Marriage Average Age?

• 03-03-2004 02:07PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭

Anyone know what the average age for a male to get married in ireland is these days? And for a female to get married?

Humphrey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭kopijack

From August 1, 1996 the minimum age at which a person, ordinarily resident in the State, may contract a marriage valid in Irish law is eighteen years of age; whether the marriage takes place in Ireland or elsewhere. This provision also applies where one party to the proposed marriage is ordinarily resident in the State and is over eighteen years of age, and the other party is under eighteen years of age. You must provide evidence of age, if requested to do so, by a registrar, or any person to whom an application is made for a license, certificate or the publication of banns, or the person who is to solemnise the marriage. Failure to produce evidence of age on request will result in refusal to proceed with the marriage.
    If the permission of the Circuit Family Court or High Court has not been obtained and either party to the marriage is under eighteen years of age, the Registrar or person solemnising the marriage must not proceed with the marriage ceremony. Any party to such marriage, or any Registrar or person solemnising a marriage, who is convicted of knowingly breaching the provisions regarding the minimum age for the marriage shall be liable to a fine of up to IR£500. The minimum age requirement applies unless a Court Exemption Order has been obtained by the parties to the marriage, see paragraph 1.3 below.

It is not necessary, per se, for persons giving written notification of their intention to marry to provide the registrar with any documentation (e.g. Birth Certificates etc.) concerning their age at the notification stage. Such documentation, if required, will be subsequently specifically requested of you by the Registrar concerned.
    There is no requirement to obtain parental consent for a marriage.

taken from the following website:

www.groireland.ie

hope that helps!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

I heard on the radio recently that the average age was 32 for a man and 28 for a woman, but I'm not sure how reliable that survey was or where it was based - probably in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

this occured to me yessterday. I was reading about that unfortunate Tyrone GAA player and that he had a fiancee, I didn't even react to the fact he was 24 and with ring on finger. Then it struck me I'm only a year younger. I'm too young to marry. When is it kosher?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,081 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Not sure, but 90% of people who are going to get married, are married by the age of 35. That's according to the CSO who - surprisingly - have a hugely detailed report on marital status but none on the average marrying age (the question isn't in the census).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭littlemiss

I think it depends on where you are in life and how mature you are. Some people don't want to settle down until they are in their thirties and they have their careers sorted but on the flip side I remember hearing that someone in my year in college was married and they would have been in their early twenties. I don't know if there is an average, just depends on when you are ready.

Originally posted by littlemiss
    I don't know if there is an average, just depends on when you are ready.

of course there's an average, there's always an average :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

im 19. going out with a girl 7 months now. were engaged since 5 weeks of going out. were also having a baby in 2 1/2 months. so she got pregnant 2 weeks into our relationship. but we only found out 2 weeks after we got engaged so its grand!!!

BUT SERIOUSLY 19, ENGAGED AND A DADDY IN 9 WEEKS???

GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!!

HELP!!!!

nah its not all that bad. no harm in being engaged... hopefully she wont want to get married too soon....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

For me its 33 (may 10th :p )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Humphrey

Congrat hobbes,

I got engaged Feb 14th - wedding something in 2005.

How much is the big day setting you back??

Humphrey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

For me its age 29 July 24th and the whole package including hooneymoon, I won't get much change out of €19,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Originally posted by Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe
    im 19. going out with a girl 7 months now. were engaged since 5 weeks of going out. were also having a baby in 2 1/2 months. so she got pregnant 2 weeks into our relationship. but we only found out 2 weeks after we got engaged so its grand!!!

BUT SERIOUSLY 19, ENGAGED AND A DADDY IN 9 WEEKS???

GIVE ME A BREAK!!!!!

HELP!!!!

nah its not all that bad. no harm in being engaged... hopefully she wont want to get married too soon....

your mad, really really mad. Why did you get engaged? Just coz she's up the duff doesnt mean you have to marry her straight away and to think if you had just spent €3...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

As far as I know, the average age is 28 for women and 30 for men.

