Fuel Protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,257 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I note some posters saying the exact opposite.

The real truth is somewhere in the middle.

FB is almost completely pro protest. Reddit the mirror opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭McFly85

The usual guff that’s exacerbated by social media bubbles. You speak to a few people and see something trending on Twitter and all of a sudden you’re convinced that millions of people agree with you.

The protestors themselves think similar, and have said “the people of Ireland have asked us to do this”. They have in their hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,138 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

What price per litre do we think the protestors would be happy with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Baybay

What price per litre would you be happy with? If we’re all being represented then surely we know.

I have no idea. I drive an full EV, and a PHEV hybrid so dont use a lot of petrol, but if it was back at pre-Iran war price id be delighted.

Thing is, the Irish government doesn't really control the price of fuel on the world market. Its more US, Israel and Iran who are affecting that, and as long as these 3 continue to hold us to ransom, there isnt much FFG can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Baybay

Yes, EV household here too & fully agree with what you’re saying re government. Hard to see a solution that’ll please everyone. Or maybe anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭bill murray

They would be perfectly happy with it staying the same was it is now once the green diesel gets reduced to around €1 a litre, which is about 80 cent reduction on what it currently is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,339 ✭✭✭✭walshb

What's difference between these agitators/protestors and terrorists? Is it now a case that when a group of people are not happy with something that they can hold a country and its people to ransom? Shut down roads, block people from freedom of movement, inflict intentional financial damage on an economy? I am as frustrated as the next guy as regards the rising cost of fuel, but for a country and its people to allow this type of reaction is very very dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

it was asked previously, but why are they only blockading now?

If this is about taxes and excise, why not months ago?

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Oh here we go. You don't know much about what terrorists do.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,544 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Because the oppurtunity presented itself where they could use this fuel issue to make their voices heard and then also platform their other racist, misogynistic bigoted backward views. While some people supporting them are doing it purely for the fuel issue, those leading this "protest" are absolutely in it for other reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

Couldn't do it next week because they've to drop the kids to school

Lol none of these yokels participate in their kids lives even to the extent of dropping them off at school shure dats wimmins wurk. Id wonder if they are allowed even access to any kids they have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,257 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They should blockade Doonbeg, leave massive tracks through Drumpf's nice golf course. He is the cause of this, himself and that other worst US president Benny Nettenyahoo.

Strange how they never thought of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

VAT went to 23% from 21% as part of austerity measures after the 2008 crash and was supposed to be temporary. Along with USC, the government have been comfortable in making permanent these austerity taxes and have found even more inventive ways of wasting it into the bargain.

The attitude from the government is that SMEs and the self employed are just a never ending cash cow there to be milked. Meanwhile McEntee flying over to Kiev to dole out €40m on top of the €115m given to Zelensky for Christmas. Pascal dropping in €140m to the World Bank before heading off to work for them.

The whole thing with this govt stinks, and its rather amusing but not surprising to see the far left on here doing the bidding for the government. Shame on yea.

Post edited by InAtFullBack on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭W123-80's

You just need to look at the names and agendas of the people getting involved now to see where its going. This needs to be nipped in the bud as soon as possible.

The genuine farmers, hauliers and contractors deserve to be heard but the rest of these unhinged plonkers need to be put back in their box.

A certain social media bastion of common sense from Galway has set up a gofundme page to keep morale high. The same bastion of decency supported ICE murderering US Citizens on US streets for exercising their right to protest. He couldn't give two sheep's shite for anyone except lining his own pockets on the back of spreading hate online which is poisoning our communities. Obviously funded by US Christian Nationalist groups. Amazing patriot.

That other absolute balloon in Mayo who loves creamy pints saying the Irish Government have lost if they have to engage the Army on its citizens, again this insidious twit was gleefully supporting ICE when they shot US citizens protesting on the street. A massive Trump supporter for years who is now back pedalling on that position more recently. A grifter, nothing more.

