If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Commodore 30 GB Multi Media Player PMC30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Just bought one! I'm going to have to stop looking at the bargain alerts forum it's costing me a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

In the review he is recording himself playing games on his pc, assuming you had a tv card i would think that recording of the net would be the same process?

(i'm more than likely miles off though)
    He does say it's not designed for this, though. And I did say no was my short answer.. :D

It can be done, but you would need additional cables to connect via your TV and your graphics card would need a TV out connection. For YouTube, the end result probably wouldn't be as good as downloading and converting on the PC, in my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭Scruff

no but you can use Neuros 442 firmwares cause the pcm30 is a rebranded 442.
    but there arent any more firmware updates for the 442 cause they've stopped making them cause they're consecrating on the 442v2

i think i've talked myself out of buying it. :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Scruff wrote:
    no but you can use Neuros 442 firmwares cause the pcm30 is a rebranded 442.
    but there arent any more firmware updates for the 442 cause they've stopped making them cause they're consecrating on the 442v2

i think i've talked myself out of buying it. :(

So there wont be any future updates?

thats just what i take from that thread on the 442's forums and when you take into consideration that the last update was sometime early 2006

so ye gotta ask yerself is it worth €99 for a (quirky?) 30gb PMP that wont be supported? still wondering the same myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

Plus, the 99blips is ex-VAT I think...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I just bought one aswell and for some reason I am beginning to regret it.
    €112 euro including delivery.

Hmmm, well see I suppose. I have to cut up my MasterCard.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭alastair_doom

Hope this helps anyone trying to make up their mind :)

User manual for the 442 (which appears to be the same with a larger HD)
    http://neurostechnology.com/pdf/NEUROS442%20User%20Manual.pdf

And support forum for 442
    http://forums.neurostechnology.com/smf/index.php?board=49.0

No guarantee these are the same, but they appear to be.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

bought one too, how bad can it be for 99 euro - an external 30gb harddrive with a screen...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,113 ✭✭✭opus

Don't really need one but couldn't resist at that price :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

I was going to get this but its off the site now is there any way to get it if youve missed it that day ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,116 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Kristok wrote:
    I was going to get this but its off the site now is there any way to get it if youve missed it that day ?
    Nope.. might have it back in a few weeks for even cheaper though.

Will post here if it is (as i check iBOOD 11pm religiously thanks to my RSS feed) so keep an eye on the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭hopeful

Just my experience but I would be wary of this site. I ordered an item 3 weeks ago and still have not recieved it. Have fired off a few emails to all the known email addresses but have yet to get a single reply...I am not the only one if you read through some of the forum posts on the site.

As I say...just my experience...I hope yours are all better :(

I had heard that alright. I thought the 1-5 work days delivery was being very optimistic. Not in that much of a hurry so we'll see what happens. Just hope its as good as it looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

i orderd one o' these and whilest im not panicking yet, ill get cranky at a week, ive had the same "in progress" msg on my ibood since i ordered.

never orderd from ibood before and i was just wondering will that change to "shipped" or some such? or is it just to keep me guessing?

Just to update you's all....still waiting for my item ordered on the 11th March. Phoned them yesterday...after the chap giving me a large amount of bull about all their systems being down he eventually 'managed' to find my account and admit the item had been shipped. He then phoned the courier company who said my item has been delivered...to an address in Belgium! He said they will ship another today and will send an email to confirm plus a tracking number.

I ain't going to be spending any more money with these folks. They never did reply to any of my emails.
    Incidentally...their phone number is: 0031 20 6811388 which is something they don't make easy to find.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

Anyone know which courier company they use? Do they ever supply tracking numbers apart from hopeful's case above?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

I believe Interlink deliver Iboods stuff here. Had to ring them once about an order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,312 ✭✭✭✭event

my CC was charged yesterday evening, id imagine that they are now being shipped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,312 ✭✭✭✭event

just called them on teh number that was put up

got straight through, nice gentleman asked me for my order number, and said they should be shipped tomorrow, and i would receive it by the end of the week

I for one will be interested to hear if they meet their promises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

My own experience with iBOOD is that they can indeed be (very) slow but I have got everything I have ordered in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Beelzebub

Hope it arrives this week...or next week...or the week after that...:D

Going on holidays in May. Wonder what the chances are that I have it by then? Primary reason for getting it.

Delivery terms are smart though:

* You will receive your order on average 1 to 5 days after confirmation. :confused: A courier will deliver your order to the delivery address stated by you.

That could mean anything.

Dingatron wrote:
    Going on holidays in May. Wonder what the chances are that I have it by then? Primary reason for getting it.

Delivery terms are smart though:

* You will receive your order on average 1 to 5 days after confirmation. :confused: A courier will deliver your order to the delivery address stated by you.

That could mean anything.

And for me at least is has meant literally anything :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Just after getting the following email:

Dear iBOOD’er,

On the 29th of March you have placed an order for the Commodore Multi Media player on iBOOD.com. Unfortunately the delivery of the players has been delayed. We will be able to ship the Commodore players tomorrow, which means your order should arrive shortly after the weekend. Our apologies for the delay.

Kind regards,

Customers Service iBOOD.com

snap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

Yea I got one too. Fast posting lads

That hopeful hopeful ;)

Least there's a bit of communication going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭pissed

Funny, I just got the same message but it was for the 17 inch lcd tv I ordered. Should be some rush of parcels for the couriers then :D

Dear iBOOD'er,

On the 31th of March you have placed an order for the LG 17 inch LCD-TV on iBOOD.com. Unfortunately the delivery of the television has been delayed. We will ship the televisions this Friday, which means your order should arrive at the beginning of next week.
    Our apologies for the delay.

Kind regards,

Customers Service iBOOD.com