Temporary Clerical Officer 2026 - Nationwide

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 N_Doh

Has anyone in Louth got called for an interview yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Sparkles:)

Anyone have an update in Cork? I know number 10 was called but I've a pall closer to 70 🫢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭BalboBiggins

Thanks very much for this. I'm wondering do people generally get made permanent if they work well or does it just depend on if there is availability in the area the temporary role is in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Glitteringstar

You don’t get a permanent contract from a TCO contract. You also might only have an 8 week contract, you are just filling in for someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 philipper

No, you'll never be made permanent off a temporary contract. I was a t c o and the person I was covering for decided they were leaving the service entirely. So once their job was open up, my contract was let run out, and then they went to the permanent panels and got somebody to fill the role. I had in that role for just over a year.

Thanks lads. Is it easier to get a job in civil service if you've completed a temporary contract before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Whimsicalcat

That's not true. People do get permanent positions from TCO, it's not guaranteed but it does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ResoluteTuba

Just wanted to update, I was called to Stage 2 this morning. I was 256 in Dublin, seems they're making good ground with interviews!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 whymewhynow

Stage 2 being interview? I'm in the 400's, ty for update

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Quitelife

they are on number 50 in limerick, I’d have thought cork would be somewhere similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 rebhanqui

got self declarations and ID stuff today, garda vetting link to follow once those were completed - was 4 in Kerry and interview two weeks ago ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭jecca1

Got mine too. All sent back now.

I suppose it's a good sign It's moving I've heard nothing still for kilkenny

Post edited by philipper on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 GippyGup

I checked in with PAS over the weekend and they haven't moved very much down the list in my area, much slower than last year. I wonder is the upcoming EU Presidency secondments delaying departments asking for TCOs? Anyone else noticed slow movement?

I thought so too. I was on the last panel and was hired after 4 months. This time im much higher on this panel and silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 ResoluteTuba

Just wanted to share my experience in Stage 2 (interview) for TCO:
    Nice relaxed 1-on-1 interview, would very much lead me where they wanted me to go during questions. Will cut you off but they preface that this is just to keep things moving if you've answered the Q.

They basically just wanted me to show at least a basic understanding of what they were asking. Mostly customer service, project work, what did you learn from X experience. All applicable to work/college/school. I had given 3/4 competencies from work until they explicitly asked for an example from college.

As far as interviews go, as nice as they come. Interviewer was a pleasure and a bit of craic, very much seemed like they wanted me to do well!

My experience of the interviews is similar.They are absolutely lovely and they will point you in the right direction.If they feel you're waffling a bit.

I emailed them about tco panel too. They have barely moved. I don't know why this panel is so slow this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 baekadelah

if you got an offer with no department listed in the email. Go to publicjobs and check the vacancy info on the new copy of the application. I’m still in Garda vetting but it shows dsp for me here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭jecca1

Thanks for posting this, i have just seen my department. Never noticed that part before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Whimsicalcat

Just to confirm I'm looking at the right part, is it when you click view advert details under TCO (copy) and it says Review Details and it shows up in a kind of red box under Department/Authority?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Mon 123

how long after you got your oom did u get interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 lurkerturnedposter

Thanks for this, very helpful. I also got DSP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 baekadelah

I think I put it in a comment above, they’ll guide you with questions about your cv and experience and the prep common STAR question answers. Teamwork, how you deal with conflict, problem solving and prioritising. Make sure no answers are about you taking the lead, you work as a team or you go to a manager if it is above you. If you have any cv gaps they will ask about it. I had some and I said I couldn’t fit everything in that’s relevant and another I was travelling. I got interview for TCO like 3 months I think after OOM I don’t really remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 moonstone2017

I am certainly in a TCO position.

My placement on the 2026 TCO position is low enough that I could be called for interview with it, should I go for the interview when called, even though have a role at the moment.

Also do all TCO contract have a start and end date?? Or just a start date