Football Championship 2026 (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭MacDanger

I have no love for the Dubs but I think they're right to be annoyed about this - it's not about McGuiness, it's about the GAA handling similar cases (same rule broken agruably to a lesser degree) in different ways and hiding behind the refs report to do so when the reality is that they could act if they really wanted to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

You may not have communicated your points very well on the thread, but those comments above are very true. If it was my county manager in Ger Brennan's position, I would be livid as a fan. That ban effectively threw Dublin to the dumpster. I wouldn't be surprised if they come up short against Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

You seem to be creating a certain narrative here yourself. Dubs = bad, Everyone else = hard done by. You already did so in a number of posts.

Yet when it pointed out to you regardless of where a person is from the rules are not being consistently applied. You resort to this "exasperated" type post. No actual thought on what the rules actually say and why the rules application is so inconsistent.

You seem incapable of standing back and looking at the rules as stated clearly in the rulebook and asking yourself are they being applied in a clear and consistent just manner?

In my view they are not. This is the question you have to ask yourself when looking the the rules. Not where the person in question is from etc.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,389 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The Dubs have been hamstrung by the GAA's inconsistent application of the rules, and Con's hamstring. https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2026/0528/1575803-boost-for-dublin-as-ocallaghan-named-to-start/

He is due to start v Louth. But the question is will he last the full 70 minutes? It will be interesting to see how Louth play the next day. They were devoid of energy and fight in that previous encounter in Portlaoise. It was very unlike them. I doubt they will be be as poor again.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,912 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Is look at it slightly differently.

Brennan's offense under rule (when I saw it live I said he'd be lucky to avoid the 12 week ban ) was the correct sentence for this offence. Full stop .

The non application of the rule on McGuinness case is a different story - it shouldn't absolve Brennan of his eegiting.

What is points to thigh is favouritism and non-fair application of the rules. Everyone can see it,everyone knows what's going on.

That it does is leave the junior club referee very open to managers having a 'little shove,nothing serious ' to opponent players now and thinking it's ok,that's a dangerous place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I’d worry for Con , is this rushing him back because of the Westmeath disaster ?

I’m also worried that we got Louth like Roscommon were they were uncharacteristicly off and I think part of it was that they were favourites. I don’t know if Dublin can play much better then the Louth game (granted Con wasn’t available) but we all know Louth definitely can raise a few levels.

Even at that , Louth had a great chance in second have to get a goal that would of opened up the game entirely.

I think Dublin will lose if Louth are on it (which I expect) and I think playing at croker will pile on the pressure. Dublins slow build up play is particularly ineffective when they are trailing and there’s no plan B from what I can see for this or our kickouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,234 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

If Con is good to go, between him and the scoring form of Costello and Small at the minute, they should have enough in their arsenal to make up for their deficiences elsewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭vid36

I agree, Dubs will win comfortably Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

ye had how manys yrs of it with gavin an yet still complain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

louth are a better team than westmeath and we saw what westmeath done to Dublin. Id expect it to be close either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

Many years of what ? Success ? What has that got to do with an disproportionately unfair decision going against Brennan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,176 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Tyrone dominant in this u20 final so far. Very good side and playing Kerry off the field, but long way to go yet.

Back in it a bit now. Kerry midfielder Boyle has got them back on his own.

10 in a row for Kerry if Im not mistaken to lead by 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,936 ✭✭✭enricoh

Tyrone at their usual dirt, good composure from Kerry lads not getting dragged in

Good game if a strange game.

Tyrone led 1.7 to 2 after 18 and were utterly superior everywhere.

Kerry won the rest of it 19 to 3.

Kerrys midfield excellent. 2 right prospects there. They ate kickouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭munster87

Easy win in the end after a slow start. Some great performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Westmeath and cavan gone to extra time. Westmeaths 3rd game in a row going to extra time so cavan should be favourites here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,213 ✭✭✭MFPM

Cavan flying here...6 up...As a Dublin fan really emphasises how bad they were last day out. Said it to a few Westmeath people the last few days that Cavan could do them....they laughed!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭poppers

Westmeath pummelled them in 2nd half of ET to win by 4.

As with the leinster final,I think this was a poor quality game. Great for WH, but both Cavan and WH will be popular choices for the other teams on Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Westernview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,965 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Cavan had a bad year so far and there wasn`t much confidence from their fans going into this game. Hard to know if Westmeath let them off the hook when they were well ahead in the first half thinking they had enough done, or a bit of a hangover from winning only their second ever Leinster, but any team should be wary of them. McHugh has them well organised and fit. They are not a team you would want to be going into the last 5 minutes against just two points up.

Cavan, although they showed that when they do decide to have a cut at it, they can be a decent side, but at this stage the would be probably the team everyone would want to meet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,248 ✭✭✭Dickie10

I think dublin will win tiday easy enough actually I think Louth are overrated they were blessed they got Meath in Leinster final last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭Feisar

Westmeath bandwagoner here. We should have had the Dubs and Cavan beaten but allowed both back into the game and I counted us lucky to get to extra time on both occasions. From what I can see they are very focused and progress driven, never stop playing football, the heads never drop. But for some reason when up a few points they don't seem to have the killer instinct when they smell blood.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,232 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Am I right in saying that there's only one live game on RTE this weekend? Thought there'd be 2 like last weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,507 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I see Andy Moran has dropped Aidan Oshea and the goalkeeper i forget his name. One of the heavers will be heaved?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭Willie Power

I feel the 2010 Louth team deserved a Leinster title more than this one. I know they've been to 3 Leinster finals etc but they are so up and down and inexplicably fall apart so many days.

In fairness to Westmeath already they're making a better fist of the All Ireland series than Louth last year.

"He might be an eejit, but he's our eejit"
    Willie Power

Was it not 1/4 last weekend as well?

This Leinster game on os low quality enough, Dublin look good at times but flattering to device a bit. Louth look a beaten docket.