Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Fox hunting poll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭thebman

One of the comments:
    poor countries still need aid from developped countries. the aid is saving millions of lives. it will be irresponsible to ban fox hunting

So are all people who are against banning fox hunting insane? I know, blah, blah, blah charity. Since when do you have to go fox hunting to give money to charity?

Personally I think its a worthless activity (its about as close to being a sport as chess is). Neither are sports although at least chess is a worth while activity IMHO.

Couldn't give a toss about a fox. So what if it meets a violent end.

Its not like nature is any less cruel.

No ban voted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

biko wrote: »
    Just enough to balance out the others ;)

Nice ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Why are you so opposed to fox hunting biko and DonJose? I find it strange because cars and trucks cause alot more suffering to foxes than hunters ever do. Theres a hunt goes by my house quite regurlarly and its quite comical to watch, the hounds run around in circles while the horsemen follow. Ive have never ever seen them near a fox. On the other hand going to work this moring i saw 3 dead foxes, all road kill. Does that not make you angry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

ronoc wrote: »
    Its not like nature is any less cruel.

thats true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

DonJose wrote: »
    Vote YES

Vote NO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Sundy wrote: »
    Why are you so opposed to fox hunting biko and DonJose? I find it strange because cars and trucks cause alot more suffering to foxes than hunters ever do. Theres a hunt goes by my house quite regurlarly and its quite comical to watch, the hounds run around in circles while the horsemen follow. Ive have never ever seen them near a fox. On the other hand going to work this moring i saw 3 dead foxes, all road kill. Does that not make you angry?

There is a difference.

Killing something by accident and dressing up to have a grand old time out of another creatures suffering are not the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

On the other hand going to work this moring i saw 3 dead foxes, all road kill. Does that not make you angry?

Thats a big difference between a road accident and intended cruelty where a fox is being ripped to pieces by dogs :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Isnt it ironic that alot of the same people who call for Irelands heritage and culture to be preserved at Tara also call for one of Irelands most traditional sports to be banned. You cant pick and choose people.

Yes we can. It's the great thing-being able to change your opinions. Just because many ancient Irish ran around naked, painted blue murdering others, doesn't mean we actually have to nowadays.;)

Fox hunting should be banned.

It would seem then that you dont care for the fox that gets killed on the road or even left badly injured with brain damage. Just as cruel in my book. Maybe someone who knows about hunting can answer this: If the hounds actually catch a fox is it always killed? Im indifferent to fox hunting but i do get the opinion that some people want to stamp out the whole culture (why i dont know) ie the "dressing up and having a grand old time" comment from kickoutthejams rather than actually caring mostly about the fox.

Agreed.

Also, keeping traditions doesn't mean we keep all of them.

Keeping a historical site-one thing.
    Keeping a frankly silly and cruel sport is another,

Actually I do care about the fox.

But part of living in the world is accepting that casualties do happen by accident.

Killing a defencelss animal for fun isn't the same thing.

ironic how thats exactly what a fox does if it gets into a chicken coop.....dosnt eat just kills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

We're more intelligent than foxes and can make a choice rather than killing on instinct ... well, some of us.

PeakOutput wrote: »
    ironic how thats exactly what a fox does if it gets into a chicken coop.....dosnt eat just kills

We can walk away.

Foxes have an animal instinct.

Bad analogy.

6th wrote: »
    We're more intelligent than foxes and can make a choice rather than killing on instinct ... well, some of us.

i didnt say otherwise

Man, the bullsh*t spouted on this thread!

My father was killed in a traffic accident. Does that mean that cars should be banned? Of course not! But setting out with the intention of killing something for fun (human or fox) is wrong.

Now, I'm not a hypocrite. I don't have a problem with pest control, nor with people eating meat so long as the animal gets a decent life (as a domesticated animal, that is). But there is something a not right about chasing and killing an animal, drawn out over a very long period with overwhelming resourses in favour of the humans, in terms of hounds, horses etc.

If someone came on my land during a hunt chasing a fox, I'd be pretty miffed. And yes, there is a hunt every year here where I'm from.

It would seem then that you dont care for the fox that gets killed on the road or even left badly injured with brain damage. Just as cruel in my book. Maybe someone who knows about hunting can answer this: If the hounds actually catch a fox is it always killed? Im indifferent to fox hunting but i do get the opinion that some people want to stamp out the whole culture (why i dont know) ie the "dressing up and having a grand old time" comment from kickoutthejams rather than actually caring mostly about the fox.

