Fuel protest about prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭SaxySaxSolo

It was only a few weeks back that I posted about this documentary due to the traffic issues that the m50 faces on a normal day.

The bbc put out a pseudo-documentary in 2003 about if the transport system stopped working. Very eerily similar to this weeks events where one of the reasons in the doc was due to a strike that impacted traffic.

It's a good watch if you enjoy stuff about transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭rayman10

Some lad on prime time seems to think it's about potholes.

FFS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭combat14

fuel gone in many petrol stations in waterford, kilkenny and rationing in portlaoise not sure about the rest of the country but the place will be shut down fast if the government dont start talking

it wont be long before regular motorists will have to abandon their cars randomly too as they run out of fuel

deliveries to supermarkets will be affected shortly too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭combat14

govt tds starting to wobble / talk sense:

In a post on X, Seán Fleming, a Fianna Fáil TD for Laois called on the Government to cap fuel prices.

“Since prices went up at the pumps, the Government is getting more money from taxes and I believe it’s important to keep costs down at this stage for the entire economy.”

He added “this will help keep inflation down as the costs go up. People will want wage increases to match the new inflation rate that can rise when you keep pushing up costs and it will be much cheaper for the government in the long term and add stability to the economy by keeping costs down, inflation down.”

He said he believed that the cost of a cap could be funded by the increase in taxes that it was taking due to the rising prices. He said the tax take had increased beyond what was expected in the Budget for 2026.

“I would say the Government is getting a windfall tax, which I would say should be used to keep the prices down and inflation down and thereby keep demands for increased wages down also,” he told the outlet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,756 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Public order legislation announcement made in rosslare. It begins so, move them off if they fail to comply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,520 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Did you not plan for this scenario 4 days ago when this protest started?

You can’t say you didn’t have forewarning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭I see sheep

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,393 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

queues at the local filling stations this evening.

as a farming family these lads have zero support from us.

feel sorry for anyone missing appointments or stressing about upcoming planned trips

Government finally showing sense and meeting them tomorrow.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

That's the most obnoxious comment I've ever read on boards.ie.

Disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

son the government gave in.... at last we see some sense. maybe Miriam could ring her brother to clarify lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭PixelCrafter

The demand for open the Barryroe offshore area for oil exploration was quite an unusually specific demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

Laughable plan by Mr Miriam, 8am call in the army, more than 12 hours later no sign of them, meanwhile groundworks / Plant hire lads planning their final stand. So much for the element of surprise. Unless its an Irish TACO on the hotplate tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭BettySwollocks86

Was just watching the news there and most of the protestors who were interviewed looked and sounded like low IQ types. Spouting drivel and looking shifty while doing it.

Not really. Its a very roundabout way.

Its the ifa etc invited and told they can bring a delegation, these bodies are deciding to bring protesters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Keplar240B

Turning and turning in the widening gyre
    The falcon cannot hear the falconer;
    Things fall apart; the centre cannot hold;
    Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,
    The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
    The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
    The best lack all conviction, while the worst
    Are full of passionate intensity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭celt262

Duffy said if they got there meeting they would be off the roads and go home.

Yer man is spoofing now.

If you have an appointment we will let you through

The people of Ireland have asked us to represent them.

Open an oilfield.

We are bigger than the army.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

Yup and still saying they won't wind them down here on primetime.

Their full of shite.

They get to go into government buildings now shift your protest as you said you would. Cant keep that going hanging over any talks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭eastie17

is Miriam really this **** stupid or just pretending?
    5 times he had to say they are meeting with the representative bodies and he doesn’t know who they are inviting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Ireland is being held to ransom by an unwashed mob.

If the government don’t handle this tonight then the country will be asking if they’re fit to govern tomorrow.

Hes away with the fairies.

Absolute delusional stuff he's banging on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭dmakc

Out of left field for sure. Maybe a sacrificial condition they're happy to concede

Well the demand was let us into a meeting. Their getting into one.

They said they'd lift the protest and go home if that happened, now wont go home. **** off away home now as you said you would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭eastie17

yesterday they were lifting the blockades as soon as there were talks

Now there’s talks and the clown on telly is saying they won’t be lifted. You can’t negotiate with liars

Yer man James Geogheghan is excellent.

Would wipe the floor with any FFG stooge in an argument.

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Glenomra

Did ye see my local TD Timmy dooley on prime time. He didn't know what he was talking about, whereas the spokesman for the protesters was superb imo.