Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Zomg I Got In!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Shaner-B

any1 else out there doin the business & management course?? im really hoping this will be a course with just cool, fairly smart people instead of geeks!!

oh and whats the pub on campus like, prices,atmosphere etc.?? is it true it has dutch gold on tap!?!?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Don't remember it having Dutchy on tap, has Fosters for like 2.50 or something I think.

Every Monday it's €3 drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Enemy Of Fate

Whats the SU bar like with ID and stuff?Are they really strict?Cause i'm not TECHNICALLY 18 for another few months....and due to the **** fact that you have to wait 4 weeks for your police ID to come (MINIMUM), I probably won't even get it till new year.....which sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

If they check your ID it's just to make sure you're a Maynooth student. I was 17 when I started there and the SU never once didn't serve me

im a baby 2, not gonna be 17 til basically d whole year is over!! although my fake drivers license will say different!! do u think i cud show them the drivers license as proof of age and then take out the student card as proof of being a student!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Nerfmenow

I'm already 18 but the garda ID card is taking forever. It'll be 4 weeks this Monday. Do we get some kind of Uni ID?

Only other ID I have is from Thailand, says I'm 26 and that my country of birth is "american". >.>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Meh, I'm only 17 too. But I'm not too worried about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭eamoss

If you dont use your student card they will ask you "Where is your student card?" everyone uses there student card.

Its the same when you head out in Dublin on a student night(ie mon-thurs) they will take student cards.

Ah as for the 17 yr olds they can be pricks tbh iv known alot of ppl who couldnt get in because of their age but in saying that they didnt look the age they were from my course which has a lot of geeky lads in it so make your minds up why they didnt get in. So its the same with nightclubs everywhere if you look the age they will let you in reminds me of being 16 and getting into an over 18s with my passport(which said I was 16) but I look about 2 years older then I am. Like everyone thinks im 21 but im only 19.

Ok im posted this about 10 times on this forum but I couldnt be arsed looking for it.

I find people who commute love the SU while people who live in Maynooth hate it.

Monday - SU Monday Madness €3 a drink
    Monday - L.A €5 in and €2.50 a drink /// I have to say I like the L.A
    Tuesday - Never been out in Maynooth on a Tuesday exp for Rag WK.
    Wednesday - Bradys Night its always packed full price drink and free in
    Wednesday - L.A is also open but only people who cant get into Bradys go there. I've been there on a Wed night(as I cudnt get into Bradys one night[went out a bit too late]) and there was about 15 people there.
    Thursday - Roost Night there is two areas one that has a DJ and the other has a band playing. Same as Bradys full price drink and free in

1st off there is only one nightclub and that is Fizz iv never been so cant comment but its ment to be shít. All the others are disco bars.

Bradys - VERY VERY small when I frist saw [what they called] the dance floor I LOLed.

L.A - Also small but only place that looks a nightclub.

Roost - Very big smoking area is massive.

Now there is a new building beside Centra rumor has it that its a new pub/nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Shaner-B wrote:
    is it true it has dutch gold on tap!?!?:eek:

Hopefully not:D

LeixlipRed wrote:
    If they check your ID it's just to make sure you're a Maynooth student. I was 17 when I started there and the SU never once didn't serve me
    Excellent!Monday madness here I come!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The guy

Spank wrote:
    Biological and Biomedical science here!
    Same here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

wooh, yeah, I'm 17 too but I have my bro's I.D., so *fingers crossed*, I'll be livin it up in the S.U. freshers fortnight.....

Can I be your friend's freshers fortnight?;)

Nerfmenow wrote:
    Only other ID I have is from Thailand, says I'm 26 and that my country of birth is "american". >.>

Nice:D

My Garda ID took loads longer*.
    Yea they take your photo (or so i'm told by college officials), slap it on the student card, and if you have your fees all paid up you or whatever, you get the card.

EDIT:*than four weeks

FuzzyLogic wrote:
    that presentation day is about half way into the first semester

Cool,thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭ringleader

Hairspray wrote:
    Heya just accepted biomed at Maynooth.Im over the moon with it,really am except for the fact that i seem to be the only one of my mates going there so im not going to know anyone:o .Is Maynooth an easy place to make friends?I hope so!

biomed ftw! nuim ftw!
    Maynooth is grand.
    Easy to get into, hard to get out of.
    lemansky wrote:
    Accepted MH201 science.
    Can't wait, and me living in Maynooth makes it all the handier....:D

At least you'll know people straight off, sure.
    Most people dont proclaim their arrival - I sure didn't. It's like this batch of first years just got themselves some drugs and decided to whoop it up

Ah, but loads of people do. It's better to know someone before you go there, or arrange to meet someone so you don't look like a spaz on your own.

