If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

php user authentication question

• 25-03-2004 08:57PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭

ok where will i start!?
    i have an apache web server/mysql database and php/html (on red hat 9) scripts all working with a login and user registration working grand
    but i need to be able to grant users access to the internet. ie
    i also have a wireless access point(not set up yet) that will have wireless users logging in to this website and those who pay/login can then access the internet through a wired connection

are ye still with me
    what i want to know is what is the best way in php to impliment this.
    i know i CGI that you can can do a "echo remote_ADDR" that will output the ip address of the user to the screen an by using linux commands like 'arp' i can match the MAC address with the ipaddress and then deny allow on that basis, but is there a way to do it in php with sessions(im having a hard time with this at the mo only started php last week like!)
    or is there a quicker work around that ye intelligent folks know of that of

one smaller quick questions
    is it possible to redirect traffic to a website from one ip adderss to anotherie
    wireless card ip 192.168.x.x(LAN) to ethernet card 157.190.x.x (WAN/Internet)

hope i explined it ok if not just say and ill go into more detail :)
    cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BTBB

`arp ip_address`

Instead of using sessions, how about saving state in the db?

Also this is trivial to spoof.

Rerirect:
    yes. If they're on the same system though there is no need.
    You can a) use a 403(?) redirect or b) NAT.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

yea cheers for that will be very helpfull want to get as much of this done as i can in teh next week before my supervisor comes back from holiday!! :)

however i have one more question i cant get an update to work, think there is a problem with the privelages to the mysql server (if there is such a thing) because my INSERTS work grand but UPDATE wont fecking work for me at all. ill post up some small bit of code if ya want me to