The Healy Raes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Michael knew he would wasn’t able to do a thing for his constituency over the global oil price. Rather than tell them the truth, he bailed. Back to shouting at the government without having to be responsible for anything.
    Few months in the job is all he lasted.
    Same as the rest of the opposition, they talk about everything the government should do but it’s a different story when you’re the other side of the desk

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭Field east

IMO MHR did not resign because of the slowness of gov to react/ gov not listening , etc. he left because of the job. It was either too much for him , interfered with his private work, got bored , had nothing substantial to contribute to his brief, etc, etc, et. He tried to highlight his departure by ‘baying for MM blood’ , gov incompetence , etc. he could HAVE EQUALLY stayed on and find a DIFFERENT compilation of words to justify same.
    I think he wanted out and was waiting for the opportunity to do so

You enter gov to act on behalf of the nation and NOT on behalf of Kerry as in his case

He picked a relatively minor issue when compared to all the other issues out there and most definately all the other issues that are going to crop up as a result of the various wars going on and in times of great uncertainty.

A question for MHr . How come that Ireland seems to score VERY HIGHLY on a lot of the quality of life parameters and how come , if the gov/MM is incompetent- slow to address issues , etc, - that all of the critical national figs are so healthy even when compared to all the first world countries eg employment levels, inflation, borrowing cost, rated very highly by the WB/IMF , etc, etc, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I see a yep there, seems he was put under pressure and couldn’t handle it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,827 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I think it was in Gavan Reilly's book that it was mentioned that a lot of what TDs can do is contact certain organisations (passport office/etc) via a different line, which means it should kick somebody in the office into gear to do whatever is being asked because the request is coming from a TD rather than Joe Public. They don't have any power per se to actually get these bodies to do anything, but it's just the perception that a TD querying it makes things move quicker.

And I guess all TDs could spend their time doing the exact same thing as the Healy-Rae's do, but they concentrate on bigger ticket items like laws and governing and the like.

So the Healy-Raes look after the selfish needs of their constituents and don't worry themselves with the wider political picture. If their voters are happy to have essentially zero say in what actually happens with the law of the land, so be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,007 ✭✭✭✭kippy

All politics is local. If you do enough for the people that vote for you they will continue to vote for you. If your reputation is you will do your best on a individual for your constituent even if you haven't used or don't need their help you are still likely to vote for them as you never know when you will.

While many don't agree with this -TDs should have national responsibility, we have enough county councilors and county civil servants to have a county focus but this is the reality we live in.

There's why this family continue to get in.

In the very least they do get things down in and for their county unless some of the other useless gombeens in here for decades in Galway but with very little to show from it, who are most likely retiring prior to the next election anyway on their superfat pensions. I don't know how they've been voted in with out fail as they do very little locally never mind nationally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,962 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

I know several people from Kerry and they all say the same thing. If you want something done, you contact the Healy Raes.

They're basically a soft mafia outfit and they have their fingers in a lot of pies, all the while donning a scally cap culchie facade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,417 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It will be interesting to see if MHR ever goes back into a role as Junior Minister at National Level again. When you think of it at a local level "the people of Kerry" it doesn't really give him any extra clout. Just extra work as you say. Michael Healy Rae's main goal is to not only get elected but keep getting elected. And I assume get his younger generations relatives elected at some time in the future to carry on that legacy.

It is much easier to do that at constituency level instead of national level. And what I think is very impressive from MHR he even manages to get his gombeen brother Danny elected, not only himself. Which to me is an extremely impressive feat.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭midlander12

Michael knew he would wasn’t able to do a thing for his constituency over the global oil price. Rather than tell them the truth, he bailed. Back to shouting at the government without having to be responsible for anything.

That's it in a nutshell, plus as someone else pointed he was probably looking for an excuse, given the amount of time it was taking him away from his many other interests. The most objectionable bit for me is that those shouting loudest, including MHR. are the biggest Trump fans going and not one of them has even mentioned what actually caused this fuel price crisis (and probably shortage in the near future).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Alfaguy

Jackie Healy Rae came to me in the garda station once with a passport form to sign for another guy. No sign of the passport applicant though. When I asked why he was not present I was told he was in america. Jackie was shown the door and told to follow the proper procedures. So things don't always work out for them.

The Healey Rae's are really cleaning up providing accommodation for Ukraine refugee's too. The bottom line for them is money - for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,883 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

On the first bit I imagine he missed the attention the soapbox gave him. He was being forgotten about in government and that wouldn't suit the ego at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,662 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Plenty of next-gen Healys-Rae in office already. Jackie Jr. is turning out to be a piece of work too.

