If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Maths PP1

• 07-06-2007 07:50AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭

It's going to be unveiled fairly soon!

And i'm bricking it! I know understand why the lure of the blue paper is too much for some on the day!:D

I'm going to have to be strong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Im doing ordinary level and im hoping for an a1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭HungryJoey

OL and I think I'm fecked :(

Ugh pray for a paper I can do.. I need this :eek:

Hj

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Citizen_Erased

Wasn't the worst paper we could have got by any standards but i still managed to trip fairly hard on the complex numbers in question 3 , it probably gonna cost me alot of marks. How everyone else do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Pretty meaty paper one, the sequence and series were very difficult and the de moivres was surely impossible?

Differentiation may have saved my bacon, paper 2 will be deciding alot for me ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,693 ✭✭✭david

SIMPLE!!! haha Nice paper, didnt even look at 4&5 though!

DeMoivre's was very reasonable i thought? Lovely simple Calculus in 6 7 and 8 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭kazaam

ordinary paper was fairly simple... did Q1,2,3,4,5,7,8 stumbled a bit in Q2 but overall i think it went very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Calculated I should get 61% in that (pass). Question 1- full marks, a good half of question 2 and 3, question 4...about a third of the marks, question 6- half and question 7- two thirds...

The differentiation was a bit awful, couldn't fid the formulas around them, BUT for the first time, I managed to get the car- stopping calculus bit, woo...

Not counting it, paper 2 should be slightly better..mmm..statistics/line/area...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭kazaam

i calculated and think i got 96% on paper 1... very happy with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Unfortunately I messed up on part B and C of Q3 but other than that (and including that) the paper was simple.

Loved the integration question with working backwards!

Simple:eek: Oh dear.

I totally blanked on Integration it was a disaster! Then i skipped to question 5 and probably picked up like 15 marks :o

Couldnt do Q1 Biii or C ii
    Q2 couldnt do C
    Q3 couldnt do de Moivres (B)
    Q5 couldnt do B or C
    Q6 went a bit wrong with part C but nothing major
    Q7 again part C

Probably a D for paper UNO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Enemy Of Fate

Jesus that was the easiest OL Maths paper in years!!!My god!Couldn't believe it.I probably got a good 80% on it,the only difficult question was 6, and the last bit of 8, so I skipped 8 and only did parts (A), (B) and (C)(i) in 8.I'm so happy!!Now I can afford to do **** on paper 2.....and its the easier paper anyways!!Hurrah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 438 ✭✭StephenC_IRL

i reckon i failed paper 1, gonna spend the whole weekend studying for paper 2, :(

couldnt do any whole question right, i even think i messed up on 1a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 originalcupcake

i thought it was a pretty fair paper for HL...:D my least favourite was the q3.. integration q was a gift really...i was able to check back over it all at the end so i was pleased enough..whatd ye think of q1 b? i dont think i got out the 3rd bit...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭colm-ccfc84

I am not sure about it, don't think I did outstanding. (HL). Question 7 was the easiest I think. Didnt like 6c and think I did something wrong in 8c. The other Cs were ok except in the second part of question three after using the forumla I didn't know how to finish.

i reckon i failed paper 1, gonna spend the whole weekend studying for paper 2, :(

couldnt do any whole question right, i even think i messed up on 1a

I nearly got Q7 all right, messed up on a few little bits of C and unsure about the solutions to them!

Irish listening in a bit ughhhhhhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 pilchard

paper1 (OL).. i thought it was excrutiatingly easy.. i worked out that i should get like 90%.

Q1-- full marks i'd say.. found it really easy
    Q3-- I did this as an extra, cos i had an hour to spare.. should get full marks.
    Q4-- all grand except B(iii)
    Q5-- Fine except C(ii) (iii) my worst question:(
    Q6-- grand except C(ii).. though according to others i got it right:confused:
    Q7-- All fine, easier than i expected.:D
    Q8-- grand except C(iii)

i attempted all.. though im really bad at paper 2 so... i hope i did do well in paper one to bring marks up for paper 2...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Jesus that was the easiest OL Maths paper in years!!!My god!Couldn't believe it.I probably got a good 80% on it,the only difficult question was 6, and the last bit of 8, so I skipped 8 and only did parts (A), (B) and (C)(i) in 8.I'm so happy!!Now I can afford to do **** on paper 2.....and its the easier paper anyways!!Hurrah.

