Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Neil / Niall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,207 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

My name is Craig and gets wrong by saying Greg very annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i always get called suzanne even though saranne sounds nothing like it!

My name's Conn and pretty much everytime I introduce myself to people it's goes the same way.

Me: Hi, I'm Conn.
    Other person: Hey John, I'm xxxxx.
    Me: No it's Conn.
    Other person: Oh sorry about that Tom.
    Me: No it's Conn.
    Other person: John?
    Me: No it's Conn. *Wonders to self how stupid his person could be as I just told them 2.3 seconds ago that my name wasn't John*
    Other person: Oh Paul.
    Me: No it's Conn. *Wonders to self how stupid his person could be as Conn and Paul sound nothing alike*
    Other person: John?

Then I just proceed to rip out the other persons throat for being a useless waste of organs.

Lately I've taken to just telling them that it's the first part of condom. It usually gets a laugh out of them.

I've heard this situation from my mate (called Conn) several times, with the inclusion that people always ask what it's short for!

On topic: Dónal - Donald. Sometimes even after I'm in contact with people by e-mail, I'm still called Donald. Bah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Most people call me Cheung so that's what I introduce myself as. Everyones often confused and I've been called John, Ron and even Craig once.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Myth wrote:
    I've heard this situation from my mate (called Conn) several times, with the inclusion that people always ask what it's short for!

Forgot to mention that. That I don't mind as much but every so often I have a conversation that goes like this.

Other person: What's it short for?
    Me: Nothing.
    Other person: Are you sure?
    Me: Eh yeah. *Wonders to self I'm twenty years old I think I would know my name by now*
    Other person: Is it not short for corneilus?
    Me: No that would be corn *Wonders to self how stupid his person could be as I've already told them twice that my name isn't short for anything*
    Other person: Are you sure?
    Me: Eh yeah *Wonders to self how stupid his person could be as I've already told them three times that my name isn't short for anything*
    Myth wrote:
    On topic: Dónal - Donald. Sometimes even after I'm in contact with people by e-mail, I'm still called Donald. Bah.

Does your email address represent you're name e.g. Dónal@blah.blah?

Other person: Is it not short for corneilus?

I used to get that a lot, every time I'd introduc myself with the right pronounciation of my name. Nothing else used to piss me off as much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Well if Niall was Nile, at least we could nail down Neil and everyone would be happier!

But what about the Nilers or is it de Nilers?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

I often get people calling me "Adrian" and it pisses me off as well. It's Aidan, not Adrian you fúckwits! :mad:

Another one that gets me is how a lot of people go about spelling my name. People are forever spelling it Aiden. It's not, it's Aidan! I've even had people spell it some really weird ways over the years such as Aidean, Aedain, Aden, Aedan, for example.

Jaysus, I mean, come on, how difficult is it to say or spell Aidan, eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

I'll tell ya what gets me alot: Colm and Colin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,011 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

A few weeks back I was introduced to a guy and he told me his name, fair enough, I thought I'd remember it untill I went over to talk to the guy later. I stopped halfway and thought "Bollix, is his name Niall or Neil?" I asked a few people and all I got was "Yeah, it's one of those alright". I just decided not to use his name when I met the guy a few times after. (I later found out it was Niall). It's not that I mix the two up or anything, just that he said it pretty fast and didn't catch it properly, which I'd say is what happens to most people that mix them up.

Ps, Hi Cremins, long time no see ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I'll tell ya what gets me alot: Colm and Colin.

I also get those two as well. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

farohar wrote:
    Well for all the Nialls who are complaining I'm afraid that technically those calling you Neil are in the right.
    Niall is an Irish name that should be pronounced neel (or Neil as the Brits decided to spell it).
    Neil is the phonetic (incorrectly spelled) version that the English use (now you see where the Yanks got the stupid habit of spelling everything phonetically).
    I used to live with a guy whose parents were Irish purist types, his name was spelt Niall and pronounced Neil and it's completely f'd up my ability to pronounce Niall as Nile. I often see names in my head as I'm saying them, so now when I see Niall the first thing I think is the Irish pronunciation.

My name is frankly ridiculous and nobody ever gets it right first go, people are always throwing in unnecessary fadas and the like. My parents even had the bright idea of sticking some extra consonants in the middle for the laugh, but that got dropped fairly soon after I was born because people made a total hames of it.