C Duffy is a nasty piece of work. A racist, a homophobe, a bigot and a bully. Nothing more. Sat in his tractor a few months ago sneering at The Palistinian Flotilla protest. He hasn't the capacity to connect the dots of allowing a genocidal state like Israel murder kids and live stream it worldwide and do nothing about it with the cost of fuel issues we are experiencing today. He was on James Conway's podcast recently. They are well matched.

Conway himself is protesting with a gallows in his 8x4 trailer. He very obviously has massive anger issues and seems to think we are hours away from some sort of violent coup in the country.

Throw in Hobbs, Pepper and a sprinkling of ding bat citizen journalists and you have the perfect storm for a hate filled and ignorant protest that serves no one or nothing except to deepen the already growing polarisation in our society.

Trump, Stephen Miller, Steve Bannon, JD Vance, Tommy Robinson etc etc are heroes to most of these guys mentioned above. They all thrive of hate and chaos.

This needs to be talked about more openly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Shame on me for wanting to fill the car and live a daily life. Except that cant happen because you've a basically a mob blocking fuel terminals and causing fuel shortages.

But yeah anyone that doesnt agree with whats going on is a far left lapdog, fantastic logic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Had a proper belly laugh listening to Morning Ireland when Andrew Louth reported the protest leaders were meeting about getting clarity of their meeting with government.

Thick gobshites. Incredible stuff.

It is hilarious these people claim everyone opposing it is far left yet also at the same time a "FFG shill", just think about how far out of whack their political compass is that they are describing FF and FG as far left…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭dmakc

Honest question to your suggestion - do you think that gets Trumps attention? Does it get MM's attention? Does it get Israel's attention?

Do you support people's livelihoods being destroyed by a group of ragtag chancers who have access to more grants, subsidies and rebates that the rest of us could only dream of?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

When you go down the route of societal collapse it becomes terrifying pretty quickly. Listened to a guy called Nate Hagens a few years back talk about the energy blindness we have towards modern civilization. For every person on the planet, there is an equivalent 100 energy slaves doing all the heavy lifting for us. Everything we do requires 100 silent workers performing daily tasks which we ultimately take for granted. The importance of energy is not factored into mainstream economics (productivity being a factor of both labour and capital) and we don't see the role that energy actually plays in our day to day lives. When you look at modern life though the energy lens, it becomes pretty scary how fragile the whole system is.

I don't support the protestors livelihoods being destroyed by ragtag chancers in government either, so we're in agreement on that.

The rebates the public can dream of? Not sure if you're being serious here as that's literally the issue. Green diesel got cut 3cpl and white diesel >20cpl.

So you have no answer to my question then.

Farmers already have access to subsidies on green diesel and carbon tax. Hauliers have a rebate of 12c/l of diesel for the first six months of this year - a saving of around €8000 per truck.

The thing is, I'd doubt any of the chancers involved here are accessing those rebates and subsidies. Why might that be, I wonder?

Your question was ignoring the issue. Green diesel has gone up 80cpl. The Government measure (that they're bragging about in the media) gave 3cpl back. White diesel got >20cpl back. Now look up the usage for a contractor in green versus the regular Joe in white. No business should put up with such lopsided, ignorant "rebates".

My question isn't ignoring the issue.

Why aren't these farmers and hauliers claiming the very generous rebates available to them?

There is only one reason for this, and I'm sure you're smart enough to figure it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,751 ✭✭✭Benedict XVI

I heard today that petrol stations were told to give priority when allowing people to fill up to asylum seekers who get the free cars from the government.

Come the next election, the people can have their say. If these protests really have the support of the majority, then FFG should get a right hiding and be kicked out of government.

Time will tell.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,181 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Well gee whizz batman, I wonder why they're able to cut more on regular diesel.

This is so typical. Provide years of subsidies and rebates and this is the gratitude you get for it.

You'd sincerely wonder when you see the lack of frugality on display elsewhere. It's been called out consistently for years.

Subsidies help consumer in terms of pricing together with compensating farmer for EU regulation my friend. Nobody is buying a holiday home from them, and name me an industry without your pet word while you're at it. Otherwise, if you're as clueless as you seem to be, perhaps sit this one out.