No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,819 ✭✭✭✭893bet

Not relevant to my point. Poster stated 19euro for 2lb of lean mince.

This would be freely available for much less is my point. 9-12 euro for 5-10 percent mince.

No point being robbed in the supermarket aswell as letting the factory rob us.

Post edited by 893bet on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Jb1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭naughto

Is she still getting the hose off the milk man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭148multi

What is 5-10% mince

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Dupont

went looking in the neighbours shed one day for my jackhammer that I had left there when doing work. Should have shouted hello I suppose when walking through the yard. Found him jack hammering the wife in the corner of the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Howd you find it? I looked them up before as I saw them on the socials I might try some steaks some day but the steaks in the butchers i go too are very good too hes a farmer as well.

I have some of last week's shop left in reserve as the bank holiday meant I wasn't as strict but my 2.5kg of 80/20 mince cost me €34 today.

The fella working there ran straight out with the vac bags and went straight to the tray of mince im like clockwork arriving there on Fridays. The owner who id just pass in conversation usually was mad to know what i was eating along with it etc and was saying there's two fellas who use his other shop one big fella and one little fella abd he's interested in trying this way of eating himself. I gave him a podcast to listen to and told him if anybody hasnt an excuse to do its you!

Hes not there every week but It'll be interesting to see did he give it a go next time I see him.

Im down 20kg on this time last year and id love to drop another 20kg but ill get the next 10kg done first. After going at the mince and eggs for 3 weeks my weight loss stalled as I wasn't doing cardio for injury but was doing extra sessions doing fairly heavy lifting instead the weight stayed relatively similar but I put up an inch on my upper arm, my quad and a half inch on my calf which is fair going for 3 weeks.

Chat GPT reckons that to lose weight and keep strength and build muscle i should be eating 600g of 80/20 and 8 eggs daily. That starts next week when I get through the last bit of lean stuff I have left here

Better living everyone

Google supermarket mince vs farmer/butcher mince and tell me which one you'd choose

Better living everyone

Each to their own. It’s mince, not exactly fine dining.

Each to their own exactly but going on the picture attached i know what ill pick. Its worth looking up EV Slack in Doncaster for his comparisons of his produce and the supermarkets thats an eye opener.

Dr Shawn Baker reckons eating the supermarket mince is still a lot better than earing the ultra processed standard western diet of today if that's all your budget allows.

Re the cost I looked in supervalu recently just for pig iron and there quality mince was €5.85 for 385g a bit of quick maths equates to €6.89/lb whereas I get it for €6/lb in the butcher and i know that its only came from a handful of cattle and not the cleanings off a factory floor.

Better living everyone

grocery-store-vs-farmer-butcher-ground-beef-v0-0chielo7r7ie1.jpeg

Photo i meant to attach to the above

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,361 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What way do you cook the mince?

fry it witb a small bit of butter scramble the eggs in the pan afterwards throw the eggs on top sprinkle with celtic sea salt and thats all there is to it.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,062 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

That’s great progress, 20kg loss. Takes dedication.

I am not sure which is which in that picture. Neither look like traditional Irish packed? From super market or from butcher. No idea where you have pulled that picture from.

Top one says “lean” but is at least 14 percent if not more fat.

EV slack is a butcher…..in a shocker he is promoting butcher produce….

Not sure what difference it makes if the mince comes from one cow or multiple cows. It’s mince. It’s either lean or fat. That’s about it.

The only potential difference I think is aging. Butchers may be from better aged meat. But that’s a maybe. And for the most part for mince won’t matter too much as it is usually smothered in a sauce.

I cook a lot and buy a lot of meat (mostly on Aldi or Lldl). And from what I see the difference between supermarket and butchers is minimal these days. Especially if you are buying the better quality cuts from the supermarket.

See below 3 percent lean mince for 10.60 for the 2lb. I would use this a lot, had it yesterday.

IMG_2762.png

Key to that tasting good if not dressing with a sauce is how you cooked it. Small batches. Dont over fill, Smoking hot pan, don’t move it around for a few minutes, then turn it. Good video below. Will take more time but will be twice as taste if you dump the lb and a half in at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

Sher you could never stick that for the long term, eight eggs a day. It's a few hens, you should be buying.

By the way, was it you that changed from milking last year. How do you find it, spare time ect.

Haven't time to be minding hens and the ballon free range or organic ones ar decent enough.

I was never milking in my own right to give it up. Last time I was working on a dairy farm was full time was back in 2019/2020 between NW Tasmania and finishing on a farm in South Australia near a spot called Mount Gambier for a fella from Meath. Came home to do a trade and at that since just do a very very small bit when required at home on the auld lads beef farm.

When I was commuting to Dublin everyday during my apprenticeship I was thinking why the **** did I ever come home to this working and living out on the farms out there was a lot more appealing. Working reasonably local and its a good number now and would find it hard to go back to it.

Just when I got my trade papers I was ringing FRS for a job on a dairy farm as I couldn't stick the commuting anymore but then I got in on this job.

Definitly dont know myself with the free time not commuting now.

Better living everyone

Youngest turned 18 today. No kids in the house anymore.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,958 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Your Job is officially done.......even though it isnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭Austinbrick

True

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭eastie17

“out the door at 24” is the latest craic they say with college and them nearly all doing masters. 2 out of 4 off the books here, didn’t quiet take till 24, both up in Dublin with good jobs but at least they’re in the country I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,520 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Most of butcher shops are not killing there own beef nowadays and buying is quarters or mostly vac packed cuts. As for the factory using the cleanings off the floor that’s not correct due to hygiene standards observed. In the picture of the types one is In dollars price.

A man came to my yard yesterday evening, a foreigner. He said he wanted to ask me a few questions. His wife is a caterer and would we sell her a cow......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,062 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We’re they suggesting legit like through a butcher or something shady??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,195 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I've a holstein cow not in calf. Dried off since start Dec. She's been out on grass since mid March with the heifers. She's mud fat atm with all the fattening on grass only. She should be pure yellow inside with the grass.

I'm debating whether to get her killed for our own consumption. The one's in North Spain are seemingly mad for this exact type beef and finished like this. Chefs say it has a good taste.

I've a monty x heifer not in calf that I could finish in the exact same way over the next few months.

I'm in multiple minds whether to go with the cow now or the heifer later or to bother getting them killed for myself at all. And a full beast would probably be too much for me.

Chatgpt says the cow on that spring rich green grass should be very high in carotene and nearly bring the blind into sight.