I'm a bit below average.

21...and getting married in Sept. :cool:

Originally posted by Nuttzz
    your mad, really really mad. Why did you get engaged? Just coz she's up the duff doesnt mean you have to marry her straight away and to think if you had just spent €3...........

i dont think you understood my post dude.

we got engaged after 5 weeks going out. 2 weeks LATER we found out she was pregnant. so we were engaged before we knew we were going to have a baby.

which makes it true love!!

AWWWWWW....

YUCK PUEY...

nah its not all that bad! its actually great being engaged!

just the cost of weddings scares the fu*ck out of me.

btw ur right in it being about 19000 and not much change.
    are u having many at the wedding and to the meal? how many are u having to the afters? are u excited about it or is it more along the lines of go with everything she says? and are u having an input into the running and decisions of the wedding?

im not critising anything im just looking into a mans role in weddings and does the missus realy take charge over EVERYTHING????

any advice useful! cheers lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

In 1986 the average age was 27.8 years for men and 24.6 years for woman as far as I remember. Given that the average has gone up since I expect the current average is about 31 for males and 26 or 27 for females. It's a little rough but better than any answers you've had so far (except for bazman's)

And congrats to anyone who's getting married. Fools:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,800 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

My apologies Mike, Mea Culpa for that.

There is a growing trend of getting married abroad because of the cost of them here, sounds like a good idea, if they really want to come they will travel. Of course if you have to invite great grand uncle Bob and 3rd cousin Dave its a different case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

People are getting married a lot later than they used to. If you look at the reports of the Stardust fire, a lot of the teenagers who were killed or burned in it were married with a couple of kids.

In the 1960s and 1970s people used to laugh at the caricature of 30-year-old farmers' sons still being treated as "the lad" and not being married. It was the norm to marry in your early 20s.

Now all these toothless antiques of 30 and older are having children. What kind of fathers and mothers will they make at all? They'll be in their mid-forties when their children are teenagers!

Parents of 30-year-olds nowadays are looking at them and thinking "Hmm, when I was your age, you were 10!" It's gone past a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

Originally posted by luckat
    Now all these toothless antiques of 30 and older are having children. What kind of fathers and mothers will they make at all? They'll be in their mid-forties when their children are teenagers!

Parents of 30-year-olds nowadays are looking at them and thinking "Hmm, when I was your age, you were 10!" It's gone past a joke. [/B]

In fairness, I don't think 30 is too late to be having children. Being 50 when your kids are 20 is not a big deal. My dad's 50, and still an avid windsurfer. He's hardly old. He's still cooler than I am!

However, the practicalities of getting married, buying a house and having kids these days mean it's much harder to have kids young. It's all too expensive.

I'm getting married in may 2005 (I'll be 27). Hope to have sprog number 1 by the time I'm 28, and I consider myself to be ahead of most people my age in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

People are getting married a lot later than they used to. If you look at the reports of the Stardust fire, a lot of the teenagers who were killed or burned in it were married with a couple of kids.

In the 1960s and 1970s people used to laugh at the caricature of 30-year-old farmers' sons still being treated as "the lad" and not being married. It was the norm to marry in your early 20s.

Parents of 30-year-olds nowadays are looking at them and thinking "Hmm, when I was your age, you were 10!" It's gone past a joke.
    Don't be so naive. Up until very recently women were having kids well into their late 30's. My own mother had her first child at 24, but both my parents had just hit 50 by the time I was out of my teen years (I'm the youngest). Such as it was for a long long time. They start having kids when they can and stop having kids when they have enough.

If anything I would say parents in their 40s/50s are more competent than younger parents at raising children. Life experience and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Originally posted by seamus
    Don't be so naive. Up until very recently women were having kids well into their late 30's.

And many still do-it's not rare at all (at least with the people I know). :) I know a couple who've recently married and have had their first child in their mid forties and 20-30 years ago here marrying/having a first child at 35+ was not at all unusual. My parents had me (first child) at 41 and my grandmother had her youngest at 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Smurphy

If anything I would say parents in their 40s/50s are more competent than younger parents at raising children. Life experience and all that.

