Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Transfer Rumours/Discussion 2007/2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,327 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Melion wrote: »
    Oh Redknapp shut the fúck up. Best free kick ever in the premiership??? Bollocks.

Oh and apparently Roberto Carlos scored his FK against France only 6 years ago.

Does he know anything?
    I'm just waiting for him to tell us Lampard is a top top player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Unearthly wrote: »
    One of the most comfortable 1st halfs at OT this season.

Its seriously like a testimonial, just at ease. Although if Pompey score next it will be interesting.

Scholes is just class...great to have his passing back, its like hes never been away!

And Nani has to be the best corner taker at the club :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Rooney doesnt have his shooting boots on tonight :p

how crap is Rooney in front of goal? seriously, what the hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,503 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

I'm not actually watching the game but do you guys get annoyed with the way Rooney is always trying to lob the keeper? I notice it every time i watch utd, its like he's always trying to go for the classy finish when its not really necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

What do folks think of Nani's performance this evening? Should he start ahead of Giggs? IMO he's had a decent game (one excellent long range shot there) and should definitely be ahead of Giggs in SAF's thoughts. Defenders stand off him a little bit because he can do the unpredictable, just like Giggs used to earlier in his career. He also brings pace to the LHS and therefore balance.

madds wrote: »
    What do folks think of Nani's performance this evening? Should he start ahead of Giggs? IMO he's had a decent game (one excellent long range shot there) and should definitely be ahead of Giggs in SAF's thoughts. Defenders stand off him a little bit because he can do the unpredictable, just like Giggs used to earlier in his career. He also brings pace to the LHS and therefore balance.

Not sure about him myself. I think he should be better than he is, not sure why. He seems a little ineffective in comparrison to the ability he has. Also, his passes always seem to be a little underhit - getting to the player, but slower than you would like. Dunno. In terms of playing time, he is still a young and inexperienced player, so i'll give him time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

United played utterly **** tonight, very disappointed with them. Ronaldo won the game, then we never got out of 1st gear. Fine result and stuff, but still not sure what to think of Carrick. Nani was average, Parks first touch was poor. Still, 3 points etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

Playa3, agreed. Rooney does my ****ing nut in sometimes. If he would stop that bollox lob and put his foot through the ball he would have 30 goals a season.

Ronaldo's free kick nearly made me weep, it was just too beautiful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    Ronaldo's free kick nearly made me weep, it was just too beautiful.

it rele defied logic, straight up back down WITH a bend on the end of it! f*ckin crazy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

How did ya find these? Even putting in the exact phrase into its search and i still couldn't find 'em!

Ronaldo's freekick was insanely good. Its becoming a surprise if he doesn't score at Old Trafford now.

PHB wrote: »
    United played utterly **** tonight, very disappointed with them. Ronaldo won the game, then we never got out of 1st gear.

That is complete nonsense. What do you expect from this team? We started with 2 guys in midfield who have just come back from long injury layoffs, our defence was never seriously troubled, and we owned the ball for the first 15 minutes of the game.

The only part of our game which was below standard was our finishing, which is a little worrying. Other than that, it was a very good performance against a team who are set up well defensively and don't concede many chances to opposition teams, never mind goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Unearthly

That is complete nonsense. What do you expect from this team? We started with 2 guys in midfield who have just come back from long injury layoffs, our defence was never seriously troubled, and we owned the ball for the first 15 minutes of the game.

The only part of our game which was below standard was our finishing, which is a little worrying. Other than that, it was a very good performance against a team who are set up well defensively and don't concede many chances to opposition teams, never mind goals.

Agreed

Could of been much more than 2-0. Pompey never looked like doing anything, surely a credit to the team for just nulifying anything they did.

I can't agree with that. I felt at times, our first touch was absymal. Park and Nani were really below par imo, bar the odd bit of magic. Park's first touch particuarly was very very poor, much worse than his normal standard.

We never really created too many great chances, and while Rooney should have done better, we still didn't create anywhere near enough. It was a solid performance from a heavily rotated team, so i'm happy, but it was a poor performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

Nani was mostly crap, he looks like somebody who conned Ferguson into believing he was a good footballer. He's more like Lee Martin and Chris Eagles atm than a Ronaldo.

I don't think Rooney likes him at all, as he seemed to make a balls of nearly every pass to Rooney and Rooney was giving out to him every time. He's not gonna get an awful lot of chances to impress and performances like that arent going to help. I can see him being part of a deal to sign Berbatov if Damien Comolli was the one who wanted Nani before he signed for Utd.

