Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Not necessarily. The invocation of seeking asylum means that they aren’t committing an offence, and they aren’t criminals.

If someone arrives without proper documentation, and isn’t seeking to claim asylum, depending upon how they arrived here, they’re not criminals either.

This isn’t nitpicking -

Stephen Kirwan, a solicitor with KOD Lyons specialising in immigration and asylum, said it is a complex area of law. He said that the Geneva Convention on the Status of Refugees does not require asylum seekers to have travel documentation when presenting at a border.

https://kodlyons.ie/just-one-prosecution-in-four-years-for-failing-to-produce-passport-on-arrival-in-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,240 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

If you or I travelled without a passport, we wouldn't get much sympathy.

Yet the law doesn't seem to apply in the same way to these travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,240 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Where do I start?

The main negative is the massive, massive costs imposed on taxpayers by:

(1) non-working EU citizens: welfare, housing, health, education

(2) UKR refugees: welfare, housing, health, education

(3) bogus asylum-seekers: Direct Provision, etc. = €122,000 per claim, and that excludes public spending after the claim

These direct costs run into billions upon billions of euro.

After these direct costs, then there are indirect costs:

(1) increased demand on accomm, pushing up rents

(2) using tourist accomm, thus reducing supply, and increasing prices for tourists

(3) increasing demand for healthcare services

etc., etc.

The law applies to them in exactly the same manner it would apply to us, if we were in their position. How much sympathy do you need? Should we test it?

(I’m keeping my passport card between my butt cheeks, just in case you’re right and we’re getting no sympathy whatsoever from some Lugs Brannigan type who decides to take it upon himself that we ought to be taught some manners 😒)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,849 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

no, my main point was these lads seem to have nothing to do all day except post from morning until the middle of the night and post at length while quoting links that take ages to read. They regularly play devils advocate’s, to generate discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,764 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭enricoh

E100 euro a night now to accommodate each asylum seeker. Fleece these eejits in government banty n co.

It's an honour to pay 65% tax on fuel to add to the pot to waste on this epic scam.

E100 euro a night now to accommodate each asylum seeker. Fleece these eejits in government banty n co. 

It’s not even the €100 a night, it’s the increase from €38 per person in 2018 to €100 now, while the number of new arrivals dropped by 30% in that time -

The average nightly cost of accommodation has increased from €38 per person in 2018 to €99 last year. Meanwhile, staffing levels at the International Protection Office have increased by around 330% during the same period.

And there’s Jim O’ Callaghan claiming a couple of weeks ago that he was going to halve the cost of €120k per applicant by 2028… and lads here thinking ‘twas great news.

Absolute pie in the sky nonsense 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭rgossip30

They have different religions associate with people of their own culture and generally do not mix with Irish people.

Criminals still enter the country whatever way you try to twist it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭rgossip30

They have different religions associate with people of their own culture and generally do not mix with Irish people.Deep down many have a resentment of Irish and no sense of belonging .

Criminals still enter the country whatever way you try to twist it

To just off the cuff say all is grand is head in the sand nonsense .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭TokTik

Dublin Airport should have a database and anyone doing this should be refused re-entry and repatriated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,255 ✭✭✭TokTik

Their PPS and any payments/accommodation linked to it should be stopped immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Will0483

Never was the ignore poster button more useful. Someone living on a different planet to the rest of us.

So what if they do? You and I for example evidently have little in common and I don’t imagine we’d ever be meeting up for a pint together any time soon, but we live in the same society. Immigrants are no different.

Well, I suppose one difference is that the deep down resentment and no sense of belonging, isn’t all that deep down in Irish people 😂

I never disputed the fact that criminals enter the country, committing a criminal offence will earn anyone that designation.

I never said all is grand either, I know it’s not, but when asked whether I thought there are any negatives of Government immigration policy, and having previously been criticised for nitpicking, I figured best keep it short and snappy, and remind the poster that they would be held to the same standard, y’know, like immigrants are, and not the far higher standard that you wish they were held to in order for you to determine that they have successfully integrated into Irish society when by your own standards, even I don’t integrate into your perception of Irish society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

People may be aware that the UN passed a motion advocating reparations from Britain for slavery. A YouGov poll found that only 20% of white British adults either ‘somewhat’ or ‘strongly’ support the idea. That rises to 50% among ethnic minorities and 70% among black people. That’s the kind of social division that multiculturalism delivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,277 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Except nobody here is talking about reparations. It is a non-issue. If this is the extent of the social division, I won't be fretting.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭sekiro

It's just an unwillingness to acknowledge the truth.

Just like the poster who posted a pretty provocative take just to, in their own words, "test the vibe of the thread" these guys think they are genius stragegists, ducking and diving and weaving, when actually the questions at hand are pretty simple to handle.

Oh no, they've been asked if there are any negative impacts of the government's immigration policy and they know for a fact that there are negative impacts but they can't admit that so they basically lie and say "no" and then try to justify it with something like "well I was accused of nitpicking you see and the other poster blah blah blah so even though I knew the answer is yes I said no anyway".

Think about it though if they have to wriggle and squirm and avoid then that's a sign that they know the truth but they can't bring themselves to just admit it.

The worrying thing is that they seem to think it's a clever tactic. Like they are playing chess or something.

The even more worrying thing is that Ireland has many, many, people who are also like this. They know the government policy on immigration comes with negative impacts, they know that it's a tough sell to try to argue that the positives are worth the costs and so they just go into complete denial mode.

Are there any negative effects caused by the government's immigration policy?

No! Well, actually, yes but I'm saying no because I don't want to be seen to be saying yes!

Thats where we are at now. People, who absolutely do know the reality of the situation, denying the reality of the situation because they can't bring themselves to accept the reality of the situation.

