Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much is your Rent? (2005)

• 13-01-2005 09:01PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,741 ✭✭✭✭

How much rent do you pay (per person, per month, excluding utility bills)?

How much rent do you pay? (see notes in post) 278 votes

Under €200 per month
    0% 0 votes
    €200-299 per month
    5% 14 votes
    €300-399 per month
    15% 44 votes
    €400-499 per month
    19% 55 votes
    €500-749 per month
    23% 66 votes
    €750-999 per month
    13% 37 votes
    €1,000-1,499 per month
    6% 19 votes
    More than €1,500 per month
    6% 17 votes
    I have my rent paid for me
    1% 4 votes
    I live with family / friends / a partner
    0% 1 vote
    I/we have a mortgage or I/we own a residence
    7% 21 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

In about two weeks time I will be moving out of home and to my own place. Going to work out at about €300/month excluding bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Andrew Duffy

462.50 per person per month, although since it comes out of a joint rent and expenses account, and I earn way more, it's not rigourously split.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Myself and the girlfriend are paying 950 for a one bed flat on the Grand canal in Dublin 2.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

550 for a double room in Temple Bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Myself and wife paying €600 sharing with another couple paying the same. so house is €1200 per month. Its in palmerstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭ICadvisor

Too much....wink.gif The rent prices in Dublin are off the wall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 FreekyGeek

I'm just moving into an en-suite, double room for €300 sharing in a house share with two others (3 bedroom house) in Cork! I'm sure the same room in Dublin would be about €500! Should the poll take into account peoples location as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

€287 a month for a single room in a house share in Foxrock with 4 others. House isn't great but it's cheap, the rent is good and my flatmates are all sound :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Dublin rental prices aren't too bad, especially given the price of property - and they're falling too, which is nice.

I'm paying €400 a month, for a Double Room in a new 3-bed detatched house in Blanchardstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 alfrizmartin

Rent aint too expensive, mortguage on a new apartment is about €1000 a montha nd there is maintenance fees for about €1000 a year, so if you are getting rent for about €1100 a month for a 2 bed you aren't doin too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

moving to my new penthouse apartment over the next few days.
    Rent is 1500 excluding bills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

€240 p/month in a double room, the house really is crap, I'd consider moving out, but the rent is dirt cheap and my housemates are sound, and live really close to work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Neesha

€360 for a double room in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

hummm.. I live at home, but my mom just bought an apt, the mortgage is gonna be about €1000 a month, and she was quoted €850 cause it was "so nicely furnished and had all mod cons" that's for 2bedrooms, one en-suite and one will have to use the bathroom (yes, it has a bath!) which is not in the room, so although house prices are going up, the rent seems to be leveling out, maybe she would have been better off buying one in Dublin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭FuzzyWuzzyWazza

Payin' €325 p/month in Kildare. just inside the border.
    Thats for a double room in a shared house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭SonicDoom2005

in limerick i'm paying 285 a month for a double ensuite with a balcony area.....sweet out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Dutchboy

A small but nice room in the maples, clonskeagh for 300a month! i am delighted with it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

€45 a week for renting a room in a flat. Its great but theres ESB and T.V bills on top of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭natter

Ah lads I getting weak looking at those prices, I'm moving to Dublin in February - gonna be skint. Limerick is great was paying €220 o month last year for a room in lovely big house. There was 4 of us so the whole house worked out at €880 a month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭dublinguy2004

natter wrote:
    Ah lads I getting weak looking at those prices, I'm moving to Dublin in February - gonna be skint. Limerick is great was paying €220 o month last year for a room in lovely big house. There was 4 of us so the whole house worked out at €880 a month.

Don't worry mate! There are loads of place available in Dublin and it's easy to find a room within 30 minutes of the city these days. I've seen places for €300/€350. You certainly won't need to pay more than €400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

€250 a month for room in an apartment* next to UCC. Although this is cheaper than it should be, I live with a couple who are nice enough to split the rent equally per person rather than by room. By room it'd be over €300 a month.

*It's not really an apartment, it's the upstairs section of a house. The houses were built in the 50's and the two floors were always seperate. Seperate entrance etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,579 ✭✭✭quad_red

Don't worry mate! There are loads of place available in Dublin and it's easy to find a room within 30 minutes of the city these days. I've seen places for €300/€350. You certainly won't need to pay more than €400.

Point us in that direction man! I've NEVER seen anything half decent for less than 420/430. I've got to look for a new place again and I think I'm gonna be rammed even worse than I am now (450 plus bills)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭Jerryc

woohoo...

i'm paying the cheapest here so far - €175/month, double room in limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Dagon

Some people here are paying crazy rent! I'm in Sligo, and I live in a very nice house with three prof. females. We have a big kitchen, dining room, and huge living room. All mod cons. It is also in a quite affluent area of the town and is very quiet. Semi-detached house. My bedroom is the smallest in the house, but it's perfect for me.

I pay €180 per month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

You also live in Sligo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

lol...try livin in Dublin :D :rolleyes:
    no offence to sligo but affluent area????? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭wirelessdude

405euro for a single room in sandymount..cheap for the area!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭Culchie

RuggieBear wrote:
    no offence to sligo but affluent area????? :D

lol myself, you don't know Sligo very well do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

was paying 600 a month in clonmel...
    3 bed house, kitchen, dining room, very large sitting room, 2 bathrooms, 1 upstairs 1 downstairs... rent included garbage, tax, and tv licence...
    i rented 1 room out to a couple for 100 a week... so i was paying 50 a week for the rest....
    funny they stayed in their room most of the time...
    ah well. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭gilbert

i am paying about 400 euro for double room.and share the house with another 2 couples .The house is located in tallaght :D .but the house is in the bad cons. :mad: