Camping at The Hell Fire Club

• 25-05-2005 02:07PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭

Myself and a group of friends are planning on spending a night camping at the Hell Fire Club just off the Kilakee Rd some Saturday night in the near future. I was just wondering if it is safe to camp here overnight. I've heard stories of certain groups of people from the bottom of the hill having cider parties at the old lodge. Has anyone camped here before and has anyone experienced any trouble before, specifically on a Saturday night?

I took a trip up there yesterday and I saw a plague on a large rock beside the lodge - Basically an RIP for some guy who died in 2002, presumably at the Hell Fire Club. A little bit worrying all right. The place itself was deserted and it seemed relatively clean. There weren't any empty beer and cider cans anywhere. Even the inside of the lodge was quite clear. So now I'm not sure if the area is cleaned regularly by the council or if it's simply a cse that nobody comes up here at night.

Any help or info would be most appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

fair play to ye, lemme know how ye get on cos it'd take a lot to send me up there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I think people do it all the time, I would take a baseball bat or smth with you though. What age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

It's haunted. Didn't you know?:eek:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,749 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

why would you want to camp there some knackers will find there way up there late one night and probably batter you lol fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You'll find plenty of gangs from Tallaght and Whitechurch up there over a weekend evening. I wouldn't much advise it.
    Just a short way up the road, there's a small car park, it's also rife with scumbags and people waiting to attack couples who drive up there late at night for a wee bit of hanky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

seamus wrote:
    You'll find plenty of gangs from Tallaght and Whitechurch up there over a weekend evening. I wouldn't much advise it.
    Just a short way up the road, there's a small car park, it's also rife with scumbags and people waiting to attack couples who drive up there late at night for a wee bit of hanky.

Good advice. My mate of mine went ahem..."sightseeing" with a lady and his rear window was put in while, he had to race off in a "state of undress"

Seriouslt though, not the sort of place you want to go camping or find yourselflate at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭highdef

Grand thanks for that - Might go somewhere else further east so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,216 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Amazed to hear it wasnt full of bottles and cans anymore - i used go to school down the road from it and any time we wandered up it was in a right state - though i do remember a class hike up that far and talking to this couple wasted off their face - great laugh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

last time i was up there it was covered in needles... its a cool place though.

ya could try sneak into larch hill, its near enough to the hell fire club.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Yikes I was warned bout it when i was a wee scout...didnt think it was that bad, larch hill would be great fun tho, the canoes would be great fun drunk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Skellington

if ya go, just be prepare to defend yourselves from scum...
    but if ya if ya stay on the main road and take the road to the right at the next car park, you should find some brilliant spots to camp. best spots are a fairly long way up that road though, but it'd be worth it.
    or, just go camping during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Gyck

I remember when it used to be a great place to wander around. Mind you, that was about 30 years ago... :D

There are plenty of other (safe) places around Dublin and Wicklow to go camping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

Gyck wrote:
    I remember when it used to be a great place to wander around. Mind you, that was about 30 years ago... :D

There are plenty of other (safe) places around Dublin and Wicklow to go camping.
    I think you're missing the point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

is that the place near st columba's college golf course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

they have a golf course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

/me remembers camping @ Larch Hill with the scouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

the_syco wrote:
    /me remembers camping @ Larch Hill with the scouts.
    As do I, though 'twas with the cubs.

Don't recall canoes being there when I was there the few times, though I suppose it was 1985ish the last time I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Gyck

Pet wrote:
    I think you're missing the point...

That's quite possibe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

TimAy wrote:
    they have a golf course?

they need to have some excuse for being so expensive...

Heh, The owendore runs from that direction down, via rockbrook where i went to school for a few years, to my house. always wanted to canoe home :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

crash_000 wrote:
    Heh, The owendore runs from that direction down, via rockbrook where i went to school for a few years, to my house. always wanted to canoe home :)

I went to that school too for a while. Pity Mr Unch UH UH Joe is a psycho...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭highdef

How about around 3 Rock Mountain? I know there are some nice forests there and a nice walk up to the telecommunications masts at the top. Would you reckon it would be fairly safe over there. It's up a dead end road and it seems like a nice spot. I'd imagine the car park would be locked at 8pm, just like the Hell Fire Club car park. ANyone know what time they are reopened on a Sunday morning? Wouldn't want to be trapped in the car park till 11 in the morning or anything. Would it be safe here, both to camp and to park overnight? And finally, anyone have any furth suggestions of somewhere to camp? Don't want to be on an official campsite? Want to be somewhere a good distance from any houses so we don't disturb anyone but don't want to be miles away from Dublin, if possible. And don't worry, we'll be bringing some black sacks with us to bring back all the empty beer cans and bottles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Ah, Larch Hill, what a place. Was there many a time, do you know the Assault Course there, well me and a few friends got up early one morning and headed down to it, only to find a lady and gentleman at it. Very funny.

Anyways, there is a place near to The Hell Fire and Larch Hill called Lord Massey's, and it's brilliant. A nice clearing in the woods, with a wall around it, an old ruin or somesuch, where you can camp. There is a lovely stream outside the walls that can keep your beer cool and all, nature's fridge.

I camped there for a weekend a couple of years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

aye, 3 rock would be fairly well secluded alright, but ye do get the odd hillwalker up there out on a mad walking buzz.
    But Seans suggestion " Lord Massey's" used to love headin down there just pass the Kilakee house. Mad old place. Used to remember playing commando in there, ah they were the days. Id say ye'd have some crack down there now. Think I camped there for a weekend, quality stuff!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭sandyg

the 3rock is the most confusing place got lost in there for three hours on my horse hehehe!!
    why not go up to powerscourt instead???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Powerscourt is class, but i dont think they allow you to camp in there.
    What about Glendalough, doubt there'd be any scumbags drinking cans down there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭anna20

used to go up there every weekend.........aw the memories. actually one time i managed to climb up onto the roof through the fireplace upstairs, can u still do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

no there was a grate installed in the chimney.

cheesedude wrote:
    I went to that school too for a while. Pity Mr Unch UH UH Joe is a psycho...
    Hehehe aye - i skipped out of there after three years PDQ :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Roddy23 wrote:
    just pass the Kilakee house.

Apparently the most haunted pub in Ireland for anyone who is interested. :)