I'd call it use of imagery to try to influence other peoples opinion on the subject.

Personally I don't care about class arguments. I like Foxes. They are beautiful, intelligent animals and I don't think they should be killed for fun by people with nothing better to do with their time.
    Man, the bullsh*t spouted on this thread!

My father was killed in a traffic accident. Does that mean that cars should be banned? Of course not! But setting out with the intention of killing something for fun (human or fox) is wrong.

Now, I'm not a hypocrite. I don't have a problem with pest control, nor with people eating meat so long as the animal gets a decent life (as a domesticated animal, that is). But there is something a not right about chasing and killing an animal, drawn out over a very long period with overwhelming resourses in favour of the humans, in terms of hounds, horses etc.

If someone came on my land during a hunt chasing a fox, I'd be pretty miffed. And yes, there is a hunt every year here where I'm from.

Agree with Jeremiah.

Not really, the fox kills to eat not for fun.

But so much effort is being put in to try save the 10's of foxes that are killed by hunts and the 1000's that are killed on the roads are being ignored. Does that mean we shouldnt worry about people dying in road accidents because "accidents happen" and concentrate the Garda effort on murders? Strange logic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭gerky

Its very obvious you know very little about the behavior of foxes.
    For starters hen kills by foxes aren't that common.

If they can they will kill several at once but if their not disturbed they will bring them and and hide them for harder times.

Usually when people find dead hens the fox has been disturbed by something and didn't get a chance to take them.

But so much effort is being put in to try save the 10's of foxes that are killed by hunts and the 1000's that are killed on the roads are being ignored. Does that mean we shouldnt worry about people dying in road accidents because "accidents happen" and concentrate the Garda effort on murders? Strange logic

Where did you get your stats from? Or are they pulled out of your head to support your argument?

Give me at least 3 ways, people can actively stop Foxes being accidently killed on the roads.

Note: slowing down doesn't count because you can't make other people slow down. The methods should be active ways people can stop other people accidentally killing foxes.

I'm not even going to take on the human side of your argument because its completely off the topic and has nothing to do with stopping people killing foxes for sport. I think there is very little people can do to stop foxes being killed on the roads since those are accidents. Few people go killing Foxes in their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭god's toy

for ban: Yes

Hmmmm...believe it or not but we can do both!!! Not being drunk/groggy/sleepy when driving, having your car up to scratch in terms of lights, tyres, being able to drive competantly, speeding-all these may help people avoid hitting things. You can use education and other means to minimise accidents.

I never said "accidents happen, we shouldn't worry". Jeez! Did anybody say that we should get Gardai to concentrate on murders over accidents?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

Killing animals for food makes sense. As humans, we're omnivores, we eat meat. Killing animals for sport does not make sense. I think it should come under a 'cruelty to animals' heading and should be banned.-my comment on that site.

For the record, I'm not a vegetarian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I vote to ban fox hunting and i will argue my points in person. Did anybody ever witness a fox hunt live? Hear the screams of the fox as its torn apart? The thing doesn't even have a chance! The dogs can out run it and are a lot stronger. There are usually more than 10 dogs as well...AHHHHHH! Fecking idiots hunting it for no reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Chunky Monkey

Do dogs eat fox meat or are they just trained to kill them?

Killing animals for food makes sense. As humans, we're omnivores, we eat meat. Killing animals for sport does not make sense. I think it should come under a 'cruelty to animals' heading and should be banned.-my comment on that site.

For the record, I'm not a vegetarian.

I think it definitely would if Fox Hunting was just becoming popular today instead of being an established past time for the upper class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

For Ban: No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

The fox is rarely caught in a hunt. I think it's something like one in ten hunts will end in a kill. How many hundreds of foxes are killed every week with rifles? And on the roads? And no-one need spew the usual ICABS waffle about foxes not actually being a problem for farmers. They do a lot of damage, and when livelihoods are affected in an area of employment that's tough enough as is, I'm all for controlling their numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

brim4brim wrote: »
    I think it definitely would if Fox Hunting was just becoming popular today instead of being an established past time for the upper class.

Upper classes? Any person who participates has no class! If I ever have the displeasure of witnessing such an event again I swear that heads will roll. Not figuratively either.