Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Yay or Nay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,851 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

irishbird wrote: »
    i have never had coodle and from the look of that, i dont think i missed out on much tbh:rolleyes:

Looks can be deceiving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭trout

Hill Billy wrote: »
    Looks can be deceiving.

True enough ... in fact, is that not the essence of the coddle ? Looks like vomit, tastes like God's finest gift to His creation.

As it happens, Mrs trout is away this evening. And it was cold this morning. So it's coddle time. I may be busy aytin' tonight .... enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

i have never had coodle and from the look of that, i dont think i missed out on much tbh:rolleyes:

Oi Irishbird. I really think you need to look at this :eek:

This might just freak you a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,187 ✭✭✭keefg

Hill Billy wrote: »
    Looks can be deceiving.

Very true, I have been with some right gargoyles who happened to be fantastic in the sack :D

Back to the matter at hand, coddle is food of the gods. And bread is bread as long as there is plenty available to mop the pot clean.

Unfortunately, I do not have the ingredients to hand to create such a gastronomic delight. I only have a handfull of chicken breasts in the fridge and an onion so I am just about to embark on a great journey called "Large Pot of Chicken Curry"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Maybe I'll give in and make one of these coddle yokes soon, see what the fuss is about.

But I can assure you I will give the sausages a quick fry to give them some colour and a sausage like appearance, cause yore coddles just lookin fúcking wrong.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,402 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Dun laoire wrote: »
    Hold up. Dairy gold is grand lads and as for the baguette, what about it? It's bread lads.

No it's not, it's an air-filled bread-like imitation. If you're eating traditional Dublin food then you need traditional Dublin bread to go with it, and nothing beats a good solid turnover.

348629.jpg

As for Dairygold in preference to butter, well I think the Brotherhood's position on low fat food items has been made abundantly clear and does not need repeating.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It looks fúckin awful.

I agree. I feel nauseous looking at the picture.

I cant believe mother Dun laoire's coddle is being ridculed even if it looks like something out of armin meiwes kitchen.Seriously folks it's hard to swallow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭Galadriel

I hale from Finglas, and when I was growing up coddle was a weekly thing, the best ev-v-v-v-v-ver...boiled sausages are yummy, but with white pepper even better!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Coddle FTW!

God how I miss a good coddle! I reckon it's a trip to ths shops for me at the weekend to stock up on the ingredients :) Especially since it's such a soul-warming meal and it was 3 degrees here this morning!

I cant believe mother Dun laoire's coddle is being ridculed even if it looks like something out of armin meiwes kitchen.Seriously folks it's hard to swallow

Fair point - it does not become the Brethren to disrespect the coddle :mad:

My own concerns are with the addition of beef stock, french bread and margarine ... which I think are fair topics for healthy debate.

However, we must fully support the concept that the best coddle for any man, is the coddle mammy used to make, and as such, disrespect for the coddle itself will not be tolerated.

As a gesture of respect, I am going to try out the addition of ribs to my next vat. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

trout wrote: »
    However, we must fully support the concept that the best coddle for any man, is the coddle mammy used to make, and as such, disrespect for the coddle itself will not be tolerated.

Hear hear, while there may be disrespect for the generic 'yore ma', there should never me disrespect for 'the mammy' or anything ever cooked by 'the mammy'! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,202 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Is it wrong that I have never tasted coddle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Mammy Dun Laoire won't be impressed.

tom dunne wrote: »
    Is it wrong that I have never tasted coddle?
    Not only is it wrong ... it is somewhat suspicious. What are you hiding ? :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Are you saying your Granny was an authority on hoors ? ;)

My Granny knew Eamonn De Valera.

Charles Haughey felt my granny up, when she was pregnant! True story! I actually had a good conversation with her about coddle last week. She's the only person who used to make it for me and i haven't had it in about 15 years.

I prefer cocktail sossies (or normal ones chopped into bitesize pieces) meself in a coddle, and actual rashers or bits of bacon than ribs, but each to his own i s'pose. Haven't had a coddle in ages now, since i moved out on my own :(

Yes, cut the sausages up. I remember my granny doing this. I just emailed a recipe to me bf (he's not irish and has never heard of coddle). He thinks it sounds gorgeous and i'm under orders to make it for dinner on Sunday. Living in Ireland has turned him on the wonder that is stew. He;s also never heard of batch bread (god how i love that stuff) so I'll be getting a loaf of that too!

EDIT: Hey, i managed to multi-quote!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

yay, a good coddle never hurt anyone, i make a demon of a coddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

nay!!!!!!!!!

Fair point - it does not become the Brethren to disrespect the coddle :mad:

My own concerns are with the addition of beef stock, french bread and margarine ... which I think are fair topics for healthy debate.

As a gesture of respect, I am going to try out the addition of ribs to my next vat. :D

Thats a nice gesture Trout my good man. You shall be pleasantly pleased. So when you're sucking the bejaysus outta that big pink juicy piece of meat think of Dun Laoire ;)

Regarding the beef stock, well that was just the ma experimenting, she knows i'm a feckin horse and will eat anything that lands on the plate. I remember asking her "Whats the craic with the brown coddle ma?" in which she replied "Not many lentils so i taught i'd mix it up a bit". No harm done and coddle was enjoyed by all. I dont know what to day about the baguette and Dairy gold. I'm a big fan of that butter i must say :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,202 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Thats a nice gesture Trout my good man. You shall be pleasantly pleased. So when you're sucking the bejaysus outta that big pink juicy piece of meat think of Dun Laoire

OT: Did anyone else mis-interpret this? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Yup. A fairly sinister twist to this thread.

smashey wrote: »
    Yup. A fairly sinister twist to this thread.

Ha. ;) Have a good weekend lads

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Oi Irishbird. I really think you need to look at this :eek:

This might just freak you a little

okay, i cant hear what is going on (no speakers in work but why is my name on the heading ?

**** D'oh, that is fecking deadly but i am still not eating coodle LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I wonder would Pighead be interesting interested in a good coddle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

Coddle FTW........love them........haven't had one in a while though.......maybe today although friday is chipper day......monday will be coddle day....cheers dun laoire.

okay, i cant hear what is going on (no speakers in work but why is my name on the heading ?

**** D'oh, that is fecking deadly but i am still not eating coodle LOL

Haha. Admit it IB, you were a little freaked till you sussed it out. :D

Oh and stop calling it Coodle woman.

So when you're sucking the bejaysus outta that big pink juicy piece of meat hink of Dun Laoire ;)

Ummmmmm ... ahhhhhh ..... meh :(

Think I'll go for a ruby instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

stew, good (well mince the beef first)

coddle? noooooo

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

ooooh i love coddle. Its bleedin' massive. And turnover bread. And Dairygold. Delicious thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭blindman

watna wrote: »
    Charles Haughey felt my granny up, when she was pregnant! True story!
    Hi Watna, I think we're related he felt my granny up too.