'

Jackie Healy Rae loses appeal, found guilty of assault and judge rules he lied to gardaí

'

(https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/xx2swo/jackie_healy_rae_loses_appeal_found_guilty_of/)

From the kerry county council page:

image.png

and

image.png

and

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,417 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

The real test will be can MHR make the younger generation into TD's no matter what type of person they are or their level of competence etc.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,662 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

He got Danny in, as far as I can tell that lad can barely walk upright.

would it be a case of ‘ if you have a REPUTATION for getting up early you can stay in bed all day”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

"yeah but he got Mary's medical card sorted, sort of stuff."

Except he didn't. She was either entitled to the card, and would have got it anyway. Or she wasn't entitled to one. In which case, getting her one is corruption.

I've no doubt he sent a letter. And possibly there are some civil and/or public servants who might be swayed by a letter from a TD. Most of them will go "And? I've 40 other applications to get through today…" and show no fear or favour. As is right and proper.

Bribing people with what they're already entitled to and have paid for… but it gets them votes.

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

It takes 3 to 4 days to get a passport, assuming all is in order. The passport office is literally one of the most efficient organisations in the country. "But sure MHR made a phonecall and I got my passport the same week!" - yeah, no ****, Sherlock!

===
    boards.ie default cookie settings now include "legitimate interest" for >200 companies, unless you specifically opted out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,894 ✭✭✭✭elperello

They have some sort of hotline to the passport office.

I was congratulating a newly elected Senator and they told me "I really don't have any power but if you're ever stuck for a passport in a hurry I can help".

I imagine it's often frustration and Mary throws her hands up at the very first bump and wants someone else to do the boring work.

Never worked civil service but I have had years of people getting angry at me over their own stupidity.

They had some sort of "temporary hotline" just after Covid, when air travel opened back up, that didn't actually do anything - but sure.

It comes as the Department of Foreign Affairs said an "elected representative temporary helpline" for TDs "does not fast track the processing of an application".

~ https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2022/0202/1277275-ireland-passports/

Electing people to the Dáil so they can get me a passport or a medical card in exactly the same time I could have got one myself, just with a middle-man now, does not seem to me to be the best use of representative democracy.

===

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,894 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Sometimes it can be literacy issues.

Unfortunately it was common enough for people to slip through the system in the past.

Not enough of them are voting. Not anywhere near enough to elect a Healy or O'Dea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Johnny looks like he could be the next Danny……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 249 ✭✭Tippman24

A few years ago in North Tipp, an issue arose with a certain TD (non party)posting a letter to a person congratulting him/her on their successful application for inclusion in some local government scheme. The person had never gone near the TD at any stage of the application process for assistance. On receipt of the TDs letter the applicant highlighted it in the local press and the County Council. Tipp Count Council conducted a review of the matter and discovered that one of their staff was providing information on the successful applicants to said TDs Office. Needless to say that was the end of the letters from the Td with his congratulations.n

When i was applying on my mother's behalf for inclusion in the Nursing Home assisance about 15 years ago, everybody, including my own family, told me the only way to get it was through said TD. I sent in the form, without anything from the Td, and got her included. My sister said afterwards i suppose if you are entitled to something, you dont have to get it through a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭techman1

He will never be trusted again for his vote by any government and will definitely never be any where near a junior ministry again. He has now peaked and its now downhill from here on.

Barry Heneghan another independent TD was asked today about his support for the government and he was unquestioning about continuing his support, he said "My word is my bond", once he made a deal he wasn't going to back away from it when the going got tough unlike MHR. Even Jackie Healy Rae maintained his support for the government throughout the worst of financial crises and I think he got some personal abuse as a result. If you don't have your word you have nothing.

When the dust settles on all this MHR will be a very diminished figure, the fact that he hadn't even got the grace to inform Michael Martin or Simon Harris that he was going to vote with SF says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

Yes, young Jackie is full of himself and MHR is keeping him close, he'll break away some night, go on the lash with his "mates" and blow it, would think the Gardai keeping an eye on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭lmk123

he was canvassing not far away from me sometime after that news going public, an elderly woman said to him “aren’t you the lad that was in trouble for fighting”, his response “I was and if you vote for me I’ll fight for you too”

I would be worried for his health if he DIMINISHES any further?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Except he didn't. She was either entitled to the card, and would have got it anyway.

Well, that isn't true. Discretionary Medical Cards, normally for serious or on going illness usually come down to a judgement call or quite frequently discretion not being applied properly.

That's when the likes of MHR or to be fair numerous other TDs will intervene on their behalf.

And trust me, if someone with cancer was refused a medical card on some arbitrary income threshold and gets one because of a TDs intervention, that TD has the family vote for a generation at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭csirl

I dont think thats true. Even for discretionaryentitlements there are clear guidelines when they do or dont apply. A TD cant influence this and may be a hinderance as it gives the impression that someone is trying to get something they arent entitled to.