And there was enough drugs going around in other years to make up for it, young man!
    pisslips wrote:
    wooh, yeah, I'm 17 too but I have my bro's I.D., so *fingers crossed*, I'll be livin it up in the S.U. freshers fortnight.....

Can I be your friend's freshers fortnight?;)

Oh Jesus. Won't someone besides pisslips think of the children!

You'll still be off on holliers during Freshers week, won't ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭qwertyface

ringleader wrote:
    It's better to know someone before you go there, or arrange to meet someone so you don't look like a spaz on your own.
    I'm going to be that spaz :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Coco88

So ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Hairspray

we should all just get together and have a newbies to maynooth party!!:D

Is anyone here getting the slevin bus out to maynooth?Cos im thinking of either regiestering for it or getting the luas out to connolly and the train to kildare.

Hairspray wrote:
    we should all just get together and have a newbies to maynooth party!!:D
    I agree!!!But where to have it?I'd have all of ye back round to my room.....but there isn't enough room for me to lie down in there......so thats a no!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

ringleader wrote:

Oh Jesus. Won't someone besides pisslips think of the children!

You'll still be off on holliers during Freshers week, won't ya?

So it doesn't start on the 24th?

So, the nuim authorities didn't organise the year to maximise my fun?

Hairspray wrote:
    Cos im thinking of either regiestering for it or getting the luas out to connolly and the train to kildare.

Be careful with the train there......even though the Maynooth line is the one from Connolly, people have been mislead in the past when trying to get to Maynooth and asked for the Kildare line...which runs from Heuston and doesnt get into Maynooth. People who don't know the rail systeam get caught out there and stranded in places unknown to them:D

As for the party, I would invite everyone back to my place but I can't see the mother or the neighbours being so happy...¬.¬

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I'm sure we'll all come accross each other eventually...we're all too lazy to organize something.

lemansky wrote:
    As for the party, I would invite everyone back to my place but I can't see the mother or the neighbours being so happy...¬.¬
    Pfft.Screw them!Party at Lemansky's place everybody!!!!Wooo!!!

:eek: well as long as you're willing to help clean the place up afterwards....

and get them all out of the way for the weekend at your OWN expense:D

lemansky wrote:
    :eek: well as long as you're willing to help clean the place up afterwards....
    I'll drink all the leftover drink and eat all the leftover food........but thats it!!!
    lemansky wrote:
    and get them all out of the way for the weekend at your OWN expense:D
    Hmmm.Couldn't we just sedate them?I mean my original plan called for an elaborate scheme to get them out of the country for several days, but the sedation method just seems so much easier......

Hmmmm good point. Come to think of it the house next door to me is rented out to student types during the college year, so if we slip them a few beers that will cover them.............and they are the ones attached to us so that will be the biggest problem taken care of.

The neighbours on the other side and my parents though...what did you have in mind for sedating them?It's up to you to get it:D

lemansky wrote:
    The neighbours on the other side and my parents though...what did you have in mind for sedating them?It's up to you to get it:D
    Eh?You're the one who did chemistry!I was planning on having you whip something up!!!And if you can't manage that, well then we're screwed cause my weekly budget barely gives me enough to eat, let alone buy sedatives!!!Of course we could always use Mr. Lead Pipe To The Back Of The Head.......yes that'll work.I mean hes cheap AND effecient!What more can you ask for?!

does freshers fortnight start straight away next week??? its like a rag week for newbs yeah!?

Eh?You're the one who did chemistry!I was planning on having you whip something up!!!And if you can't manage that, well then we're screwed cause my weekly budget barely gives me enough to eat, let alone buy sedatives!!!Of course we could always use Mr. Lead Pipe To The Back Of The Head.......yes that'll work.I mean hes cheap AND effecient!What more can you ask for?!

Well I was planning on going down to the lab that I have in my shed and throwing together something......but I prefer you're idea. Plus it's way more fun, and he's a pretty cool guy to have around. You can use him as much as you want whereas with mr. Potion you have to make up a fresh batch everytime:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

my god first years calm down please