I couldn't agree more.
    My mother had my younger brother when she was 40.....she had the rest of us in her early twenties.
    When me and my older siblings were growing up my parents were very busy working and did not have much time for us.....although I can understand why.

Now my younger brother is 16, my parents are both retired and way more chilled out. They actually have time to spend with my younger brother.....he plays playstation games with my dad when he gets home from school.....he has great craic with them..

Parents in their 40/50's are a little more chilled out I think, and as Seamus said, they also have life experience behind them.

I will be 27 when I get married next year but I don't plan on having kids(if at all) until my late 30s........I feel it would not be right to have them now as I am too busy with my career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by littlemiss
    I don't know if there is an average,

:rolleyes: jessica simpson? is that you?

LOL :D her cover is blown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

""""""""""im 19. going out with a girl 7 months now. were engaged since 5 weeks of going out. were also having a baby in 2 1/2 months. so she got pregnant 2 weeks into our relationship. but we only found out 2 weeks after we got engaged so its grand!!!

BUT SERIOUSLY 19, ENGAGED AND A DADDY IN 9 WEEKS???"""""""""""""

the thoughts of it!!! OMG!!!:eek:

One-way ticket to Brazil !1

How is it even possible for this to happen to someone. Must be bull****! Has to be!

Engaged after 5 weeks lol lol lol

How could you even spend money on a ring after 5 weeks!!!

This guy is a complete lunatic !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Theres a guy i know in 5th year whos engaged, he's like 16

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

I wonder if there's a farmer-landless division here - if the landless lumpenproletariat of the cities' alleged middle classes are staying with the mammy or roosting in flats until early middle age, while farmers' kids get married and have kids young because they'll have a house built for them?

I suppose it's a good thing that the young today are so much more responsible than those of the 1960s and 1970s. In those days people didn't feel they had to have a house and goods before they had kids. They had the kids when they were young, and had the fun of kids while they were full of youthful exuberance.

But maybe the extended party that is today's extended adolescence has a part in it too? In the 20th century you didn't really expect to be still living the life of a wild-drinking youth when you were a settled man or woman of 25 or 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭sunbeam

I wonder if there's a farmer-landless division here - if the landless lumpenproletariat of the cities' alleged middle classes are staying with the mammy or roosting in flats until early middle age, while farmers' kids get married and have kids young because they'll have a house built for them?

I'm from a rural area. To generalise, of those people who did the Leaving around the same time as me (late 80's-early 90s) those who went to college and later lived away from home tended to get married about 6-10 years later than those who didn't, stayed at home and got jobs locally.

Most in the former category wanted a few years of freedom after an extended period in education before settling down. In addition it's hard to save for the still semi-obligatory large wedding, let alone a house as a young graduate renting in Dublin without the option to live at home for a few years.

my dad got married at 42
    my grandad at 51-his wife was 19, he died when she was 30, leaving her to raise 8 kids.
    That would have been ten, only she lost the twins, she was carrying, the year he died.

Originally posted by Mighty_Mouse
    """"""""""im 19. going out with a girl 7 months now. were engaged since 5 weeks of going out. were also having a baby in 2 1/2 months. so she got pregnant 2 weeks into our relationship. but we only found out 2 weeks after we got engaged so its grand!!!

BUT SERIOUSLY 19, ENGAGED AND A DADDY IN 9 WEEKS???"""""""""""""

the thoughts of it!!! OMG!!!:eek:

One-way ticket to Brazil !1

How is it even possible for this to happen to someone. Must be bull****! Has to be!

Engaged after 5 weeks lol lol lol

How could you even spend money on a ring after 5 weeks!!!

This guy is a complete lunatic !

it might sound odd but im dead seriuos... i am engaged after 5 weeks...
    i know its early but hey.. im happy and in love.