Pub Toilets

• 15-06-2006 12:48PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭

Did you know that you can make three grand a night working in pub toilets.
    How do you get a job doing that?

MM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 684 ✭✭✭Gosh

Selling drugs ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Mugging people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

Selling your body?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Giving head?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

Gosh wrote:
    Selling drugs ???
    classic response:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=51554056&postcount=132

It's true. So should I just go round pubs looking for a job doing that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,500 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

It's a pretty meaningless job tbh. Are you meant to take the stick of chewing gum and the euro coin that's in the ashtray beside the sinks, or are they tips? I'm not going to tip someone for turning on the tap/hand dryer for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,065 ✭✭✭✭Terry

only works if you're an illegal immigrant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

Three grand sounds a bit optimistic but I reckon there is very good money to be made in the popular bars in town. Anytime I'm having a píss they guy is tipped around five times. And all the coins sound like €1 or €2 being dropped into the ashtray. Now it takes 3 or 4 mins to have a piss, wash hands, etc. That means they must be making an average of 1.50 a minute, €90 an hour...tax free!!

Fair play to them I say, if people are stupid enough to hand you €2 for giving them a paper towel to dry their hands then you deserve it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭DamoKen

Saw this on the other thread and wondered what hat he managed to pull that figure from. Now it's used as a valid source on this one? Reminds me of the "journalism" in the first Gulf War, news agencies reporting stories and quoting other news agencies as the source :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Did you know that you can make three grand a night working in pub toilets.

Did you know that you can't take as fact everything that you read on board.ie???? :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Dragan wrote:
    Did you know that you can't take as fact everything that you read on board.ie???? :eek: :eek: :eek:

Thats true, i think i read a post about this once...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I'd rarely tip as I tend to find them quite rude... one bathroom I was in, the guy had baracaded the cubicles with mops and wouldn't remove the baracade until you gave him a few quid.

The lads in Stingfellow's are really sound though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Dragan wrote:
    But that means I can't take your post as a fact, which means that I can take posts on boards.ie as fact... which means... argh... my head hurts now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I'd rarely tip as I tend to find them quite rude... one bathroom I was in, the guy had baracaded the cubicles with mops and wouldn't remove the baracade until you gave him a few quid.

The lads in Stingfellow's are really sound though.

I saw a guy sitting on top of a stool with his legs across the sink babbling on his mobile,when i went to wash my hands i had to lean across him and then he started pushing a liquid soap dispensor in front of me talking on his phone the whole time,incredibly annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Three grand sounds a bit optimistic but I reckon there is very good money to be made in the popular bars in town. Anytime I'm having a píss they guy is tipped around five times. And all the coins sound like €1 or €2 being dropped into the ashtray. Now it takes 3 or 4 mins to have a piss, wash hands, etc. That means they must be making an average of 1.50 a minute, €90 an hour...tax free!!

Well In fairness, he's on a lot less than he should be considering he can fit 33 hours into one day.:)

€3000/€90 ph = 33.33 hrs.(just in case anyone missed it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Being a big tall black guy called Ben

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

TBH, in the UK they give you aftershave, and mouthwash etc if you need it, they also have gum and other stuff too. I normally give £1.00 but sometimes I don't have change/bother or I get rid of my crappy small change.

(LOL at england under pressure in the football)

John

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

They do it in that Gay bar on Parliment st aftershaves etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

They do it everywhere,even in crappy local bars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,065 ✭✭✭✭Terry

i've figured it out.
    the guys going into the bank with €8,000 are pimps. the people working in the toilets are getting hookers from them after work and paying with the change they're given.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 313 ✭✭cargrouch

julep wrote:
    only works if you're an illegal immigrant.
    sure don't the goverement give them mercs;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

3 grand me arse....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Last time I was out in Galway they offered me aftershave, deo, gum, the whole works. Nice guys really. Gave them a euro if I remember correctly.

But thats just the problem isn't it. Half the people are so locked they don't even know or care what they are giving.

DaveMcG wrote:
    3 grand me arse....
    Twud be red raw before you'd earn 3 grand I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

TBh if people don't notice or care what they're gicing then what's the problem. It's not like the guys in the toilet force you.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭kc66

One night my mate got a splash of aftershave and threw some change in yer mans ashtray. He jumped up and demanded €2. My mate laughed and went to walk out by him but he put his arm across the door, shouting "€2". My mate pushed by him and was grabbed and shoved on the píssy floor. Yer man ran out and got the bouncers saying he was being robbed. Who got thrown out and their night ruined?
    That just píssed me off. I dont want to hear from people saying they are not all the same- I know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

The weird thing about all this is I've been able to wipe my arse and wash my hands all by myself for years now.

kc66 wrote:
    One night my mate got a splash of aftershave and threw some change in yer mans ashtray. He jumped up and demanded €2. My mate laughed and went to walk out by him but he put his arm across the door, shouting "€2". My mate pushed by him and was grabbed and shoved on the píssy floor. Yer man ran out and got the bouncers saying he was being robbed. Who got thrown out and their night ruined?
    That just píssed me off. I dont want to hear from people saying they are not all the same- I know that.

Name and shame. Luckily I don't see much of this down in Cork, maybe I just don't to "classy" enough pubs. God knows the Bróg could do with some flunkies spraying aftershave or air freshener around the place :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭kc66

cargrouch wrote:
    Name and shame. Luckily I don't see much of this down in Cork, maybe I just don't to "classy" enough pubs. God knows the Bróg could do with some flunkies spraying aftershave or air freshener around the place :D

It was Solar night club in Navan. We went next day to complain and were left waiting for ages so we went for pints instead. A bit stupid I know.