Same here!, I probably got at least a B1 in that paper.
    It looked tricky at first, but it was ok I reckon.
    Mind you I can see how the presentation would put some people off considering the B(ii) in 3 involved simple fractions that even though easy, people would not expect.

It "looked" a little different to previous years.
    Q6(B)was a joke IMO.
    I forgot the last bit of c(ii), but I got 50/50 in the second algerbra question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭sternn

Just predicted my result for paper 1 (HL): 81%...thats an improvement of 38% from the mocks, im so happy!!!

Q6 (c) was impossible, got the first part....but the other two parts...no idea!!

Hopefully we will get the same type of paper for paper 2 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭SamHamilton

The higher level paper was nice. Easier than last years but there were a few little complicated parts.

Q1 - I think I got it all right. But the part (b) seemed too easy. I think they were trying to trick us!

Q2 - Great but couldn't do C(ii) Put down something like (x-(a-3))to the power of 2! I was trying to factorize a massive equation. So funny!

Q3 - Great! I wasn't sure if I did c(ii) right though. I used the -b+- formula to get the roots. Was that right?

Q6 - Couldn't do part (c) at all! Did part (i) of (c) but didn't do (ii) or (iii). Was really annoyed with this question.

Q7 - Great! Wasn't sure about c(ii) though. Wrote that because (1/3, -1) is a max point the curve doesn't go higher than it and thus doesn't touch x-axis. Is that right?

Q8 - Fine except (c) was hard. Got 22/3 and 20/3. I did it twice!

I reckon I got a B. I was a bit disappointed cause I feel I could hav gotten an A but hey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭NoelJ

Yeah HL was okay except for 6c that just didnt make an sense to me.. Did anyone get that out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Lucas10101

Sam Hamilton....yeh...I wrote that as well as a plain stab in the dark.

I used the b+- formula and couldnt finish?
    Complex Numbers was complicated this year with no easy simple solutions.

Reckon I got 65%+ at the moment from the ones I got right which is up from 42% in my mock, so I'm happy at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭analyse this

i got the first part out...but was completely lost in the second. i did reasonably well. nowhere near full marks though...except in integration i aced that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭cookiemonst3r

I thought the paper was really different this year. Dunno how else to put it! Wat was with that f(x) g(x) thing?? i didnt even know how to start it. Question 5(c) was also kinda hard. and question4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

the key to the f(x)+g(x) think i think was that a constant differentiates to 0 so therefore f'(x)+g'(x) would equal 0. Unfortunately i differentiated them wrong in part (i) so that screwed me over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

I was happy enough with it.
    Q1 - All very easy
    Q2 - Very last part of c was slightly tricky, but I think I got it
    Q3 - Again it was nice, but the last part of c was tough, tried the -b formula and got a mess of algebra..
    Q5 - Very nice
    Q6 - Was pretty standard, c(i) was very easy, for c(ii) I let the two differentials equal eachother and got 0, which means when the functions are added they equal a constant. Took a guess that that was a rule and it turns out I was right. For c(iii) i just couldnt get it!
    Q7 - No problem.. b(ii) couldnt have been easier!
    Q8 - Again it was nice, loved the working backwards one and having to work out c. Possibly confusing rote learners!!!!!!! For the area, I think I got it right, not too sure. Certainly had my method right. Everyone I spoke to had a different answer. I think I'll try it again now.

Lets hope paper 2 is just as nice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭cookiemonst3r

aw no never even thought of that!! And is the answer in part (ii) the same as part (iii)??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭justbringit89

Anychance of anyone posting a full soloution ??:p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,284 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Maths went ok for me. Was able to get in bits and pieces all over the shop. I'd say I got up around 65% on it, which is quite good. Need to keep the head now for papaer 2, and if all goes well, I may be sneaking in an honour. Lets hope now

Theres a rule in the log books tan inverse x/a in case nobody spotted it