Fiachra and Fachtna are ones I always have trouble with too.

Does your email address represent you're name e.g. Dónal@blah.blah?

Yes... just without the fada.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,044 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Another one that gets me is how a lot of people go about spelling my name. People are forever spelling it Aiden. It's not, it's Aidan! I've even had people spell it some really weird ways over the years such as Aidean, Aedain, Aden, Aedan, for example.

Jaysus, I mean, come on, how difficult is it to say or spell Aidan, eh? :rolleyes:

If I was going to spell you're name without being told the spelling I would put Aidan but Aiden , Aedan , Ayden , Aden and all sorts of other ways are how other people spell it .

The only thing my name gets confused with is Jim(my names Tim) .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

You guys are really complaining about nothing. I have occasionally had post sent to me where they not only get my name wrong but change my gender too from Robin to Roisin. Although i do actually find it more annoying when people decide that my name is Robbie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,249 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Terry wrote:
    I get ...Gerry.

I get this all the time.

Yes, I'm another Terry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Wear a giant sticker with your name printed clearly in bold to clear up any confusion:D
    Failing that, a simple name tag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,442 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

Naikon wrote:
    Wear a giant sticker with your name printed clearly in bold to clear up any confusion:D
    Failing that, a simple name tag.
    yeh but that's effort like, wouldn't it be easier for retards to just think oh hey you got the same name as the first american on the moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Oscar Fred - its 50 50 as to wheter theyll decide that my first name is Fred, sometimes even after asking me and me correcting them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

makes no sense to me OP, peoples are stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Cremo wrote:
    yeh but that's effort like, wouldn't it be easier for retards to just think oh hey you got the same name as the first american on the moon.

Hehe, that reminds me of a particular video clip:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Happens to me as well. My name is spelled Niall but pronounced Neil. Everyone gets it wrong. I blame my parents.
    well that's fair enough!

if my name was patricia but pronounced it daniel i'd expect others to get it wrong some of the time.

on a side note; my name is niall and a lot of people get it wrong. the worst is in america where they call me Nialls (from frasier)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

bohsman wrote:
    Oscar Fred - its 50 50 as to wheter theyll decide that my first name is Fred, sometimes even after asking me and me correcting them.

I come accross that alot in work but to be honest I think its just the way some database contacts are first/last name and others last/first name :D

But seeing as this is the interweb, my advice is just change your damm last name to Smith and save everyone the hassle :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Echelle

But is some of the bad prononciation due to regional accents. For instance with a northern Irish accent it would be hard to tell if they are saying Neil or Niall, Aengus /Angus. But the best is when they say shot or shoot an we in the south hear **** or ****e.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Cremo wrote:
    No man, thats just too hard for them to take in.

I know a Niall and when he introduces himself to people a lot will reply "Oh Hi Neil"

Its just stupid. Its like people calling me Grey when my name is Greg. How the hell does someone come up with that? (even though its only happened once or twice in my life) And it is not down to my accent - I am well able to pronounce my own name. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

I get it all the time too, no matter how many times i tell people my name is Anthony, they still insist on calling me You big f*cking pr*ck.

Weird or what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭mayosteve99

Im Niall And People usually know cause Neil is a protestant name and mostly up the north

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭Hermione*

farohar wrote:
    Niall is an Irish name that should be pronounced neel (or Neil as the Brits decided to spell it).
    Neil is the phonetic (incorrectly spelled) version that the English use (now you see where the Yanks got the stupid habit of spelling everything phonetically).
    I'm surprised to learn this. My Gaelgóir brother-in-law would be very upset to realise that he picked the less-Irish version of spelling my nephew's name. His own name is spelled with as many extra consonants as his parents could cram into it, making it very confusing for the rest of us to remember how to spell it correctly.

My name's Denise, and for whatever reason, whenever people forget my name, they always call me Deirdre. It's happened a number of times. I've also had to stop people from spelling it Deniece. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

My dad's name is Hugh, and in the town he lives in, many many people call him 'Q'. (not as a nickname, they just can't get their heads around Hugh?!'

I see dumb people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

My younger brothers name is Niall, and being six foot three most people got it right first go!

My name is Eric and I'm often called Derek, I could care less. Our sister Sonya had it way worse, idiots prefer to say Sonja? WTF?

At least Cormac gets to be called Core, much easier.