Donald Trump the Megathread part II - Mod Warning updated in OP 12/2/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I never realised Wahlberg was such a massive gobshite. Is everyone in the 1% a gobshite or is it just the .1% of the 1%?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,309 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

It gets worse. He apparently once beat a homeless man nearly to death.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,921 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

No country has ever reached a state of Communism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

With the absolute shambles of this administration, it’s no wonder Iran are just taking the piss out of them.

They have more cards than America know, and the pressure is really beginning to show for Trump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,164 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

And the Chinese went from red to green pretty damn quickly.

Perhaps.

But just wait and see what happens in the next Presidential election in the States. Republican voters will still vote Republican even after they've wrecked the place and made everyone's lives, including millions of their own voters, worse off than they were previously.

There will always be a portion of the public that will tolerate things and actively vote against their best interests because they think that some enemy (that doesn't even exist) is going to get it worse than themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,863 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

The stupid Americans have lost their moral authority long ago but now have lost their military authority. All future enemies know that if they use guerilla tactics to impact their weak point - the bond/stock market - the Americans will quickly fold.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

Indeed.

Whatever China is, it certainly isn't "communist".

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

What has been clear for quite some time is that as massive and well equipped as the US military is, they are utterly lost in what modern warfare has become.

In a stand-up head to head fight , they beat all comers without breaking a sweat. But the last time there was anything like that was when the tanks rolled into Kuwait in Desert Storm.

But modern warfare isn't that , it's asymmetrical small unit actions , sabotage etc. etc. and more recently it's high volume low cost drones.

An enemy can launch 500 drones at a target for the cost of a handful of the missiles the US have built to defend themselves.

A few drones or even a couple of lads on the backs of jet-skis with RPGs can pretty effectively close the Strait of Hormuz for all practical purposes

Iran can drag this out pretty much indefinitely and everyone knows it it , except for the US it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,255 ✭✭✭eire4

So very true from governments on down to us as individuals we have to move away from using US products and services. That will take time of course especially at international level but moving on from the US is the way forward IMHO and even at a personal level boycotting US products and services is a good step we can all take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,145 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

having been to China, and now living in a city with large amounts of wealthy Chinese living here, if that’s communism, sign me the **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Given that every utterance from that egomaniacal, tangerine zeppelin starts with "I…" he probably thinks he was the inspiration for the I-phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

hope it’s true. 😋

IMG_2157.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,311 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

https://www.newsweek.com/donald-trump-nuclear-codes-11857229

Unverified claims circulating online allege that President Donald Trump attempted to "use nuclear codes" during a meeting on the war with Iran, but there is no evidence to support the allegation and no confirmation from U.S. officials.

The claim originates from comments made by former CIA officer Larry Johnson during an appearance on Judging Freedom, a podcast and YouTube talk show hosted by former Fox News legal analyst Andrew Napolitano. Johnson did not provide evidence, did not identify any sources for his account and did not clarify what he meant by “nuclear codes.” Newsweek has found no independent corroboration for the claim.

What Larry Johnson Said

During the April 20 episode of Judging Freedom, Johnson claimed that an emergency White House meeting took place on Saturday night amid escalating tensions with Iran.

“One report coming out of that meeting at the White House is that Trump wanted to use the nuclear, so‑called, use the nuclear codes, and General Dan Caine stood up and said 'no," Johnson said. He described the exchange as “apparently quite a blowup.”

Johnson did not name his source, explain how the information was obtained, or provide any details about what actions Trump was alleged to have taken. He did not clarify whether he was referring to a nuclear strike, a briefing, or any formal command process.

Johnson also cited images he said showed Caine, who is chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, leaving the meeting “with his head down." Later in the episode Napolitano shows footage of the general walking outside on the White House grounds with his head down. 

Newsweek has not been able to independently verify when the footage was taken or whether it is connected to the alleged incident.

What We Know and Don’t Know

There is no public evidence that Trump attempted to initiate a nuclear strike or access nuclear launch authority. Newsweek has reached out to the White House and the Pentagon for comment outside normal working hours.

