New F1 season YAY...

• 11-03-2006 12:06PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭

......but this new qualifying system is doing my head in.
    Can some one explain it in english for me please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

thought the new qualifying was sensational. I was a sceptic as I liked the single lap but I thought that was quality today. The last session is a bit dodgy the way half of the session is a paradebut overall two thumbs up.

The basic idea is first 15 min session 6 drivers go out(and take up their place on the grid depending on their times). Second session with the remaining drivers is the exact same. Final session is 20 min with ten drivers battling for their places on the grid( the first two sessions times mean nothing for the last ten drivers its all based on the last session). It gets complicated here with the fuel credits and I dont know what the story is but basically what it amounts to is the cars driving around and around until they empty their tanks then going in, getting new tyres and going out on a hot lap making much of the twenty minute session redundant. Im not the best at explaining so hopefully you get the geist?:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

First 20 minutes:
    Everyone sets a lap time, no rules on fuel or tyres, 6 slowest times then get knocked out and keep their grid position.

Next 20 minutes:
    Same thing with remaining 16 drivers, all laptimes are reset to zero then the slowest 6 get their position.

Next 20 minutes:
    10 drivers left now. All laptimes are reset to zero. They put their race fuel in and then qualify, and are allowed refill one lap worth of fuel for the race for every qualifying lap they complete. This means they can do lots of laps to lighten the car to set a fast time, then refill with fuel for the race. Complication is that 'one laps worth of fuel' is an exact value, but they may actually use less or more than that per lap depending on how hard they push, they were cruising at first so they'd have extra fuel for the race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,043 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Thanks lads.
    It usually takes me a couple of races each season to get clued in on the new rules, regulations, liveries, etc.
    I still prefer the old 2 day friday/saturday qualifying with the cumulative times going to the grid position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭dinjo

i love the new system and i love the idea my main man, Michael Schumacher taking poll..... OH ITS GONNA BE GOOD !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭stever

In the final session there's a rule against doing slow laps too, if they do a slow lap not within 110% of their fastest, they can't recollect the fuel for the lap as I understand.
    I think they have finally got the quallifying right with this one. Very exiting.

dinjo wrote:
    i love the new system and i love the idea my main man, Michael Schumacher taking poll..... OH ITS GONNA BE GOOD !

As Montoya so bitterly pointed out:D lol the Ferraris are runnin on fumes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭dwaned

dinjo wrote:
    Just have to agree, the new qualifying is by far the best in my opinion ever. Made the qualifying another days Racing and I can't wait to see it live. And as for Schumacker, just look at his record to date, he is the best F1 driver to date..... Massa was also very impressive today....
    As for Montoya, school yard pedal carts is too good for him!!
    Looking forward to a very competetive year...

Whas the story with str though. Their supposed to be minardis ffs. Scott speed has not impressed at all during a1 and all of a sudden hes keeping pace with ralph scumacher and trulli and overtaking barrichelo in a honda along the straights? I smell something fishy!

Babybing wrote:
    Whas the story with str though. Their supposed to be minardis ffs. Scott speed has not impressed at all during a1 and all of a sudden hes keeping pace with ralph scumacher and trulli and overtaking barrichelo in a honda along the straights? I smell something fishy!
    I think the other teams will start to wonder how restricted their V10's really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

does anyone know if tv3 still do the highlights at six o clock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭KeithMur

Its great to be able to see it again on Sky Digital. What a season to miss last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Macers

Good first race :D

Drives of the day Kimi and Nico

BFassassin wrote:
    does anyone know if tv3 still do the highlights at six o clock
    No highlights listed for TV3 at all today. I don't even know if they're going to show it this year.
    Brilliant race. Young Rosberg is the DOTD for me.
    Pity we had to listen to how great Button is for most of it. God help us if he ever wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭dwaned

KeithMur wrote:
    Its great to be able to see it again on Sky Digital. What a season to miss last year
    Sky showing the race this year????

That was a brilliant race to start the season!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭BFassassin

its alright i got to watch it anyway. Rosberg was unbeleivable and he is only 20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Takeshi_Kovacs

Great race today, i guess we will have to get used to hearing how great button is .,
    That near collision with massa spinning in front of Alonso was astonishing,
    Alonso showed some very quick responses to avoid disaster there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Nice win for Alonso. Was close when comin outta that 2nd pit stop. How'd kimi get up so far from last :D Didnt show much of him on itv tbh. Impressive for that new guy roseburg or sumfin.

Great race. People who say they dont watch f1 anymore because it's boring or it has nothing to do with driver skill dont know what their missing. When you see driving of the quality shown today you realise that series like IRL and A1 just dont compare. Rosberg was sensational, Kimi came through a whole field of drivers, Schumacher proved he's far from over the hill, Alonso showed why he's world champion,Buttons overtaking was sensational(although contrary to itv's beliefs that doesnt make him the next Stirling Moss:rolleyes: ), and Super Aguri provided plenty of comic relief:D They really should check theres fuel in the pumps before they start pumping:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭The Free Man

great race indeed. i laughed my ass off after fisichella was giving out over the radio ' its ****ing ****! ****ing ****!' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I must say I enjoyed the grand prix having not followed the sport since Damon Hill went to Arrows :(

I was watching Setanta's coverage which wasn't anything exciting but at least they don't go weak at the knee's whenever Jenson Button is on screen!

Also I know itv cant really be blamed but every time they go on break something exiting happens. Buttons first overtaking move, villneuves car going on fire and fisichella going out all happened during the break!

p.s. Delighted to see jpm only manage fifth after his comments yestreday about ferrari having to pit after 6 laps. Being a smart arse backfired lol

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Enjoyed the race.
    Its good for the sport that Schumi is back near the top,still dislike him tho :)
    Alonso and Raikkonen both have the beating of Schumi yet again this year.
    If Raikkonen gets better luck i tip him to be champion,he showed his class today.
    Alonso is a class act also but last years driver of the year had to be Kimi.
    Even his fellow professionals voted him so.
    Id like to see Button emerge as a real contender.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Babybing wrote:
    Great race. People who say they dont watch f1 anymore because it's boring or it has nothing to do with driver skill dont know what their missing. When you see driving of the quality shown today you realise that series like IRL and A1 just dont compare.

Completely and utterly disagree with you. Today's race was decent by normal precessional standards but overall F1 is still very dull in comparison to the likes IRL, Champ Car, BTCC etc. which always put on great races with action, overtaking left right and centre and have competitive fields. F1 has that once in a blue moon and doesn't capture me like those afformentioned series do.

Alonso did well and proved to me that he is the best driver on the grd again and Nico Rosberg was stunning but I was hardly surprised after his outstanding GP2 season alst year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

Completely and utterly disagree with you. Today's race was decent by normal precessional standards but overall F1 is still very dull in comparison to the likes IRL, Champ Car, BTCC etc. which always put on great races with action, overtaking left right and centre and have competitive fields. F1 has that once in a blue moon and doesn't capture me like those afformentioned series do.

Completely agree. People only seem to say F1 is the best because its the *ONLY* mainstream form of motorsport covered by the media here and everyone assumes that means the drivers are the best in the business. Until you've seen racing where the drivers are running three and four wide lap after lap, inches apart, can you truely appreciate skill. Being able to drive past someone once without running him off the track does not consititute great racing or skilled driving...

Im not denying the skill of drivers in the btcc, WRC, IRL etc for a second. I just think f1 is a different level. I enjoy BTCC and DTM and sports cars and the racing is at times thrilling but I dont think they compare to F1. I dont find IRL or champcar entertaining at all(I do like the surfers paradise round though) for obvious reasons. It comes down to personal taste and I just happen to be a massive fan of F1. What annoys me is when I hear people slag of F1 or saying "I wouldnt even bother watching it anymore" imo it is the premiere racing serious in the world both for skill and engineering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

I hear people slag of F1 or saying "I wouldnt even bother watching it anymore" imo it is the premiere racing serious in the world both for skill and engineering

I would be one of those people who isn’t really arsed. It's certainly the pinnacle of technology, but to such an extent that it smears the effective talent of the driver. Also of course, come drivers are there by merit of their connections and monetary situations rather than skill. Of course, this is not exclusive to F1, but the technology and budget of the teams in conjunction with the correct designer/engineer is MUCH more important than the driver.

Follow Adrian Newey's developments and movements within F1 and you will get what I mean.

Again, this is not exclusive to F1, but is much, much more apparent in this class.

End result for me is that it is not a spectacle (at least on TV or even a projector) and I find it difficult to watch a race. In fact I can’t honestly remember the last F1 race I watched that I didn’t fall asleep. Seriously!

Having watched and taken part in motorsport over the years, I find F1 a poor representation of the "spirit" of the sport, and is about marketing, business and technology more than ever. The sport has been put in second place.

Gimme 1967 anyday………………….. When they didn’t break, the Lotus' were sickeningly quick and buried a lot of the field. It's still an excellent spectacle though. To see a bathtub jumping 2 or 3 feet at a smiget under 200Mph on the back straight in Núrbergring, open face helment, and no seatbelt! That's racing! Drivers were more charismatic back then, both on and off the track.

Motorsport is a unique balance of science, art and black magic. F1 fails to capture the essence of that IMO.

I could go on a flu-inspired rant, but ill leave it out!

End result for me is that it is not a spectacle (at least on TV or even a projector) and I find it difficult to watch a race. In fact I can’t honestly remember the last F1 race I watched that I didn’t fall asleep. Seriously!

Different strokes I suppose. I thought todays race felt like it lasted for twenty minutes not 90!

Having watched and taken part in motorsport over the years, I find F1 a poor representation of the "spirit" of the sport, and is about marketing, business and technology more than ever. The sport has been put in second place.

You see thats what I think is so great about F1. Despite the marketing and the business and the technology and the little man with grey hair and glasses I still think F1 perfectly captures the "spirit" of motorsport. As you said its that marriage of driver and technology, art and science. Granted I've never competed in the sport and I am hardly an authority on the subject but I just feel when the lights go out the politics and business bull**** and the million dollar contracts all go out the window and its just about the racing and the passion these drivers have for the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭KeithMur

dwaned wrote:
    Sky showing the race this year????

Yeah since rte lost the rights last year and itv/utv wasn't FTA I couldn't watch it. Now I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Blaster99

I'm not entirely sold on the qualifying format, even though it's probably the best I've seen so far in F1. They should have kept the third session the same as the previous two, eg run on lowest fuel load and qualify as best you can. This race fuel lark is a waste of effort with cars circling around for 10 minutes. A session format specifically designed to waste fuel, is that really what we need?

It was a great race and the closeness at the top could be very interesting going forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Ay Cee

Did the FIA introduce those new rear wings? That was supposed to help with the overtaking?

As soon as Alonso get ahead at stop 2 I knew Schumey wouldn't/ couldn't over take him.