Fuel Protest (Read MOD NOTE on first post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

And now we have the Media Minister threatening to send Comissiun na Mean to investigate journalists for covering the protests in a manner that he doesn’t like.

I don't think this is getting the coverage it deserves. It is beyond insidious and straight out the Orban handbook, who I thought we just got rid of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭yagan

It's because previously anytime farmers and hauliers held a protest they usually went home, so FFG always treated them with kid gloves.

Then on the other hand they're too scared to face down the social media giants with EU headquaters in Ireland, but if they don't there's no other way to rewin their grassroots from the AI slop peddling far right interlopers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

load of boy racers shut down the quay in New Ross yesterday. Well, the guards closed the road to keep anymore coming in, I think.

Not sure what the point of the protest was tbh.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Absolutely. You can see the level of personal abuse levelled at the protesters throughout this thread.

Thing is, if all of those people protesting downed tools tomorrow the country would be on its knees in under a week.

Road protests would be the least of the publics worry then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Didnt they down tools for weeks just recently 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Absolutely it should be getting more coverage. This is the same party that called SF's pledge to monitor media balance in relation to Gaza 'chilling' during the last GE.

Patrick O'Donovan is a fool. Far too many times he's gone off on a solo run and made himself, and his party, look like idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,020 ✭✭✭almostover

I'm going to challenge this again because contractors and hauliers don't have a monopoly on running the country. Do tell me what you think would happen if other sectors of society / economy downed tools and blockaded fuel supplies coming into the country?

If doctors and nurses downed tools would the country not be 'on its knees'?

Or teachers?

Or the Gardaí?

Or the waste collection workers?

Or people working in the energy industry?

Or people working in retail?

What is it about contractors and hauliers that makes them so special?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 56,324 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

he really does come across like the Father Dougal of this government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭creedp

Not the first time they issued threats to close down motorways with big machinery. Back in 2019 was a dry run. Sometimes you need to learn from past mistakes

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/protesting-farmers-vow-to-shut-down-dublin-city-and-block-m50-1.4095520

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

The leadership of the protesters, or at least the useful idiots presented as the leaders, are fairly awful representatives of this dispute but there's no need to paint all these people with the one brush.

I come from a rural area and would know lots of men who make their living driving machines be it agriculture, forestry, construction, transport etc.

Take a regular agricultural contractor with a silage crew; mower, harvester, 4 tractor and trailers, loader for pit plus support vehicle.

Middle of the road tractors working 20hrs per day will burn 250l, many burn more. Very conservative estimate for peak season of 2000L per day or 14000L per week.

Even the cash flow effect of increased Vat from increased fuel prices is very very significant.

Tractors are going to cost between 100-200k.

Run the numbers on repayments and then factor in the huge variance in busy slack periods over the year and you get an idea of that source of stress.

Then go collect of farmers. That's never quick and modern dairy men will often pay you monthly for maybe six months.

These protesters, certainly in agriculture and haulage sectors work on very tight margins and extreme stress.

We all benefit from their work in terms of food prices.

Prior to any fuel crisis I would have wondered why do they bother. It's often driven by a love of machines.

For example I know a man with a good job in a pharma technical role; good work conditions, pay pensions etc. He took 3 weeks off every early summer to work with a silage crew. Doesn't say much for corporate culture.

Who took a career break to drive machines in USA.

That is the type for the most part in the recent protests. They are not all cnuts lik leaders.

They overstepped the mark, in particular with refinery and fuel infrastructure, but we could all do being a bit calmer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,531 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

Because they’re self employed and they see the rest of us as PAYE monkeys. They see themselves as the only ones doing ‘real’ work.
    Grew up around these types and met enough of them to know their attitudes.

If you want to shut a country down, target the payments system. We’ve seen the havoc a visa outage of a few hours has done. Cloud strike, Ulster Bank outage etc etc. hacks and IT failures are what cause widespread and instant havoc.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,050 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

The irony of course is that the very contractors & hauliers standing shoulder to shoulder committing crimes last week have been undercutting the hell out of each other to gain work for many years.

Why would a business take on a fixed price contract when one of the highest overheads is a variable cost?

Its been a race to the bottom for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

They are not the only ones keeping the country going , they just think they are

anything to say about the level of abuse the guards got when they were doing the job they are paid to do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭pah

Threw a few questions at Gemini earlier for some figures and feedback to try and get my head around the whole thing. I think this is accurate and based on this I think further protests are unwarranted. With the Govt taking less now than 6 weeks ago in taxes but all of us paying more, how can we keep heaping blame on them, given that 6 weeks go there was no grumbling about fuel prices?

I will say they were slow to move and should have been more proactive, but they are a generally useless shower so….. 🤷‍♂️

This is all based on diesel at €1.74 6 weeks ago VS Diesel at €2.14 recently with an assumed 10c drop from the excise cut to calculate at €2.04 today.

Based on our analysis of the fuel crisis in Ireland over the last six weeks, the situation has shifted from a stable market to a high-volatility environment driven by global supply shocks.

While the "sticker price" at the pump has risen by 30c (after today's 10c excise cut), the impact varies significantly depending on whether you are a private motorist or a commercial operator.

1. The Cost Reality: Who is paying what?

The 40c surge in the market price of diesel has been partially absorbed for businesses by increased government rebates and the natural "buffer" of VAT reclaims.

Net Cost per Litre (What you actually pay)

User Category

6 Weeks Ago (~€1.74)

Today (~€2.04)

Actual Net Increase

Joe Public

€1.74

€2.04

+30c

Small Business

€1.41

€1.66

+25c

Professional Haulier

€1.34

€1.54

+20c

2. The Government's Take: Windfall or Loss?

A central point of the current debate is whether the state is "profiteering." The data shows that while the government gained a VAT windfall when prices peaked, today’s 10c excise cut means they are now taking less tax per litre than they were six weeks ago.