I think Nani is a raw talent. Excellent striker of the ball. Great crosser of the ball. Excellent corner taker. Pretty good passer. Very very fast. He's raw. Fergie should be able to mould him into a top quality player.

Anderson however is something else, his pace tonight for the near miss was absolutely unreal.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Anderson however is something else, his pace tonight for the near miss was absolutely unreal.!

The defender was dawdling a bit, but still, dunno how the f*ck God ;) ended up in front of him... he musta miracled/teleported himself in front of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Anderson has so much pace, but he uses it rarely in games and I think it takes players by surprise at times.

I think he's been held back cause he's had to cover for Scholes and Hargreaves not being fit. As such we've seen more of his defensive and passing side. However, now that Scholes is back, I think he'll be deployed more and more as an attacker. Indeed I think its possible we'll see Carrick/Hargreaves and Scholes in the middle, with Ronaldo on the right, and Anderson on the left [where everyone expected him to play when he first joined]

He's looking like he's going to be an amazing player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

I think he's been held back cause he's had to cover for Scholes and Hargreaves not being fit. As such we've seen more of his defensive and passing side. However, now that Scholes is back, I think he'll be deployed more and more as an attacker. Indeed I think its possible we'll see Carrick/Hargreaves and Scholes in the middle, with Ronaldo on the right, and Anderson on the left B]where everyone expected him to play when he first joined[/B

He's looking like he's going to be an amazing player.

Hmmm, not so sure on that. I don't think Anderson was ever going to play on the left, when himself and Nani came in it was plainly for them to replace Scholes and Giggs respectively. It does look like he'll be an amazing player though. That little run tonight when he got the ball around everyone and tipped it past James and narrowly missed was incredible. The guy just oozes class.

I have to ask: has there ever been a more exciting time to be a United fan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

lads, for those that aint see this website, the best that there is on the internet, updated nearly as soon as the games are over -

http://101greatgoals.com/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

can we like eh... borrow ronaldo ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Jazzy wrote: »
    can we like eh... borrow ronaldo ?
    Swap for Kuyt?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Ronaldos free kick was sensational. brilliant free kick.

and Tauren, I dont want to get into an argument about YNWA, but suffice to say, you are wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

id echo much of what the above poster said, i dont think nani will reach the heights of ronaldo, but i do think he will be a great player in years to come, he has all the neccessary skills to do so, and who better then fergie to nurture his talents?

he is being eased in and i think we will see him get better each year, like ronaldo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Delighted with last nights result. All in all it was a poor performance;

positive:
    -scholesy (ginger bear) is majestic and will get better the more games he plays
    -Anderson is possibly my favourite Utd player (he will get better)
    -Ferdinand and Vidic were very good (Ferdinand especially)
    -Park got better as the game went on, his fitness is vital to giving Giggs and Ronaldo (we dont want him to burn out before the champions league) a rest.
    -Nani started and played okay (SAF seems to be easing him in which is good in the long run), he will get better

negative:
    - too many missed chances, we need to be more clinical. There will be games when you only get one chance or two at most. We need to take those chances.
    - the crossing looked poor, too many staright to James
    - Carrick, bit of a nothing performace
    - we are relying too much on Ronaldo ( needs goals from Rooney and others from midfield).

The biggest two weeks of our season so far is coming up soon. The big game for me is

10 February 2008
    Man Utd v Man City

Beating Man City in this game is more important to me than beating Arsenal the next week. SAF will have the tema pumped up for this one. Expect a full strenght Utd team to put on a display to honour the fallen of 1958.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭ZENER

Wasn't Gerry Marsden an Accrington Stanley (sp?) supporter ?

Great goals last night but the second half was a bit of a let down I thought. Great to see Scholes back too.

ZEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Killme00 wrote: »
    -Nani started and played okay (SAF seems to be easing him in which is good in the long run), he will get better

I just dont know about nani yet, he is a great player but he just doesn't seem to click with the rest of the squad, I know he's only young and settling in, and i'm possibly comparing his settle down time with andersons too much. Hopfully he will settle down quick and be ready to start scoring loads of goals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Killme00 wrote: »
    -Anderson is possibly my favourite Utd player (he will get better)

If JOS is going to be over next i'm sure Anderson will feature in CP as well?