Your top 5 most pissingly-off things about Ireland

• 02-07-2006 04:54PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭

Myself;

1; Prices
    2; Central Bank
    3; Sub-par music festivals
    4; Laois
    5; Central Bank.

A prize of Wit+4 goes to the first person to post "threads like this".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

Tellox wrote:
    Myself;

1; Prices
    2; Central Bank
    3; Sub-par music festivals
    4; Laois
    5; Central Bank.

A prize of Wit+4 goes to the first person to post "threads like this".

1. Prices
    2. Amount of Dangerous East Europeans in Dublin
    3. Terrible Roads/Drivers
    4. AIB
    5. Dublin Bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

1. Threads like this
    2. Tellox
    3. Tellox's family
    4. Tellox's dog
    5. I supposes everything is fairly pricey...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Prices
    The Government
    The weather
    Our soccer team
    We suck at the Eurovision now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

1. The lack of planning and forward thinking in almost everything
    2. Dublin Bus, and all of the state companies really
    3. Power Trippers (everywhere but in Dublin esp.)
    4. David McWilliams
    5. Cost of living

• Closed Accounts Posts: 703 ✭✭✭ThrownAway

Limerick
    Unpredictable weather
    The fact that Ireland seems to be the only country in Europe bar United Kingdom thst has scum
    The horrible barbaric Dublin accent that gives me the creeps
    Fat middle-aged men that support the G.A.A. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Mary Harney
    Weather
    Prices of everything
    Scumbags
    Ryan Tubridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,337 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

1 Not being able to trust anyone with a pulse.
    2 The phrase “Terms and Conditions Apply”
    3 Irish Airshows
    4 The high cost of leaving the place.
    5 The high cost of staying behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 395 ✭✭Dermington

1) stupid poncy footballer haircuts
    2) complete lack of tact, open-mindedness, intelligence, general knowledge in the majority of the people in this country.
    3) massive patriotic ego even though we are a country of lazy underachieving people
    4) the word "munch" being used instead of food
    5) stupid people

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

1 The soul-destroying and inconsistent weather. Bring jackets / jumpers to work and having to carry them home in the evenings because it's so hot. And when you don't bring anything the temperature drops or it rains.

2. Litter / littering. The lack of pride and respect people have for their areas is shocking. And then when someone tries to challenge these people he gets strips torn off him by people basically condoning the litter lout's behaviour. [See thread posted a few weeks ago]

3. Skangers and people who engage in violent, anti-social behaviour.

4. Cute hoorism. The idea that brown envelopes / bribery / corruption is acceptable. Also the rural attitude to drunk driving.

5. Violent republicanism / intolerance. The mentality of some people that think it's acceptable or cool to have 'OMAGH 98' or 'WARRINGTON 93' put on the back of their Celtic jersies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jrey1981

Eircom
    the Irish winters
    crap roads, death-wish drivers
    Dirty Berties government
    closed shop media

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

RTE talkshow hosts (all of them).
    Sinn Fein
    Fianna Fail
    Scumbags
    People who are afraid of scumbags.

5. Violent republicanism / intolerance. The mentality of some people that think it's acceptable or cool to have 'OMAGH 98' or 'WARRINGTON 93' put on the back of their Celtic jersies.

jaaaaaaaaysis never seen that before, its sickening.

TheGooner wrote:
    jaaaaaaaaysis never seen that before, its sickening.

Saw one of each in Killarney a few years ago. Locals.

:mad:

yeah but its killarney....

That is just unreal!!!!!! Can't believe it. :eek: :mad: :eek: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭PrettyInPunk

1.the **** weather
    2.The amount of scumbags/snobbery
    3.The thick Dublin accent..so sexy!!
    4.Prices
    5.The foreigners who think just because they work here its their country,fair enough ive NO probelm with foreigners and many are lovely,but i remember a polish man ringing up a talk show on a debate whether irish should remain compulsary for the leaving saying more people speak polish and that should become a subject,how cheeky.

TheGooner wrote:
    That is just unreal!!!!!! Can't believe it. :eek: :mad: :eek: :mad:

What I find hard to understand is what sort of sports shop would agree to print such a slogan on the back of a jersey?

Unless they got someone to do it for them.

Awful to see. But not surprising given some of the knob-heads supporting Celtic. They're a disgrace to the club.

What I find hard to understand is what sort of sports shop would agree to print such a slogan on the back of a jersey?