Johnson used the phrase “nuclear codes” colloquially and did not describe how U.S. nuclear command-and-control procedures function. Under established protocol, the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff does not have unilateral authority to block a presidential nuclear order.

No credible news organization has independently reported that Trump sought to access nuclear launch authority or that such an exchange occurred.

The Context

The claim emerged amid heightened tensions following U.S. and Israeli military operations against Iran earlier this year. A ceasefire between the U.S. and Iran is due to expire this week, and Trump has said extending it is “highly unlikely.”

Earlier this month, Trump posted on Truth Social that “a whole civilization will die tonight,” a remark that drew widespread attention but did not reference nuclear weapons. No U.S. officials or verified reporting have indicated that nuclear weapons are under consideration.

Who Is Larry Johnson?

Johnson is a former CIA officer who later served as deputy director of the U.S. State Department’s Office of Counterterrorism from 1989 to 1993. He no longer holds any government position and was speaking in a personal capacity.

LOL

Well, it kinda depends where in China you go. Step outside the big cities into some of the poorer provinces and things aren't so great looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭SnazzyPig

I actually think it's more important than ever that the Democrats stand up for their values. 

What values?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,463 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Not dissimilar to places like Appalachia etc. in the US.

I remember a few years back driving from Austin to Houston in Texas and whilst not quite "shocked" I was definitely more than a little surprised at the number of incredibly run-down , desolate looking towns you pass through on the road - And these are places right on the main North/South artery through the State where you'd think there'd be opportunities.. Who knows what the places "off the beaten track" are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Economics101

What a daft comment. For a start just Google the recent Progressive meeting in Barcelona (the one which President Connolly went to) and look at the speeches made by Gov Waltz and Senator Chris Murphy. Just a small example of so many Democratic politicians who are fearless and trenchant in their defence of freedom, democracy and the interests of ordinary working people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭BettyS

JD Vance has been grounded and it is unclear if he will travel to Pakistan for peace talks. Trump looks increasingly to the bombing option

Oh absolutely.

There are places in the US that would curl your toes they're so run down. Entire towns that look like they never recovered from the 1929 crash, never mind the 2008 one. Those rustbelt areas that Trump promised so much to and delivered so little.

Will they learn though?

Will they fuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,562 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

It does appear that a "Groundhog Day" situation exists on the movement of JD to Pakistan which lessens Trump's manoeuvering on the Hormuz front and increased verbal output. Thing is: is it solely down to JD refusing to be nearest the bus door or is he edging Trump closer to that door, with a bit of silent help from some on Trump's team?

There were reports today that Trump was bandying about nuclear codes at talks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭somenergy

Felon phone call in to cnbc b4 markets opened he rambled was not asked anything about him drunken admin not fact checked allowed lie after lie it was lapped up anchor maga joe tuned off at the stolen election 2020 point

Why have broadcaster capitulated so much lost there rights 2 this nutjob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,640 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I'd disagree on that. Any military will struggle when the politics behind a conflict are disconnected and in disarray. The military did fine in the forever wars, but it can't magic up a political solution to a conflict. Iran is an example of a President forcing a conflict over the objections of his military advisors. They weren't given adequate lead time to prepare for conflict and we're all suffering the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,422 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I think you actually prove the point. The military can only accomplish so much. They are great at blowing things and killing people. But they are incapable of building peace.

And yet time and again US POTUS believe that with enough firepower they will break that cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭aero2k

Jaysus, would you want to be looked after by the cheapest nurse - at least it's not the surgeons....…yet.

Nurses are key to patient care. A good nurse is irreplaceable and can make all the difference in the patient care. I would not want a Mr Price nurse looking after any of my family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,950 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

1000039878.jpg

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

I saw on YouTube that someone has put "is he dead yet?" stickers on lampposts in DC and I love how everyone just knows who "he" is referring to.

It reminded me of a post that was doing the rounds on BlueSky a few months ago which said "Should I ask my husband to wake me if it happens while I'm asleep" with no other context and everyone knew what she was referring to. I think there will be spontaneous street parties when it happens.