An Garda Siochana ( your views)

• 03-03-2006 12:58AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭

What do you think of the police force of ireland? Do you think there fair? affective, non biased. Or just corrupt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

corrupt. enough said imo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

nm wrote:

Why???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,760 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Like everywhere you'll get your good and your bad...

By and large though any I've had the misfortunate of dealing with in a certain Northside station are corrupt, unwiling to enforce the law on local scumbags and actively make things worse.

I could go on for pages (I've 18 years worth of examples to pick from) but I won't....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Reaver772

One of the laziest bunch of feckers in the country as about as usefull as tits on a bull!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Here we go again, another Gardai thread. I'm not a fan meself, too many examples to list so they dont get my vote of confidence.

toodles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Useless, completely useless.

GreenHell wrote:
    Useless, completely useless.

well which is it? :D

Savman wrote:
    Here we go again, another Gardai thread. I'm not a fan meself, too many examples to list so they dont get my vote of confidence.

toodles :D

I hope not.

Savman wrote:

Back too the Best Looking Bird On Boards threads for you sooooooo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

They generally do a good job under difficult circumstances, and like any public service organisation there are good and bad employees. The organisation could be managed better IMO. Kinda like the health service.

I've seen some great ones though, and when you see that, you realise how they help keep communities safe - which is a vitally important service in any society.

Don't get me started on the Garda Reserve Farce though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Well, there's more than one guard, so there's bound to be **** in the police force, and juding them by the acts of a minority of **** would be wrong.

I like them, I think they are fair, and any guards I've had to deal with have been grand and really nice people. But in saying that, several of my friends are guards so maybe I'm biased.

Back too the Best Looking Bird On Boards threads for you sooooooo.

what are u on about?

Savman wrote:
    what are u on about?

Hold me??? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

i was indiffernt until I witnessed my friend be carted off by the gardai for something they saw he didn't do and hold him in cells (whilst I had to wait for him for 7 hours) becaused they refused to believe me, my friend or a totally unbiast witness of what had really happened. Even tho, as I said 2 gardai saw everything and said nothing......

they also confiscated his phone and then didn't give it back saying he didn't have one!!! Not that Im saying the gardai need to steal phones of people but, i saw him hand it over and i saw them denying they ever got it! crazy!

Hold me??? :D

I see from your previous posts that you're interested in joining the guards, you've got the right mentality so far; "how to answer a question without answering a question"

Savman wrote:
    I see from your previous posts that you're interested in joining the guards, you've got the right mentality so far; "how to answer a question without answering a question"

I dont want too hijack this thread, as i'd rather just read posts about peeps opinions on the subject.

I didn't know you could hijack a thread you started, surely that's a paradox :confused:

Anyway, I believe the Gardai are fairly efficient at traffic management, speeding traps etc etc. but when all hell breaks loose, which it does regularly, you won't see me standing around dialling 112 and waiting for "emergency response".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Savman wrote:
    Anyway, I believe the Gardai are fairly efficient at traffic management, speeding traps etc etc. but when all hell breaks loose, which it does regularly, you won't see me standing around dialling 112 and waiting for "emergency response".

Why not? What are you going to do, a Chuck Norris? I've seen very timely interventions from the Gardai. Helps if you know your local station number though.

Kernel wrote:
    Why not? What are you going to do, a Chuck Norris? I've seen very timely interventions from the Gardai. Helps if you know your local station number though.

Depends on where you are I guess. I've seen riots happen within a 2 mile radius of a Garda station, knives & machetes being pulled yet it took the Gardai over an hour to arrive. When they did arrive it was in the form of 1 car, 1 jeep, 1 van and 1 unmarked special branch type vehicle.

Was anyone arrested? Nope. Was anyone cautioned? Nope. Was anyone removed from the scene? Nope. Did the cops hang around longer than 5 minutes? Nope. Did the cops have a laugh and joke with some local scumbags? Of course. Did the fighting erupt once the cops had left? Yep.

calm blue ocean....calm blue ocean....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭riptide

i was indiffernt until I witnessed my friend be carted off by the gardai for something they saw he didn't do and hold him in cells (whilst I had to wait for him for 7 hours) becaused they refused to believe me, my friend or a totally unbiast witness of what had really happened. Even tho, as I said 2 gardai saw everything and said nothing......

they also confiscated his phone and then didn't give it back saying he didn't have one!!! Not that Im saying the gardai need to steal phones of people but, i saw him hand it over and i saw them denying they ever got it! crazy!
    Yep I'll second the Phone part.... a friend of mine same situation.... bring back the rioters.... well maybe not !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭aphex™

A high number of cops are thick muck savages. Like the sly bastard you find down your local pub who won't give you a straight answer and thinks hes God.

These people get promotions quite easily and that means things are usually badly managed. They are always making the most basic mistakes and intimidate people who are smarter than them.

If you're at a big event eg. St. Patricks day parade they always roll out the trainees. Again, high proportion are muck savages who go besirk if you approach and ask them a question.

There are plenty of good, smart people in the force but they just don't get the promotions to be useful. Its a terrible career really.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Haven't seen one in my town since Christmas... Says alot really.

Savman wrote:
    I didn't know you could hijack a thread you started, surely that's a paradox :confused:

Sorry my other post was just a bit of banter. And the hijack part just means I wanted to hear other peoples views.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭AnTaoiseach

My friend was out one night, and got kickied out of a pub, so he sat outside for a while untill the guards arrived. They arrested him for threatening behaviour and took the keys to his van (which belonged to his boss)
    They released him about 3 or 4 hours later, and when he went to get his van, it was gone. they moved it about 4 miles away so he would have to tell his boss he lost the van.

*rseholes

I crashed a motorbike one night, around christmass a few years ago.
    I was in a fairly bad way, my knee was ripped open. I was sitting on a wall waiting for the ambulance, with the bike on its side on the road.
    Two guards in a car pull up and say: "what are you doing there?" (its too much to expect a "Are you alright?") I said "I crashed, the ambulance is on its way."
    Guard say "Ok", rolls up his window and drives away.
    Its a great service we have provided by our state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,261 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Some good, some bad.

Those who are corrupt, seem to take far too long to root out. Why are they driving crooks like Charlie Haughey around the place? I don't see how this fits in with their role of guardians of the peace? :confused: A lot of them don't give a toss if someone from a 'poorer' area has been a victim of crime compared to a wealthier victim of a similar crime. And the Blue Flu Day didn't do much for their rep either. :(

But then again, you have to hand it to those who were on the frontline last Saturday. Fair fcks to them. There is no way I'd do a job like that. They were betrayed by their senior management and the GRA should be baying for McDowell's head on a plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

An Garda Síochána: Making Chief Wiggum look good since 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i've had a few run ins with a psycho ex, there are two local guards i have met a few times because of this, they are young, around the same age as myself (25) and they were very very helpful. it depends on the guard really i guess. but we have never had any problems with our locals guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

I'm going to actually go Pro Garda here...
    Firstly the problem isn't the Gardai it's our crazy justice system that causes all the problems.

Why would risk getting hurt pulling appart two scumbags with knives when if you do and arrest them they'll be back on the streets in about a day and you'll have to do a 50 page report on the incident.

Protect the innocent and let the scumbags wipe each other out... :D
    Bring back the Chain gangs that what i say..