Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "display" tonight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

i totally agree, i thought the show itself was really good, i really enjoyed it. the atmosphere around the streets was amazing!

definitley more than 12000, after all 26000 tickets were given out and that was just for the special areas. patrick st was jammed for the ceremony. emmet place was choc a block. even down to shandon bridge had huge crowds at it. i was down by brian boru bridge and it was crowded down there! all the quay back along had people it wasnt a ticketed area, the same on the other side. go to the north side of the river and you had people on shandon st and wellington rd (?). there were even people up on harbour view rd looking down.
    there was far in excess of 12000 and i wouldnt be surprised if there was more than 80000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Then leave Cork

Whoever said there were only 12000 people & that Cork has a bigger than average problem with delinquents etc. has a sense of perception that only a drunk blind paraplegic monkey smoking craic is likely to agree with.
    The truth is that unlike Waterford, Galway and Dublin if your out at night and you’re not pissed drunk there is very little chance of getting into trouble in Cork.
    Nothing to do ????????? I've lived in plenty of other cities and unless your an ice skating enthusiast you really cant complain here (unless your Under 18 and then that’s bad most places too except maybe France). Most people don’t have the opportunity for water skiing, surfing, sailing, rowing, hill walking etc we are very lucky. Get up of your ass and stop giving out about apparent negatives and open your eyes to what we do have. The only thing Cork lacks is high profile gig’s but they get tiresome (and expensive) after a while anyway give me an act in the Lobby any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Balmed Out wrote:
    Then leave Cork

Whoever said there were only 12000 people & that Cork has a bigger than average problem with delinquents etc. has a sense of perception that only a drunk blind paraplegic monkey smoking craic is likely to agree with.
    The truth is that unlike Waterford, Galway and Dublin if your out at night and you’re not pissed drunk there is very little chance of getting into trouble in Cork.
    Nothing to do ????????? I've lived in plenty of other cities and unless your an ice skating enthusiast you really cant complain here (unless your Under 18 and then that’s bad most places too except maybe France). Most people don’t have the opportunity for water skiing, surfing, sailing, rowing, hill walking etc we are very lucky. Get up of your ass and stop giving out about apparent negatives and open your eyes to what we do have. The only thing Cork lacks is high profile gig’s but they get tiresome (and expensive) after a while anyway give me an act in the Lobby any day.

Um nobody said we'd a bigger than average problem with delinquents in cork, just that we most definitely do have a problem with the chav/knacker culture here. I know plenty cities which are far more dangerous at night, Dublin being a prime example, but one can't argue that we don't have a dangerous and anti-social city centre on weekend nights. We don't so much lack high profile gigs, as a decent venue to have them in, and no the Savoy isn't one, the sound in there is appauling. Plus I think what I was arguing about, and most of the others, wasn't an anti-cork rant, it was debating the actual direction of the Cork European Capital of Culture year.

Personally I think Cork's main attraction for me over other cities is it's size. It isn't overcrowded as Dublin's City Centre can get, yet it is large enough to give a person a wide choice when it comes to entertainment. That said it does severly lack in certain areas. A decent large gig/show venue is one, and some decent nightclubs would be nice too.. :p