Government Net Revenue per Litre

User Category

6 Weeks Ago

Today

State's Position

Joe Public

€1.06

€1.03

-3c

Small Business

73.5c

64.9c

-8.6c

Professional Haulier

66.0c

52.9c

-13.1c

3. Key Findings & Conclusions

• Market vs. Tax: The current crisis is almost entirely driven by a 33c increase in the "naked" cost of fuel (oil/refining). The government has actually reduced its tax take across all categories to try and dampen the blow.
    • The Haulage Safety Net: Because hauliers can reclaim VAT and a newly increased Diesel Rebate (12c), the government now collects only 52.9c in tax from them—the lowest net take in recent history.
    • The Cash Flow Trap: Even though businesses get tax back, they must pay the full €2.04 upfront. This creates a massive cash-flow burden that threatens the existence of firms with small cash reserves.
    • Joe Public's Burden: Private motorists are the most exposed. They have no rebate or reclaim system, meaning they are absorbing the full 30c increase directly from their disposable income.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,749 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I wonder how those people who were told a few months back was no more money for them due to budget prudence feel now. Would the lad with the 500,000 tax bill show solidarity towards people caring for those with disabilities if they went out on a blockade this summer that impeded his work. They can tell him they are doing for the people of Ireland too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,450 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭celt262

I would love to see Duffys plant blocked into a field in peak silage season for a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

Decisions such as the Children's Hospital are the bike shed are not made by one person at one point in time. If you believe that and assign blame accordingly as you are doing, you clearly don't understand how government and the public service work.

There are a lot of people to blame for the bike shed - every political party represented on the Oireachtas committee that recommended it, especially the particular politicians involved - and there are an awful lot of people to blame for the Children's Hospital, including those responsible for procurement rules, as well as the contractor appointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭1641

Whether the Minister for Justice's intervention was wise or not is one thing. But it was not in response to "protests". In was in response to blockades that were not only seriously interfering with ordinary people in their daily life but also a calculated attempt to paralyse the whole economy and vital civic functioning. It was sabotage and blackmail.

These guys don't work with their hands. They drive trucks and tractors, no particular skill required in that. They are not highly skilled like carpenters, bricklayers, electricians etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭creedp

Does this only apply when a fcuk up results or is it also inappropriate for Govt/individual Ministers to claim credit for the odd positive outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Ah sure that's fine so. Let's have another 18 delays to the opening date of the Children's Hospital and throw another couple of billion at it. Nobody is accountable, it's grand. FFG are great. Harris won't even speak about it.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

Yes, it also applies to positive outcomes. Look at projects like the Luas, the politicians who cut the ribbons opening it weren't the ones who made the original decision to build it. They weren't the public servants who worked on the planning application, the engineers and construction workers who built it, etc.

We are too quick to assign blame and claim credit for those who are in the news at a particular point in time. People must be judged on the decisions they made at a particular point in time based on the knowledge they had at that particular point in time.

Arguably, the worst decision on the Children's Hospital was Varadkar's decision to rule out Blanchardstown because he didn't want to be seen as promoting his own constituency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,450 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

In fairness, it's not that simple. I grew up farming and spent my childhood doing farm work. It might look like simple driving but there's more to it than that, as with any job. I remember my Dad, a man who spent his whole life in farming, telecoms and construction talking once about how operating a digger was something only a small amount of people could do. It's something we hired out a few times and it's obvious why if you're a farmer.

That said, the real men were working. They don't have time to sit idling on O'Connell Street while posting drivel on social media.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

I didn't say nobody is accountable, but it is lazy to point the finger of blame in one direction at one point in time for what happened. As I say elsewhere, one of the worst political decisions in relation to the hospital was made by Varadkar who ruled out Blanchardstown. But there is an awful lot of blame to go around, to the civil servants in DPER, to the public servants on the Board, to the executives of the HSE, to BAM, to the original architects whose design was flawed, to so many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭George White

I remember him talking about Garrett Fitzgerald, the greatest leader FG ever had (certainly the only one I felt FF members gave some respect to), someone you'd think he'd idolise, and the way he talked about him, 'the man with the grey hair', was akin to that bit of that Jack Charlton tribute show where they have Father Ted and Dougal come on, and Dougal's talking about Charlton thinking he is John West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭aidanodr

I wonder will there be implications INSURANCE wise for many of these blockade protesters who are using there "Work Vehicles" during these protests? Would this usage type be included in the insurance contract?? In many cases doing unlawful things perhaps??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭1641

I think you aware actually well aware that that is nonsense. The involvement of the army reflects both the inadequate numbers in the Gardai and its history as a civic police force. Most european countries have either separate police forces or special divisions within the regular police command for situations like occurred last week. These can provide reinforcements for mass protest situations and securing vital infrastructure. Watch the response of the Gendarmarie in France for instance (whatever shade of administration is in power). I agree that we have to develop the specialist policing capacity so as not to require the back-up of the army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭amacca

I don't know but I doubt it....now if anything happened to the machines while involved and they made a subsequent claim.....then the fun could start....

I'd be surprised if the Ins companies wouldn't dispute paying compensation in that instance....but I doubt they'd be voiding contracts/upping premiums if something didn't occur during the proceedings of last week

Then again ... they are insurance companies.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,942 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Yes yes, lessons will be learned etc etc.

These disaster projects have also meant that the FFG governments have been loathe to start any other major infrastructure projects over the past 10+ years which means we are struggling across the board (transport, health facilities, grid etc etc).

The last offshore wind project was built in 2004. Delays or reluctance on all other projects due to bureaucracy and planning. Offshore wind could be an amazing resource for Ireland.

The do-nothing government will do exactly that.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?