Ha ha was just about to say that!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Squirrel

Cost of Insurance - I'm a 17 year old male, I work in a car dealer, I probably have more driving experience than some old women who use their car once a week to drive 800 metres to the shops, yet, if I am given a quote on a 1 litre Micra, it's for over €4,000

General prices - Rip off Ireland for a reason

Scum-bags - It's not cool to have shiny plastic earrings, jumpers that weren't cool back in the 80's

Under-age drinking - Q: So, <insert my name here>, are you coming to get locked on Friday night? (actually, that's a translation of the the incoherrent babble from some people in my year in school) A: Piss off!

Driver education? What driver education? - Driving today, this woman in a Punto starts trying to push her way in to a space my car was in, I sound the horn, so instead of noticing the red Micra there, she puts on her indicator and proceeds to try take the side of my car. I blast the horn and she moves back into her lane. How many drivers in Ireland have got lessons? And how many paid any attention?

And I just remembered another huge thing

The ****ing GAA - Derval O'Rourke is World Champion, so, athletics still has SFA money put into it, my coach has spent over €100,000 on athletics and helping athletes in the last 20/30 years. That's just one man, yet the GAA gets Croke Park completely revamped? Nenagh, our only indoor track, is a barn with a track in it, it's a fantastic idea and I thank the people who did it, but it's ridiculous that it's our premier indoor venue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

I have seen on 2 separate occasions around town this dude with a Celtic jersey leading 2 pitbulls who also had their own little 'doggy' Celtic tops. Possibly the scumbaggiest thing I've ever seen.

latenia wrote:
    I have seen on 2 separate occasions around town this dude with a Celtic jersey leading 2 pitbulls who also had their own little 'doggy' Celtic tops. Possibly the scumbaggiest thing I've ever seen.

I've seen that guy a couple of times.
    A few months ago I saw the two dogs tied to a lampost outside a pub off Capel St.

It would be hilarious if you could get two Rangers jersies and put them on the dogs while the owner was in the pub.

Imagine his reaction ??:D

latenia wrote:

Yeah I see him too! Not necessarily scumbaggy as he is supporting his team, if he has omagh '98 on teh back then SCUMBAG!

They aren't pitbulls, japanese akitas or huskies.

latenia wrote:

Go up and tell him what a fairy he is.

Dressing dogs...uber hardness!!!111oneoneone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭uncle ernie

1. the 123 bus
    2. the price of a pint
    3. that Brendan gob****e that always turns up on youre a star, pop idol etc. and calls himself an entertainer...C*NT!!
    4. charity muggers
    5. bad roads

3. that Brendan gob****e that always turns up on youre a star, pop idol etc. and calls himself an entertainer...C*NT!!
    4. charity muggers

Brendan Kilkenny. The annoying thing is that he's not actually from Kilkenny.

Chuggers too. Forgot to mention them. Scum.

Squirrel wrote:
    Nenagh, our only indoor track, is a barn with a track in it, it's a fantastic idea and I thank the people who did it, but it's ridiculous that it's our premier indoor venue

Are you serious? Nenagh is the only indoor track? Youre right it is literally a shed! Its a wonder the country has any sort of future in athletics at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭mysteria

What's your beef with women, squirrel? Statistics show we have less accidents than men, my daughter 21 yrs old was quoted the same as you. I totally agree with your beef about insurance, my 19 yr old son is a better driver than these grey-haired old guys that won't let you pass and don't use indicators, drive in the middle of the motorway at 25 mph. It's costing me nearly 4 grand a year to insure him on my car. And I drive way faster than him because age brings experience. I really sympathize with you and hear what you're saying, but it's not a gender-problem it's an age problem. So Insurance rates are my number 1 beef.
    2. Irish begrudgery and competitiveness.
    3. The price of EVERYTHING!!!!
    4. The weather.
    5. The rip off banks, buiding societies etc.

1. the 123 bus

Oh such a good one, oooooooh!!! I get that bus twice a day and its like a trip into hell and back grrrrrrrrrrrrrr! They vanish between 5-6 and that w@nker they put on O'Connell street to organise teh whole thing.

TheGooner wrote:
    and that w@nker they put on O'Connell street to organise teh whole thing.

Is that Camilla Queen of the Buses?:D Sometimes outside Connolly too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Sarsfield

1. Scumbags
    2. Piss-poor planning
    3. Begrudgers (thankfully they're starting to die out, or at least getting ignored)
    4. Celtic jerseys - see point 1.
    5. People who complain about everything (in fairness I think Ireland's a pretty good place to live despite it's problems)

6. Teenagers/young men who think they're great drivers and then go kill themselvers & others on a Saturday night. (OK, maye that's tragic rather than pissy-offy)