Protest?

• 03-04-2026 10:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭

There seems to be a lot of backing behind a protest after a meeting last weekend in Portlaoise.

It's very hard to get any information on it and what the demands are that were sent to the government.

Has anyone any idea what's happening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭kk.man

I would personally love to see it.

Irish processors (MIL) didn't go gun ho against mercosur why? Why have a meat rep body if you can't attend a key stakeholder meeting? Just goes to show the standing of MIL in the beef industry.

Regarding their poor opposition to mercosur because they wanted a slice of the action. Tesco, Sainsbury's, Asda didn't import beef everthing directly from the above and Australasia but our own irish factories wanted a slice of the action. They jumped into bed with these countries and rode the irish farmer who made them what they are today. Thats the back log irish farmers are facing, its contrived artificially, we are almost 70k already behind last year which was a bumper year in beef farmer production. The figures just dont add up.

They are some, processing significant quantities of that i won't call beef into our main markets The key issue is whats gone on those lables leaving Irish Meat plants to the consumers especially to the UK. British retailers and Irish producers needs answers to these questions in a serious and direct manner as its only fair to these hard working entities.

Bord Bia should be boycotted, whats the point in QA? I know dairy people cant supply milk but if every beef farmer stopped QA in unison, that would send a serious message.

Irish farmers can't take these losses with up to 50c between us and our main markets is a disgrace not to mention the firth quarter which is a good return atm to Asia.

I was in a well known restaurant/pub last Sunday in the SE and im not making this up to emphasise my point. It always had a great name. I ordered the beef and you would need a chainsaw to cut it. I actually felt sick afterwards. I did report it.

Unless those export lables are properly established, explained and bonafided our none Irish produced and irish produced beef exports are questionable.

This is a year where a line in the sand is drawn finally where the barons can from now on rely on their own resources for winter/spring cattle. Sure they will import the sub standard to make up the deficit but that product requires providence.

I've sold finished cattle in livestock marts in the last while were which abieted were aa and hex in the main which were averaging the equivalent of plus 7e a kg, i wouldn't listen to the poor mouth piece of the procurement brain washed.

Post edited by kk.man on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,915 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

LLooks Like Tuesday is the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,819 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Think its to back up the demands that were handed in by the committee that was formed at the portlaoise meeting.

Mainly the fuel is to be capped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Jb1989

see the hauliers are out, they have their agreement and say protesting is off the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭orm0nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭148multi

Don't actually know who is organizing it

has the letter sent to government been published??

I couldn’t find it anywhere

Surely not asking people to get behind a set of demands they can’t verify ??

The haulage and bus community are behind it, that's my understanding

fair enough.
    I’ve read conflicting positions on this in last while

IMG_8909.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Conversations 3

I think the big hauliers struck a deal but all the smaller lads are joining the protest.

Going by the Facebook posts, it's gaining serious momentum.

Could just be the straw that broke the camel's back, if it's big enough

Taxation on fuel should be limited to a € value, there’s no doubt of that.

But no thanks to this protest.
    I went through their Facebook last night.

They have been asked over and over to publish the letter they sent to government but refuse to do so, why is that ?? God knows what they had in it.

No doubt they have a few hundred followers posting about the need for this protest. But wjen you look at comments and the people posting they aren’t the sort I’d like to be associated with. anti immigration, climate change deniers, talk of water charges, anti government rubbish, I even saw a post that we wouldn’t have our freedoms only for trump. 🤣

I hope they are safe, have a nice day out, don’t disrupt emergency services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Diddly Squat

I'm part of a a WhatsApp group in Clare, it's all very 'bring the government to its knees' sort of stuff from mostly people that can't write a coherent sentence, while I agree with the protest to a certain extent the people behind it are just coming across as contrarian and a good few just want the normal joe soap to suffer by making them late for work, school etc. The protest in Clare starts at the new plaza around 7 and some want to start earlier to disrupt as many workers as possible. How ruining someone's day by making them late for work is going to bring the government to its knees is anyone's guess but there's an element of scumbag off of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭harr

it’s just a pity the protest has now been hi-jacked by certain groups . In my area it was meant to meet at 7:30 and roll out at 9 but now a certain independent councillor has a separate convoy of cars leaving at 7am and his sole purpose is to disrupt as many people as possible.
    When protest was announced it had great local support here but once these individuals got involved that support quickly disappeared. The same individual was calling on people to park up at petrol pumps and walk away for a few hours. Funny thing is the gobshites near me who are suddenly concerned with fuel costs don’t even drive and have never worked a day and everything is handed to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Maybe it’s just me but I see an AI poster like that and it just screams SCAM!

These serial anti establishment professional protesters spoil anything they get involved in.

Still riding on the wave of success over water protests which while approached poorly by the government at the time is a legitimate charge that must be introduced at some stage.

They risk turning ugly at the drop of a hat and tarnishing any cause they latch onto.

I managed to get a copy of the letter sent to the government, well most of it.

22178.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 43 Naillers

TThere Is still a strong subversive element in the state that are well capable of hijacking an event ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭jaymla627

The

The only element of scumbag i see is a tone-deaf bollock of a self-appointed uneducated economicswise finance mimister, who dosent grasp the haulage/farming/construction sectors are all going to implode unless the price of fuel is capped/our meaningful rebates given...

To give an idea of the margins hauliers are working off, the brothers main run from a cement factory to a concrete mixing plant is paid at a rate of 260 euro a load, with 65 litres of diseal been burnt per run, it dosent take a rocket scientist to work out, 2 euro plus vat diseal for hauliers at industry rates bankrupts them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I have no idea who was on Newstalk promoting the protest. But he came across as awful. Pretty much the caricature of the Irish farmer.

Pig ignorant, who when faced with any push back started shouting. A complete blow hard and his comments about Ukraine were a bit much. I heard someone say the whole thing played the me feinn, xenophobia farmer sterotype.

That's the part that puts a bad light on it.

Really need to get the right people at the top, not just the loudest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I really don't know where they find these types. Mortified listening to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

After reading the post of that lad drawing cement with the lorry, I thought of this.

Should The rated be reviewed and geared more to user types?

Agri Green is one rate,

Commercial Haulage gets its own rate,

Small business rate

Commuter and family rate,

It's always open to abuse but it would make it easier to make adjustments if there was a shock to supply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,650 ✭✭✭harr

surely they have better people to represent them than him , if he was the best person they had to do a radio interview then it says a lot .
    Between haulage , construction, fishing and farming reps they surely have better.
    How in all honesty could you let him be the voice of all this and expect the government to listen .
    The comments on the groups main Facebook page are from the usual rent a mob and anti everything crew .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭XT1200

Protest organised for Lakeview Roundabout Midleton on N24. This roundabout controls traffic to and from Whitegate Oil Refinery and with in excess of 100 oil tankers each day should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,188 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

the protest and groups involved seems to have splintered ….theres protests seemingly been organised in various cities across Ireland when originally it was to be a mass protest to basically bring Dublin to a standstill …seen some of the tik tok k videos ,there is a lot of good well intentioned people involved but increasingly some that will just shout and roar without a plan and people like michelle Keane throwing herself behind it for her own agenda …these will derail it which is a pity because if organised properly this protest could make a real difference and force govt hand