Not Saying....But doing something Stupid !

• 12-07-2006 01:57PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭

The other night the sink got blocked, Went underneath, undid the ubend very carefully, put the basin under it, it filled to the brim. I very carefully removed said basin and poured it down the sink !!...Very wet feet...D oh :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭incisor71

Yep, did that one before, and created a sensational scent from the liquid combination of cleaning products under the sink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

OP, Post of the Day for me!!

roffle-tastic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

As a laboratory scientist I once tried to sterilize a scalpel blade by pasing it through a gas flame, unfortunately I forgot the fundamental principle of conductance and was holding the blade at the time and needless to say I got burnt.

Another time I wiped down my bench with 100% alcohol and trying to be cool I lit the alcohol as it was evaporating on the bench forgetting that the alcohol wet tissue was still on the bench beside a pile of my papers. So it went up in flames, so did the papers :eek: Quick blast of the fire extinguisher later and I didn't feel so cool anymore :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Beetlebum

r3nu4l wrote:
    As a laboratory scientist I once tried to sterilize a scalpel blade by pasing it through a gas flame, unfortunately I forgot the fundamental principle of conductance and was holding the blade at the time and needless to say I got burnt.

Another time I wiped down my bench with 100% alcohol and trying to be cool I lit the alcohol as it was evaporating on the bench forgetting that the alcohol wet tissue was still on the bench beside a pile of my papers. So it went up in flames, so did the papers :eek: Quick blast of the fire extinguisher later and I didn't feel so cool anymore :o

You flamin' idiot...tee hee hee:p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 13,172 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

pmsl @ the crazy scientist setting the place on fire :D:D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,450 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

intheknow wrote:
    The other night the sink got blocked, Went underneath, undid the ubend very carefully, put the basin under it, it filled to the brim. I very carefully removed said basin and poured it down the sink !!...Very wet feet...D oh :D

LOL'd

Nearly did the exact same thing myself, copped at the very last minute...

I have also frequently poured myself a glass of milk in the morning and then orange juice over my porridge.

I once opened a bottle of 7-up and threw the full bottle in the bin while keeping the lid, instead of the other way around :rolleyes:

I wonder how I get to work in the morning sometimes:D

Not me but my parents here. Ever since getting sky+ about a year ago they've mentioned on several occasions that sometimes when they see something wierd or interesting in real life they think to themselves "Rewind it!", and then realise its not tv...

They need to get out more.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 18,832 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I'm forever putting the cornflakes in the fridge and trying to light my lighter with my cigarette. I've also be known to put milk in the kettle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I had a cold a while back and decided to try out a bottle of eau de toilette somebody gave me called "Subtle". Picture it :

*spray
    *sniff
    *spray
    *sniff
    *thinks : This really is subtle
    *spray, spray, spray

It was about five hours later it occurred to me that I might not be able to smell anything because my nose is blocked. I wondered why everybody's eyes were watering........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

In a rush to head out, I've often ran and threw my clothes in the bin instead of the washing basket. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭Doomspell

Ha ha thats a good one!!! But I often pour orange juice into my Special K or if I'm having a really bad day. The orange juice goes into my tea!! Its really annoying because I don't realize until I go to drink it...which is increbibly digusting:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Ah I've often gotten up in the morning and walked over to the kitchen bin only to unzip/unbutton and proceed to urinate in the bin.

hehe, woops.

Ah now thats just silly, there should be NO confusion, you're not even in the toilet! Like peeing in the shower maybe... but why on earth would you feel the urge in the kitchen??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I once nearly burned myself trying to extinguish candles like this

http://webstore.quiltropolis.net/stores_app/images/images_536/soy%20candle-small.jpg

I put 4 on the mantlepiece and lit them, then I put another one on top of the 4, right in the middle and lit that as well. Of course they burned away until a big flame started up the wall. :eek: So I though it would be a good idea to get a pyrex container, fill it up with water and push the candles into it, cause obviously I didnt want the mantlepiece to go up in flames. The shock I got when I did it :eek: there was a big gulf of flames for a sec, I threw the container to the ground and destroyed the carpet. I spent hours cleaning it up.....:mad: Dont know what I was thinking, should have know the wax just wouldnt react to well with the water, think I was a little drunk :D

Another time I came home drunk and put some rashers on. Next thing I know is my mother is trying to wake me up, with thick black smoke billowing out of the grill. The kitchen was full of smoke and id say I wouldnt have been to long before the house would have went up in flames...

Silly me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Vulpiner

One time I was cooking dinnear and had this lump of ham boiling away in the saucepan. I went into the sittingroom and proceeded to forgot about it as I watched and laughed at Gorden Ramsey giving out to some idiotic chefs on the telly.

Of course 30 minutes went by, and before I know it, one of my housemates cames in to ask me whether or not I was cooking something. Running in to the kitchen, I smelt the most horrible smell of burnt fat and there clouds of brown smoke around the place. The water had boiled off. Opening the doors and windows to let it all out, who did I see walking in to the kitchen.

The landlord.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Caco

A couple of times ive been reading a book or mag or something and i'd usually be in front of my PC/laptop.
    I'd see someting funny/interesting and go to copy and paste it from the book only to realise that i cant highlight things in a book with my finger.
    Ive also put my hand on the bottom right hand corner of the page in book or mag to try to ALT-TAB to switch back to what I was doing on the PC
    I waste too much time on PCs and use to many keyboard shortcuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Pain du chocolate in the microwave. Turn knob the wrong way thus putting it on for 98 minutes rather than 2. Spend three days trying to get rid of the smell.

Silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

This one at at band camp , eh, no forget that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

After my dinner, I religiously make myself a small dessert.

It's a meringue nest, with yoghurt dumped on top of it. Simple, but tasty. Complementary to this is a cup of coffee. I usually prepare the two in parallel.

On more than one occasion, I've put the meringue in a bowl, poured the cup of coffee and then dumped the entire yoghurt into the coffee. Strawberry flavoured coffee is not nice. Either is cherry for that matter.

Actually Caco reminded me of one constant foible. I'd be reading a book, looking for something in particular, and then for the briefest of instances want to press Ctrl + F.... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Was sitting in one of my old gafs with two of my friends, also inhabitants of this house. It was a sunday afternoon, we had all had a late one the night before, and since we had arisen that morn, we had consumed a fair amount of Mary Jane. It was a cold house, so me being the one closest to the gas fire, was asked to "blaze up that beauty". So i did. I did the usual, bit of a twist to the knob, push it in a little, hold, ignite and voila. Except, it wouldnt ignite. So i repeated. And repeated. And repeated again. Pissed off I held down the gas button, to be sure there would be chance of another misfire. I forgot I was holding down the gas button, and I'm not sure how long had passed until one of the lads said, "Will, have you not turned on the fcuking fire yet?" I said "oh yeh" and proceeded to press the ignite button. Caboom is the only accurate way of describing the sound, as two jets of flame sprang out either side of the fire. The front of the fire has a kind of glass shield which i swear bent out and then back in making that kind of metal sheet bending sound. The two lads screamed while I just looked at them in horror and disbelief as to how utterly retarded I had been. One of the lads fair play to him, had actually leaped over the back of the couch, he was a big guy and I have to say I was impressed by his athletiscm, even if he only showed it at the sign of imminent doom. So anyways we broke our **** laughing and then slowed our heart rates with more help of the Mary Jane. It was a quiet day after that, with random outbursts of uncontrollable laughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

On manys the morning at work, making a cup of tea can be an arduous task. Often I've put a packet of sugar in the cup, ripped open a teabag puring it's contents into the cup and then I either notice my stupidity or start to pour in the hot water.

Tiredness can be a drag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Donegal Lass

this thread is great ha!

On one occasion when i was younger, i was out shopping. Myself and my mate had decided to go our seperate ways and go to different shops and meet later for lunch. Off i trot into this shop and find myself the bargin top of the century. I was in my element and bought it, and headed off skipping down the road dying to show my mate my amazing purchase.

I eventually got to her and told her (while beaming with pride) to look into the bag to see what i had bought. She looked and said there was nothing in it. I couldnt understand where it had gone? I looked all around, but was hit with the sudden realisation (and a furious woman) that i had been swinging my bag with such glee that the top had flown out of the bag, onto the windscreen of a car and had caused a (very minor) accident further up the road.

I didnt shop for 6 months!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

I tried to pay onto the bus with my housekey earlier this week :o

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

running down grafton street at christmas trying to miss the crowds only to have a run in with one of the little stone pillars, i was bent over double for a good 5 minutes...not cool...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Da Bounca wrote:
    Was sitting in one of my old gafs with two of my friends, also inhabitants of this house. It was a sunday afternoon, we had all had a late one the night before, and since we had arisen that morn, we had consumed a fair amount of Mary Jane. It was a cold house, so me being the one closest to the gas fire, was asked to "blaze up that beauty". So i did. I did the usual, bit of a twist to the knob, push it in a little, hold, ignite and voila. Except, it wouldnt ignite. So i repeated. And repeated. And repeated again. Pissed off I held down the gas button, to be sure there would be chance of another misfire. I forgot I was holding down the gas button, and I'm not sure how long had passed until one of the lads said, "Will, have you not turned on the fcuking fire yet?" I said "oh yeh" and proceeded to press the ignite button. Caboom is the only accurate way of describing the sound, as two jets of flame sprang out either side of the fire. The front of the fire has a kind of glass shield which i swear bent out and then back in making that kind of metal sheet bending sound. The two lads screamed while I just looked at them in horror and disbelief as to how utterly retarded I had been. One of the lads fair play to him, had actually leaped over the back of the couch, he was a big guy and I have to say I was impressed by his athletiscm, even if he only showed it at the sign of imminent doom. So anyways we broke our **** laughing and then slowed our heart rates with more help of the Mary Jane. It was a quiet day after that, with random outbursts of uncontrollable laughter.

Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭jobonar

splinter wrote:
    running down grafton street at christmas trying to miss the crowds only to have a run in with one of the little stone pillars, i was bent over double for a good 5 minutes...not cool...

o i nearly pissed myself laughing!! Sounds painful but would have been so funny to see happening :D ! bet ya havent run down grafton st since!! OUCH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I once got so drunk that I collapsed on my couch and fell into a drunken sleep.

Later,I woke up and couldn't find my mobile (which was in my hand).

So I start using the mobile to ring my own number,baffled as to why I kept getting an engaged tone.

I went upstairs looking for it and then back down,muttering about how I must have left it in the pub.

Then I tried using the house phone to call it and quickly realised my mistake.

splinter wrote:

Oh yes, I've done this on Grafton Street too! Ran smack into the thing and went straight to the ground clutching my nuts to the giggles of a crowd of girls passing by :o Painful day!