to get feedback from the relevant people?
    Has anyone experienced something similar with 'overseas addresses? Feel totally helpless. Sucks

I know how you feel... have felt helpless about the whole thing since about november. Pretty sure now though im not getting in this time, so looking forward to thursday and getting back at em!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭mickey2186

Wannabecopper,

Unfortunately everyone must do a medical this time.

In previous years a medical pass carried forward to the next campaign, however not this time.

Indeed this time the medicals seem very tight, so make sure you have all available info you need, otherwise they will probably ask for further info.

Unfortunately I am speaking from experience, after having successfully passed Campaign 12 Medical in Jan 07, I thought this time would be no problem.

However I was asked to produce further info regarding an operation I had 5 years ago..even though I did not have to produce any further info for last years medical!!!

I had to get an independent medical report, which I submitted last week..just waiting to hear news.

You want to avoid any delay that may make the waiting last longer!!!

Mickey2186. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭MartinC2006

Cooper,

The delay may be related to the fact external sources have to provide information as aposed to it all being in house. Those external sources may not be in any rush to provide the PSNI with the information they need.

Hold tight, as long as they get the information you'll be grand!

Martin.

If you've passed everything so far and are still waiting on vetting do you really need to apply for the next campaign? I'm confident that I’ll pass the vetting process, but its a question of when?
    Is it possible that i will miss out on this campaign as result of slow security checks. i.e. slack external feedback from overseas? I’ve a good merit pool number and don’t want to miss out on the 440 places that will be allocated in campaign 13. Does anyone know if I will remain in the merit pool for the next campaign? Technically I've not failed yet and so would hope still to be considered by recruitment.

Cooper,

It's all in the thread. Should your vetting take 2 weeks or 2 years a space will be reserved for you if you done well enough to get one of the 440 places.

Calm down, there are many others in your situation. PSNI himself mentioned his vetting took a year as he was from down South.

Martin.

Thanks for the reassurance Martin, will just have to sit it out.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Yes, if the only thing holding you back is vetting, then your place is reserved for however long the vetting takes. Been there for a year!

Thanks PSNI.
    Just one more thing. Since your vetting took a year did you reapply for the next campaign to be safe? Who told you that your place was safe once in the merit pool?. I would phone recruitment but don't want to hassle them.

The process is different this time as previously everyone in the merit pool got a medical/was vetted.

If I where you I'd apply anyway, better safe than sorry and all that. If you fail the vetting the problem may be resolved by the time you apply again?

Martin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lady-of-the-law

Hi all
    I never knew there was such a forum would have been a god send 6 years ago when i applied itll b 5 years ago in August that i was goint through Garnerville & as 18 year old thats never been away from home it was a hard transition :L:L
    Good luck to all those apllying & in the pool all i can say is be patient it takes a long time but is well worth it once you get to ur station & through your probation period.
    Ive a few friends applying this time round & was wondering does anyone know any websites u can get practice aptitude tests on to get these 2 boys brains into action.
    Any help would be much appreciated
    Cheers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

CooperCop wrote: »
    Thanks PSNI.
    Just one more thing. Since your vetting took a year did you reapply for the next campaign to be safe? Who told you that your place was safe once in the merit pool?. I would phone recruitment but don't want to hassle them.

You can reapply for the next campaign if you wish, to be safe. Can't answer the rest. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭OfficerProblem?

Hi guys

From reading down the posts it appears that if you have been called for a medical and sent vetting forms it basically means that they have a place to offer you? Is this the case? I am still confused about the process as i have been told it has changed since the last campaign. Where does the 50/50 bit come in?
    Is this the case or have i got it all wrong?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭jim2008

Hi all
    I never knew there was such a forum would have been a god send 6 years ago when i applied itll b 5 years ago in August that i was goint through Garnerville & as 18 year old thats never been away from home it was a hard transition :L:L
    Good luck to all those apllying & in the pool all i can say is be patient it takes a long time but is well worth it once you get to ur station & through your probation period.
    Ive a few friends applying this time round & was wondering does anyone know any websites u can get practice aptitude tests on to get these 2 boys brains into action.
    Any help would be much appreciated
    Cheers
    Hi, yes there is a web site. police prep uk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭GEMMAT1984

Hi everyone

Just wanted to share a bit of info. While out with a friend tonight who is also is applying has a friend within recruitment apparently alot of RC are in the higher 500's-800's in the merit pool so this explains how some people are getting through after vetting when their merit pool numbers are higher than others due to 50/50. So it looks like il be reapplying in the morning!icon9.gif

explains why I still have not been told im unsucessful :eek:

applying again tomorrow, as much as i want to believe what you are saying I dont think theres any chance of progressing with this campaign.

Feel bad for you if you dont get in and you scored higher than others!!

I know awww well its just how it goes i suppose it has to be equal!!!!!

Just goin to have to do better this time round, it was only my first attempt so i know il be able to better this time at least i know what im up against!!

I thought you had passed medical and all?

Same here was my first time and After looking at feedback, I didnt really give it anywhere near 100% so next time i will do better.

Yeah i have passed my medical and got an alrite merit pool number. It still isnt over for me yet but im like yourself iv really give up hope getting in this campaign!!

So onwards and upwards tomorrow is another day and a new campaign so im goin to give it my all in the next assessment centre like yourself i really didnt give anywhere near 100% cuz i couldn't as i felt so out of my depth!!! So fingers crossed this time il blow everyone out of the water LOL :)

Do you know the letter you get before AC explaining which skill each role play requires?

well i didnt even bring it to the test, i was sat there in a room with 8 men and they were all looking over their letters so they knew what skill each was looking for, and i was sitting staring out the window... idiot.

I took the whole thing too lightly, partly because i didnt think i had a chance and partly because i wasnt too bothered about joining the police at the time, i am now though.

Me too, loads of people in my group had loads of info with them and i brought nothin :) I even walked into the first room and didnt realise that it started as soon as i walked in, i said oh im so nervous then the actor started shouting at me WAT A MUPPET :L

Well I was only 18 at the time so I can be excused for being a bit stupid about it. Hopefully a year older I will be a year wiser and all that craic :rolleyes:

Do you mind me askin are u RC Male/female. I've never been really classed as anythin although i was at a Catholic primary and secondary so i dont know wat they will class me as! Do you know how they determine this if you are no set religion.

RC male. I dont actually go to church or believe in God but there you go. Went to catholic primary schools, however I went to a mixed Grammar school and I think they base your religion on this. Im led to believe that Me going to a mixed religion school will mean that they view me as being undecided.

OH thats a start so il be classed as RC!! Didn't know that

Just sent my email to Consensia for my application pack so i will be one of the first they get when they go in tomorrow as i read on this that the quicker you get ur application pack the better!!!

Well good luck this time round im sure well have another six months at least chatting on this!!!!

emailed them? can you not just fill in your application online. Thats what I did last time, I assumed it would be on their website tomorrow again?