Protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,714 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

It seems that the people that organised this don’t realise that protests and strikes are only a tool to help you get to the table. Instead they seem to see it as the end goal.

Who is organising it? Who are the government supposed to talk to at the end of it?

Having tractors on it is probably unhelpful because the argument against us is so easy.

“Sure, you already get a big discount on your fuel, what are ye moaning about”

Now, we all know the reality is a lot more complicated then that but this group don’t seem to have anybody with the skills for that job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,757 ✭✭✭enricoh

Well there'll be no more thickos dumping vedg outside lidl anymore. The lads protesting carrots n sprouts at 9 cent have all packed it in around me the last few years.

There's a field 10 of us probably spent 6 weeks in in the summer at vedge beside me has maize in it now. There'll be 3-4 lads in it for a few hours for cutting it.

The government get e65 in tax if I stick e100 in my jeep. The reductions they done last month cost them 250 million.

They have endless billions to waste on shite no one wants. They announced 750 million for Rte last year, I've no doubt Rte will focus on a few Headbangers at the protest - he who pays the piper calls the tune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,410 ✭✭✭Sammy2012

Rte 1 currently talking about erosion in Sligo. With everything that's happening both here and abroad it's laughable. Don't report it and it's not happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭harr

It was on radio one this morning just before the erosion segment. They were chatting to people taking part and what they want and why they were protesting. Both lads interviewed came across quite well and explained why clearly and that all emergency services were told of how the protests were being carried out . I have heard 4 different reports this morning on different stations reporting on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,172 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Turning out to be a bit of a damp squid, numbers very low. Bigger outfit send one or two vehicles to show a face. A few tractors here and there as well, struggling in places to get two vehicles to slow trsffic on a motorway

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,807 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Seems a big turnout from videos I’ve seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,578 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Seems to be a big turnout on the N81, plenty of quarrys and site clearance operators between Baltinglass and Blessinton being hit hard with diesel prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Big turnout in Limerick too. The Guards had junction 29 closed off when I was heading towards Clare.

seems to be a big turn out in the locations near Dublin .. was on back roads adjacent to M7 and it looked to be a huge turn out. I know a lot of the smaller convoys converged onto the M7 so numbers would be bigger.
    Was chatting to a few lads in the convoy and they said it was run well .. emergency services were all kept up to date and organisers made sure one lane was kept free . Convoy will hit Dublin around lunch time.

So what happens now , protest was a success in regard's to turn out , demands were sent to government. Are the governments hands tied to what they can offer . EU has sent a warning to all governments not to implement huge discounts on fuels or to cap prices in the fear of **** up economy .
    Keep protest up long term in the hope government cave ? Could be another couple of weeks before they get to discuss it as not sitting this week ..Organisers will need a good spokesperson to speak to government and work through the demands .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭jonnybangbang

May I ask a very silly question… how do you know if its a big turn out for the protest or just a lot of vehicles getting caught up in the protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭French Toast

Seems to be fairly well supported.

well when you see a line of 30 tractors and then 20 or 30 trucks and repeat for 10-20 km on a Tuesday morning then it’s fairly easy see it’s a fairly big turn out . Yes you will have normal traffic caught up but most people were warned a lot of traffic is protesters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Arseboxing

Get off the road and back to studying at the University Of Facebook yis gobshltes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,172 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Ya its mostly the build up of cars behind the few truck slowing down the traffic.

Very dew at the gathering pointsvthos morning around Limerick at 7.30 Am. Ya they have build up traffic behind them but very few vehicles involved. As one lad said he has seen more at a small truck and tractor run. They have block up behind themselves but you can get around limerick no bother if you look at maps and see where the blockage is

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Is blocking main roads not a serious crime? Blocking emergency vehicles like…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭One2Many7ups

Its disappointing to see us farmers not being unified in backing a protest just because a few 'far-right thugs' have jumped on the bandwagon.

We pay over €60 in tax on every €100 of fuel.

We are told we must adhere to the strictest of rules to produce our beef, while the head of Bord Bia is importing beef from South America.

We are berated as greedy climate-killers by state run media almost daily.

The veg lads cried and farmers on the whole said nothing while the veg business was undercut by foreign produce. Not many veg farmers out there now. Beef farming is next, look at the growth in feedlots over the past 20 years, along with importing cheap meat now.

But lads on here backing the government to the hilt. In a decade your farm will be worthless. Bookmark this: They will scrap inheritance tax exemptions for farmers, just like in the UK. No-one will want to inherit a farm with a huge tax bill. Corporporations will buy them for cheap. Us farmers have no clout like we used to. We have gone the way of the UK farmers. Our government don't give a sh*t about us now.

image.png

Look at that graph. Our government are shoveling money away left, right and centre. I don't see improvements to anything. I do see Michael Healy-rae made 1.1m last year for housing refugees though so that's something.

When your grandchildren phone from Oz and ask why did you do nothing while the government took €65 out of every €100 of fuel and your business slowly died a death, you can say its because a 'far-right thug' was also protesting.

For the record I don't like Michelle Keane or Derek Blighe but not to support action against a runaway government just because they are on your side is pathetic. I actually think many of these 'far-right thugs' are goverment plants. Deliberately abrasive and unlikable, so that it will turn people off taking action if they see them supporting it. And it seems to be working perfectly.

Emergency services were included in the organising of the protests .. Hard shoulder or one lane was to be kept open at all times for any emergency .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,144 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Is the Strait of Hurmuz open again or was the protest a failure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,532 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Im from Carbury Co Kildare and the local lads had a big turnout on the road from Edenderry to Enfield where they were meeting others to convoy up from Enfield on the N4. My father sent me a video of it and its a big turnout from around us anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,789 ✭✭✭Allinall

Who's doing all the farming, deliveries etc. while all these protestors are on a jolly to Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,139 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Saw videos from Mallow and Cashel,looks like a fine turnout,a lot more HGV's at them than I thought so the IRHA are not talking about all their members when they said they were boycotting the protest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Lionel H

Sheer ignorance of some people on this thread is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Lionel H

We get it, you are not in favour of it, but like every other topic you have to continue your pontification. Give it a rest ffs, people are just trying to do something to get the fuel price lowered by the government, it might be all in vain but its worth challenging. The government reduced green diesel by 3 cent, an absolute insulting gesture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Diddly Squat

Massive turnout in Clare, the main organiser was on clare fm and when asked about a nurse that was late for work said "she has a government job, shell be grand " he's a moron anyway but that attitude does nothing to help his cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,144 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

The number of vehicles involved is irrelevant as it only takes 2 vehicles to block most of the roads up, one for the road and one for the hard shoulder. Other than cutting the taxes further I'm not sure what else the govt are expected to do. According to the radio this morning green diesel is 90c/L so I'd question how much of that is tax and what they can actually reduce it by.

I think the real ignorance is with the protestors, what exactly do they expect the govt to do about the orange idiots phony war?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,219 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Green diesel 90c/l? What part of the world were u listening to the radio because it certainly couldn't be Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭One2Many7ups

You are making a fool of yourself. Green diesel is €1.80+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,059 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ya, a cow on the road could garner a lot of support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭dmakc