Joining the irish defence forces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

You get a regular wage in a part time job, a hobby is something you do as an interest, although you do get paid for camps and the odd duty.

As for the PDF not doing much I beg to differ, just because you dont seem them on the ground doesnt mean they are not working,a lot of work goes on behind the gates and I doubt very many people are idle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Am I the only one who thinks that calling the RDF a hobby is only one step up on the insult scale from calling RDF members sandbags?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Hagar wrote: »
    Am I the only one who thinks that calling the RDF a hobby is only one step up on the insult scale from calling RDF members sandbags?

The whole "Bags" thing doesn't offend anyone, or at least anyone I know in the Reserves.

It stopped being an insult when we started referring to each other as Bags :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I don't think PDF members would wish to insult RDF lads, but I would call it more a hobby than anything else.

Although personally I've never called it that, 'nor have I heard it called it either. But now that its memntioned here I guess that sums it up pretty well.

When I was a 'bagger' I never thought of 'Sandbags' 'baggers' 'Free clothes Association' ' Fish & Chips Army' etc etc etc as an insult.

For the record I done five year's with B 'Coy, 7th Inf.Bn
    before joining the PDF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Sorry I should have been more clear, I was asking the question purely from a personal pov, not as a mod. I wasn't implying that any posts were insulting or anything like that. When I was in the FCA, many moons ago, sandbag was definitely an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Mrmotivator007

only really discovered this the other day,have not had an eye test yet,but my visoin is perfect including my right eye on its own,but my left eye "lazy"i have vison out of it but its not perfect!would this prevent me from joining the PDF

Sorry I should have been more clear, I was asking the question purely from a personal pov, not as a mod. I wasn't implying that any posts were insulting or anything like that. When I was in the FCA, many moons ago, sandbag was definitely an insult.

I didn't take it as you coming accross as a Mod.

I just never thought of it as an insult, and I certainly don't know too many PDF members who look down their noses at the lads (RDF).

Infact I've often thought that its the RDF lads who might feel a little inferior to their PDF counterparts!. I'm often in the mess, or the dining hall and tried to get chatting to the lads and 100% of the time they shy away from us.

While I don't see them as doing an equal job to me, I don't think of them as any less either, if that makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,624 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

yeah id agree with the above, while sometimes PDF might get a giggle out of some bad marching and that sort i wouldnt say any of them hate RDF and in fact im sure most of them dont even spare a thought for the RDF!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Poccington wrote: »
    The whole "Bags" thing doesn't offend anyone, or at least anyone I know in the Reserves.

It stopped being an insult when we started referring to each other as Bags :p

It offends me, and what offends me more is RDF referring to themselves as sandbags, have they no respect for themselves ?

How do you expect to gain the respect of others if you have no respect for yourself ?

I am proud to be able to wear my country's uniform. I am proud to serve my country. As proud as any PDF member.

I don't call the PDF barrack rats so why should they call me a sandbag ?

Ya see, thats where you as a sandbag went wrong.

PDF member's are not 'Barrack Rats', unless they live in Bks, eat & drink in Bks and retire or are likely to retire whilst still living, eating & drinking in Bks.

Even us 'old sweat' PDF members call those guys 'Barrack rats' and the trail from 'living in quarters' to the mess 'The Boulevard of broken dreams', since most of those guys are either MLI or devorced.

Now stop being so bloody thin skinned and soldier!.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Mairt wrote: »
    Ya see, thats where you as a sandbag went wrong.

PDF member's are not 'Barrack Rats', unless they live in Bks, eat & drink in Bks and retire or are likely to retire whilst still living, eating & drinking in Bks.

Even us 'old sweat' PDF members call those guys 'Barrack rats' and the trail from 'living in quarters' to the mess 'The Boulevard of broken dreams', since most of those guys are either MLI or devorced.

Now stop being so bloody thin skinned and soldier!.

Yes, Sir, my mistake, Sir ;)

I is as happy as a sandboy, Sir, I mean sandbag, Sir, oh no, now I'm calling myself a sandboy, Sir :rolleyes:

MLI - Married "F*cked Out"

;-)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Marquall wrote: »
    My god, the introduction period was hard, and i still have another week to go..... weekend pass, bring on the dominos!

You are out already.....we were not allowed out for 3 maybe 4 weeks.Did many drop out...?

Marquall wrote: »
    My god, the introduction period was hard, and i still have another week to go..... weekend pass, bring on the dominos!

Take it in your stride it is far easier now, listen to thunder and keep the head down you'll be fine and don't even think of quitting as it will play on you for years afterwards if you do.

And the army is meant to be hard ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭GaryL

I'm thinking of joining the army but I don't know where to start. What's the best sites to get information? It's something that I want to do for the experience more than anything. All this talk of PDF, RDF, etc. has me lost.

btw, I'm 21 and dropping out of college. Will that harm my chances of getting an interview?

I'm gonna give the manpower office a call tomorrow. For the time being I'll stick with college and see how it goes. One thing I will say though that dropping out of college tells people absolutely nothing about me but it's hard to convince people that. I've worked the best part of 3 years in my life so far and haven't missed a days work yet. My last job was a 20 hour contract and I was regularly doing 55 hours. I was the first person the boss rang when anyone was sick.

Anyway, I have to go to a wedding in June abroad for a week. Is there any chance getting that time off if I started in the army before then? I doubt it.

My plan atm is to do 5 years in the army and then maybe join the Gardia or PSNI but I'll take it one step at a time. :)

GaryL wrote: »
    I'm gonna give the manpower office a call tomorrow. For the time being I'll stick with college and see how it goes. One thing I will say though that dropping out of college tells people absolutely nothing about me but it's hard to convince people that. I've worked the best part of 3 years in my life so far and haven't missed a days work yet. My last job was a 20 hour contract and I was regularly doing 55 hours. I was the first person the boss rang when anyone was sick.

Anyway, I have to go to a wedding in June abroad for a week. Is there any chance getting that time off if I started in the army before then? I doubt it.

My plan atm is to do 5 years in the army and then maybe join the Gardia or PSNI but I'll take it one step at a time. :)

If your going oversea's you have to get permission to leave the state aswell as the leave.

If your in recruits or 3 star training you will not get leave granted apart from the week between passing out as a 2 star and then starting your 3 star course.

Then when you goto your unit again it could be a while before you get granted leave, I was in 13 months before even attempting to get or go on leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

Flying wrote: »
    If your going oversea's you have to get permission to leave the state aswell as the leave.

If your in recruits or 3 star training you will not get leave granted apart from the week between passing out as a 2 star and then starting your 3 star course.

Then when you goto your unit again it could be a while before you get granted leave, I was in 13 months before even attempting to get or go on leave.
    i was leave and goin on half days the whole time when i was in the army not a bother

When you were in recruits and the 3 star course ?

I'm finding it hard to get info. The training period is 7 months I think. Do you get any time off during that period? What is it like after the training? What time do you get off? Basically any info would be great.

When you were in recruits and the 3 star course ?
    i went on my discharge during the 2star course but was,nt discharged for five months and was with the unit i was meant to go to after becoming a 3 star until was discharged and was gettin some time off and so were the lads in my unit there was basically never any1 in

I'm finding it hard to get info. The training period is 7 months I think. Do you get any time off during that period? What is it like after the training? What time do you get off? Basically any info would be great.
    only after you pass out as two star you get a week off then when ur a 2star your meant to be left off in the evening and out of the barracks to go up town or whatever but thats down to your sgt if he lets you or not after training as a 3star expect to be doin a lot of hiding in locker rooms around barracks if not on duty or cash escort cos there nothing else to do

Cheers. and after the training it's mainly 9-5 monday-friday?

What are you working at now yourself if you don't mind me asking?

half 8 - half 4 monday to friday, throw in the odd weekend work and during the summer week long exercises, not to mention overseas which youlll be away for 6 months for!

Training is 24/7 in recruits.

Standard Hours are 0830 to 1630

Then you have inspections that sometimes run into the early hours, you may have ema's (early morning activities) that start before breakfast from 0600, breakfast at 0730.

You also have tactical training in the glen,kilworth etc that again is not standard hours.

In the 3 star course yes you do get evenings off but not always and dont forget you will have guard duties durning recruits and also on the 3 star course at weekends and they are 24 hours long.

We had a Pln Sgt in the depot that made satan look harmless and rarely got out of barracks even on the 3 star course.

ye 9 til half four i work as a sales rep for kerry foods now have it handy boy start early and finish early and they paid for my C1 truck licence

Training is 24/7 in recruits.

Standard Hours are 0830 to 1630

Then you have inspections that sometimes run into the early hours, you may have ema's (early morning activities) that start before breakfast from 0600, breakfast at 0730.

You also have tactical training in the glen,kilworth etc that again is not standard hours.

In the 3 star course yes you do get evenings off but not always and dont forget you will have guard duties durning recruits and also on the 3 star course at weekends and they are 24 hours long.

We had a Pln Sgt in the depot that made satan look harmless and rarely got out of barracks even on the 3 star course.
    the new syllabus is cushy believe me they can,t touch you between the hours of 1900-0700 and between 1900 and lights out is known as personnal programme time to get whatever you have to get rwady for the nxt day i.e. clean down billots bull boots iron uniform all that stuff

So the real test is the 7 months training or are there really tough times after that?

Just one more query.

Since I have to go for a wedding in June should I hold off applying until after it? I'm 21 atm. 5 years in the army and I'll be almost 27. The plan would then be to maybe spend a year travelling. Come back then and apply for the guards. Would anyone advise against this for whatever reason? I really need to see career advisor. :)

Just one more query.

Since I have to go for a wedding in June should I hold off applying until after it? I'm 21 atm. 5 years in the army and I'll be almost 27. The plan would then be to maybe spend a year travelling. Come back then and apply for the guards. Would anyone advise against this for whatever reason? I really need to see career advisor. :)

well yeah pesonally speaking i think your crazy, i joined the army straight from school, wasted 4 years in it really, got some good experience but thats it to be honest, ive just left a couple of months ago, in college doin law now and gonna finish that when im 26, snapping i didnt persue a career that will pays great money from an earlier age.

one of my mates i went through basic with left just before me and joined the guards, hes in templemore now, he says its so much better than the army, i thought he was mad to even do that but i think it would be a lot better than the army. i know there might be people who disagree but that is my 2 cents anyways.

oh and to your question about whats worst about it....well basic is fairly bad but probably my worst times after that were, in no particular order, sweepin leaves in gale force winds, scrubbing toilets, the first night overseas, and first night down on ARW selection!! oh the memories...