Fuel Protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I've googled him. He's a right wing racist, by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,286 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

These protests will accomplish nothing except disrubt hard working people trying to get to work and people trying to get to hospital appointments as well as people wanting to have a day out and tourists as well as does of us who need to get fuel for our cars or our homes. These people are selfish. They very nearly made my long dsy yesterday longer but thankfully I got lucky and got home without these selfish people impacting my day in Dublin too much. They are very badly organised. Time for them to end and I hope the Garda and the army stop them.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Outrageous. Populist nonsense. The ideology of imbeciles. "The government" is the source of all their gripes.

We have free & fair elections every 5 years (at most). Everyone gets to vote for whoever they want. The cheek of these scumbags to claim to speak for the people of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,562 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Good Christ, is this what we are dealing with now? Scary

Nonsense. Tinfoil hat nonsense.

"All the corporate tax has been squandered and it's been done intentionally."

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,882 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Elections in Ireland are fair 😂…… good one. The manipulation of the system is rife ffs, importing votes, donations, bungs, deals and quid pro quo agreements. Fair my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,341 ✭✭✭Dazler97

there should only be 1 thread about this , there’s 3 far to much for this protest , I’m not sure if the government will even do anything but maybe if push comes to shove then maybe , carbon tax needs to be scrapped then prices would be around 40c cheaper a litre and with it due to go up yet again it’s only gonna get worse and I can also see people green and red diesel as well I don’t blame people for using it but gardai have been dipping cars lately especially up here in the northwest

You are spouting conspiracy theory nonsense. There is zero manipulation of the votes of the people of Ireland. It is a secret ballot & every voter is free to vote for whoever they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Nonsense what’s nonsense is pretending this has been well managed.

Ireland has taken in an extraordinary level of corporate tax revenue in recent years, far far beyond what most comparable countries see. The numbers are simply nuts and has been well documented. The reality is that the Irish Government do nothing to work for this money, only that US multinationals decided to book their profits here.

That should have been a once in a generation opportunity to fix so many issaues. Instead, the country is worse of. When a state gets a windfall that no other country of its size enjoys, it shouldn’t still be struggling with the basics and this government which is so despised. That shouldn't be the case when everything has been handed to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Was great seeing the protesters sending Murphy packing yesterday when he tried to jump on the bandwagon.

Lot of whinging online and here as well, a protest is supposedl to be disruptive so its up to everyone to have a contingency plan while it's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,832 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

The right wing sewer rats trying to jump on the bandwagon. No surprises there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,429 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Personal tax in ireland is draconian if you earn a good salary.

Ireland is ranked second worst in the OECD for personal tax.

The Govt are taking half of what you earn over 44k.

Then they charge 23% VAT on the 50% you keep.

Its thievery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Large-scale public support matters in terms of this being successful. This has largely just pissed off the public. So overall this looks unlikely to achieve anything so good job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,543 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

No they started it in the hope to normalise their other disgusting views among people who are actually being inconvenienced by the sh1t the orange baboon started, they honestly are hoping people will think something like this "I suppose they were right about the fuel… maybe they are right about other stuff and brown people and the transgenders are to blame for everything wrong in my life"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

What kind of contingency plan should a mother have for her daughter that needs to be transported for dialysis? Its simply not good enough that these "protesters" think their wants sit above the needs of everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,625 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

I’ve a tinder date tonight, and it’s god help anyone who gets in me way 🥳

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Coincidentally there was a woman on the radio from Laois today who also has to take her daughter to hospital in Dublin four times a week and her fuel bill has increased by €60.

She was in favour of the protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

She’s in favour of blockades causing her fuel to go up even further over the coming days?

Never underestimate the stupidity of people to celebrate something that goes against all of their interests just because other people are going to suffer.

Who here is in favour of emergency vehicles having no fuel because of these mongrels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

protests sure.. this is not a protest.

Its a blockade that is sabotaging our infrastructure, preventing working people from getting to work, people getting to hospital.

Maybe people impacted should block the farms, yards, truck yard of those involved to prevent them going about their daily life.

C70 issued, so army will be taking away their vehicles, Gardai should also check for for tax, insurance , safety and the diesel in the truck.

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

Is the M50 going to be blocked overnight and into the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

• People missing hospital appointments
    • Tradesmen missing days of work
    • Carers running out of home fuel
    • Forecourts running out of fuel
    • Scumbags blocking roads and demanding to see proof for hospital appointments in order to allow people past
    • Scumbags demanding said proof for a 7-month old child who needed hospital treatment
    • People unable to get to pharmacies to pick up pain medication following emergency surgery
    • Concern over fuel availability for emergency service vehicles

All carried out by people who have access to more fuel rebates and grants than any normal people can only dream of in their €200,000 brand new tractors and with the ability to take three days off work, while claiming that they are struggling or on the brink.

Let's make one thing very clear. These people don't want to help you, they want you to suffer like they are (or at least like they claim to be).

Why aren't these hauliers involved here taking advantage of the diesel rebate which saves them €8000 a year? I would bet my bottom dollar that they're not taking advantage of it because they are not tax compliant.

Farmers have grants and rebates coming out of their ears. Again, the ones involved here probably not taking advantage of them because they're fiddling with the books.

All the last few days has demonstrated is that there are some very, very stupid people living in this country. How they cannot see that they're being taken for a ride sideways is beyond me.

Carry on, lads, but remember all of this when you're all crying about higher prices coming down the line. It's your fault because you enabled and made excuses for everything that is currently happening above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,210 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

here we go again: the minority holding the majority to ransom.

Take a leaf out of Starmer's book: classify them as terrorists, Special Criminal Court, and while waiting for that, intern them in the Curragh and cut the dole payments to the whole family.

This solution worked well: SAS used to suppress the riot

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peterhead_Prison_Riot

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,741 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

It's very telling that the Irish Road Haulage Association and IFA haven't condoned or aligned themselves in any way with this protest. As you said, the people who instigated this are the cowboy contingent who think the rules don't apply to them and that they somehow speak on behalf of the Irish people. There's also now a definite whiff of far right involvement in this, and I suspect there are genuine plans being made - if not already in place - right now to use this as an excuse/opportunity to kick some serious trouble off. Christopher Duffy and his cohort are, unfortunately, stupid enough to have played right into the hands of the usual suspects who just want to cause trouble and then invoke their tired, old, bigoted tropes as the reason for it. When the Irish flags started showing up on O'Connell Street it was very clear who's now in control of this "protest".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Jesus. Sorry to hear this.

What an absolute shower of cretins……

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,543 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The problem is the Government weren't doing enough and left a vacuum for these trashy pieces of vermin to insert themselves into and now they are way too slow to react and hold them to account for their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

This Duffy gowl is right at home with the usual suspects

Untitled Image

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.