Protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭tractorporn

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/1CT9tvPA6W/

Same story from an ambulance driver but I wouldn't expect you or the red one to see another perspective that doesn't suit the narrative you have build of these protests in your own heads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,722 ✭✭✭almostover

What's the end game here for the blockaders? What are they hoping to achieve? I've yet to hear a coherent strategy.

The likely outcome for many of them are court summons, fines and perhaps criminal convictions. Loss of contracts, loss of licenses, loss of business. And for what? I can't even make out what they want.

Pie in the sky nonsense about the price of diesel in India as if that has any applicability to Ireland. India, a country of over 1 billion where the majority are modern day paupers. And comparisons to the price of diesel in Spain where the median income is nearly half that in Ireland. And whose GDP per capita is almost half that of Ireland and whose unemployment rate is over twice ours.

Dangerous idiots are what these 'protesters' are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭morphy87

So as of tonight are they letting delivery’s of diesel out of the ports? I heard kerosene mentioned but I didn’t hear diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭I see sheep

What does the Median income matter to people who are struggling?

If Spain can do it Ireland can.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

ah sure the alternative is just tow the line and watch your business go up the swannie. id say you never ran a business in your life with comments as ignorant as above.

It's a statistic that represents the income that 50% of the population earn less than and 50% earn more than. A standard measure of income prosperity for any country.

Also, net hourly minimum wage for Ireland is €12.42 and Spain is €7.12. Are those the people youve referred to as struggling?

So if my business is struggling to be profitable I should act in an illegal manner to save it? And cease doing business while 'protesting'?

And no I have never run a business, why does that have anything to do with this debate?

Plenty of other businesses have been disrupted by this protest. Plenty whom are worried that they wont have fuel to carry out their business. What makes the hauliers and agri contractors so special that they feel they can impede others going about their business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭I see sheep

So you're against a price cap?

Very strange.

Spain & Poland are poorer countries than Ireland and they can do it.

It'll cost a lot? Big deal.

Wealth Tax in ASAP and definitely a Wealth Tax on Oil companies, absolute parasites.

Scandalous there isn't one already.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭enricoh

Competent speaker, handled everything thrown at him well.

Only thing ye can pick holes is he has the same shirt on.

The man runs a business with 50 staff, ye lot wouldn't run an ice cream van between ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,675 ✭✭✭tanko

More woke drivel, you like to give it but can’t take it and hide behind the mods. Which mod are you talking about??? As for gutter behaviour you’d know all about that. I’ll give my opinion, “people” can do what they like.

Yes I'm against a price cap, I'm not against lower fuel taxes in the short term. You do realise we live in an open economy? And that oil is a globally traded commodity of which Ireland imports 100% of its needs?

Big deal if it will cost a lot? How does the country run public services if we reduce the tax intake by 'a lot'?

FYI Spain reduced diesel prices by 30c, Poland by 25c and Ireland by 21c. So if the government takes another 4c of tax off diesel you'll be satisfied?

You do know there was a windfall tax of 75% levied on oil company profits greater than 20% of the previous years in 2022/2023?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭enricoh

The lads protesting are the dregs of society , give em nothing.

Banty n co get e100 a night for this lad. Keep em coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,227 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Isn't the Liz Truss energy price cap how the British economy nearly collapsed?

I guess the economy will be collapsing anyway, might as well get it over and done with quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The protestors need to hold until the meeting. They have the leverage now and the public support too!!. Government need to reduce their tax % whilst the middle East crisis resolves and save small businesses.

Either that or they will spend the money on dole anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,060 ✭✭✭DBK1

IMG_1014.jpeg IMG_1013.jpeg

Red shirt on virgin media last night, blue on prime time tonight so wind your neck in.

When an uneducated fool like yourself has to resort to telling blatant lies to try and create fault with the protestors it’s fairly obvious they’re doing very little wrong.

I thought the promise was to clear the protest when the meeting was agreed? Guess the goalposts have been moved

Govt have a lot to answer for as well. Ideally the meeting would have been held tonight instead of waiting until tomorrow afternoon but then what's the rush? It's only the ordinary person that will suffer until then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Posted in the commuting thread but they really are unbelievable.

Chris duffy telling his crew tonight, we said we'd go home after a phone call, well we won't, we'll go home after we see whats said at the meeting. Follows it up with there won't be an oil tanker moving in the country and how they have the country by the balls.

What an absolute arsehole of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Diddly Squat

I like the comment about the dole, do you mean the farmers assist (dole) as well, or just the dole that non farmers get, while we're at it can we include all forms of social welfare, don't forget the pension, or the children's allowance, what about the living alone and fuel allowance, widowers allowance should get a special mention, why just pick on the one payment 5 percent of the population get. Theres plenty low hanging fruit on the social welfare tree we can pick at

Saw that same video, with any luck himself and that Geoghan idiot will be behind bars in a few weeks time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

A nasty individual. Purposely attempting to withhold fuel supplies critical to the country should see you locked up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

He meant currently employed people will be entitled to social welfare if they lose their jobs so that 5% could increase.

Cutting fuel taxes costs money but so does paying social welfare to more people.

He wasn't saying anything about people currently getting social welfare or that they shouldn't get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭older by the day

Isn't it amazing how thick all our new friends are, that have shown up to join the forum.

They can't grasp the concept that this country is running on green/white diesel. Solar is fine for charging your phone, but for mixing concrete, building roads, houses, hospitals, ect. We run on diesel.

The point they can't grasp is, there will be an economic crash when costs will just stop all work. The protesters are trying to save this country before jobs will be lost.

I see michael martin had to sneaked in the back door in macroom today. Every government TD should be protested, until a deal is made. The gloves are off with the threat of the army.

And to all our new leftie friends, when ye are protesting at trumps visit. I hope you will get treated as you wish, farm/trucker families are being slurred here tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,819 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

How did the people of Clare vote for Timmy Dooley 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Diddly Squat

Well, there's me looking like a right prick so, apologies to him if I misinterpreted his post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,557 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I think when you are threatened with the armed forces by our head of state its fair enough to move the goalposts.

Hold lads hold!!