I hear you’re a mind reader now Father 😏

I answered no, because I don’t believe there are any negatives of immigration that actually can be attributed to Governments policy on immigration.

I can however, think of several negatives for Irish society that can be directly attributed to people opposed to immigration. Generally speaking, ignorance of Government policy on immigration is a good example, it’s a negative, but it’s low impact, unlike the scumbags fired up by a scumbag millionaire who sought to inflict maximum damage and disruption to people’s lives and livelihoods with their ‘protests’, justifying their actions by claiming to represent the people of Ireland.

They very clearly did not, and do not, represent the people of Ireland.

I'm not clear on what protests you are talking about.

I would not really describe the disturbances in November 2023 as "protests" but I don't think we are even allowed to discuss the events that led to the rioting so likely we have to leave that one where it is.

A good few events we aren't allowed to discuss at this point actually. Probably none of them are a result of our governments immigration policies though so it's all fine.

So I think where we are leaving this for now is that the government's policies on immigration have NO negative effects.

Lets see how that viewpoint holds over the coming months and years.

Just to clear it all up. No negative effects from the government's immigration policy. None at all. It's all good. Everything is fine.

I am tempted to ask what are the positive outcomes but maybe another time.

I'm not clear on what protests you are talking about.

You clearly are clear on what “protests” I was talking about 😂

I am actually dumbfounded by this reply. Progressives have a child’s understanding of the world. They are completely oblivious to their ignorance.

The point is not that there are likely to be calls for reparations in Ireland; it’s that multiculturalism leads to diametrically opposed preferences within the population. We don’t know what it is yet, but fifty years from now, there will be some political dispute in which the overwhelming majority of native irish people side one way and people of immigrant stock side the other.

You made a rather silly, baseless claim and I responded appropriately.

People have diametrically opposed views on all sorts of things and society chugs along just fine. Repeating silly nonsense from the US over and over again doesn't make it true.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Juran

You have to shake your head. Michéal Martin this morning said [regarding fuel protestors] that 'the government are obliged to protect people at large'. What about the local resifents in towns and villages across the country where illegal fake AS are shipped into hotels in the middle of the night, with no background checks and no idea who they are ??

Fuel protestors who are the back bone of this country working their asses off, paying their taxes & VAT and ensuring we have food, essential goods, fuel, drugs and medical supplies delivered to us daily.

Post edited by Juran on

How can you even debate these people? They are spectacularly unaware of their own ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭seenitall

Ahem. Just to interject with a quick observation as a lurker, but when the poster you replied to says “here”, he means the UK, not Ireland.

Progressives have a child’s understanding of the world.

Your own understanding is fairly questionable given the context of what you presented as an outcome of multiculturalism -

Last month a resolution spearheaded by Ghana passed at the UN general assembly. It described the slave trade as “the gravest crime against humanity” and called for reparations as “a concrete step towards remedying historical wrongs”. While 123 nations voted in favour, the US voted against it and the UK abstained.

In a statement after the UN resolution, the Foreign Office said that, while slavery had “inflicted untold harm and misery on millions” and left “deep scars”, there was “no duty to provide reparation” because it had not been illegal at the time.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2026/apr/07/reparations-slavery-colonialism-explainer-reform-uk

Wrong. I live in the UK and I'm aware of what the status of the reparations debate is here. You on the other hand are just mindlessly regurgitating the same tedious racist drivel without any critical thinking whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

image.jpeg

I don’t really like the boiling down of things to labels of “Leftists” and “Far Right” etc, but this now very well known tweet does capture rather accurately this kind of tactic you describe, so often seen from some corners here and everywhere

The evasiveness, the focus on semantics etc rather than just actually discussing the bloody topic. I don’t know why they bother tbh, it doesn’t progress discussions and just makes them look disingenuous and a bit foolish really

You don't.

You just hope that others will read the discussion and come to understand the truth.

If you use language where 99% of people understand your meaning but they pounce on it like it's a massive "gotcha" moment then honestly you just have to trust that others are able to see through it.

Any reasonable person knows that your point is that multicultural societies will have internal conflicts as a result of the multicultural nature of the society. In this case "your ancestors oppressed my ancestors and now you must pay" between Brits and just about everyone.

It's perfectly reasonable to speculate that we will someday see this kind of historical and cultural beef become part of our own political discourse.

Of course the UK is filled with people who absolutely despise the native Brits and maybe the people of Ireland won't be so hated by our government's taxpayer-funded guests. Yet, we hear more and more rumblings that the tricolour is a symbol of something so maybe some day that kind of rhetoric comes here too.

I think in the end you just have to trust, and respect, that people reading the posts firstlyunderstand your meaning and secondly can see through the dishonest arrmept to shut you down.

They are absolutely not unaware of their own ignorance they just don't want to admit the reality of the situation we find ourselves in.

I'd even go as far as to say that people are using the fact that matters before the courts cannot be talked about here to help make the case that everything is actually fine.

Multicultural societies have their pros and cons. You have correctly identified one of the cons and any reasonable person can see that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

I don’t believe there are any negatives of immigration that actually can be attributed to Governments policy on immigration.

Taking the most obvious and easily verifiable one. The Government spent approximately €4,300,000,000 (4.3 billion) on accommodation for migrants between 2020 and 2025. Accommodation only.

You dont believe that €4.3bn could have been spent better on things like rural rejuvenation or elder care or any number of other worthy causes that would benefit the country as a whole, rather than making privately owned companies extremely wealthy?

Its obvious you try and choose your words very, very, very carefully so you can skirt around and obfuscate when challenged but this is clear cut.

Do you see anything negative about the 5 year €4.3bn spent on accommodation for migrants? If no negatives can be seen, logic would dictate that there are at least a couple of positives about it so Id be keen to hear what your thoughts are.