Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,054 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I make no connection between immigration and "danger".

I make the connection between immigration and costs imposed on taxpayers.

Both the UKR refugees and the bogus AS have and continue to impose huge costs on taxpayers, in the billions.

It is this cost I wish to reduce.

I never mention race, and the issue is nothing to do with race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,671 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Youre on boards daily very vocally advocating all things pro immigration.

Really. What pro immigration "things" have I advocated today or yesterday or the day before?

In your own time.

I'll tell you what.

Clump together, get it up to a grand and donate it to a childrens charity.

I'll stop posting in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I'll give you a clue - this is the immigration thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

I’ve long since blocked Boggles, but sadly the old adage that you mightn’t read Boggles but the people that you read read Boggles applies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,180 ✭✭✭bilbot79

EU leaders seriously need to think about the impact of having a load of unvetted non-EU citizens here if a global war breaks out between West and South. These people love our money in peacetime but when war breaks out they will hate us and sabotage us from within.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Build a big FO mansion in Meath without planning permission - 'No way lads, that's coming down'…so it is

Meath house.jpg

Build a big FO estate of 65 houses in Wicklow (repurposed for Ipas) without planning permission and with no sewage facilities, leading to 40,000 gallons of human waste per week shipped out (paid for by us in some form) - 'That's grand lads…work away'

WW IPAS.jpg

Brenda Power (Sindo) - https://archive.ph/Dc9Pv

Goldstein Properties are complete amateurs when it comes to this racket - €74m…pfft!

The McEneany family on the other hand, are total pro's - in Oct last year The Irish Mirror reported €231m paid to them…

..so I'd say they've hit the magic 'quarter of a billion' by now. Bear in mind that the profit margins in this game are massive (Biz post had an article on it quoting margins of between 40 and 70%) - I wonder when the disabled people of Ireland were shafted in the budget did Seamus and family squirm a bit? - I doubt it somehow

@Stephen_Maturin - outstanding work last week (edit:and this). I really enjoyed all the skewering, filleting and especially the arse handing-over ceremony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭rgossip30

You want to continue to make an issue of an error I made 2 days ago which I acknowledged. I assure you it was not intentional .An AI mixup that claimed they were cso figures . I don't like misinformation regardless of the source .

You don't see the negatives about high immigration not living here .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

You have spent a number of posts trashing Dr Lenihan's reel using the usual slur far right .The only error you found was in the unemployment figures .You never did listen to the reel but tried to nitpick my comments only .No link or proof to justify your remarks which any half wit can make .You seem to be now saying your not pro immigration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,112 ✭✭✭riddles

Who needs hosputality when you can open two ipas centres in a small town and coin it in.

Post edited by riddles on

You want to continue to make an issue of an error I made

You literally asked me for proof.

Prove I repeated the error only to say that full employment was reached in early 2000.

🤷‍♀️

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,111 Mod ✭✭✭✭circadian

MOD NOTE: Any more discussion on whether another poster is a "paid shill" or similar will be met with infractions and, if necessary, bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭sekiro

A part of government policy is to allow mostly men to come here from the Middle-East and Africa and then give them a room and food at the Irish taxpayers expense.

What are the "pros" of this particular policy? Genuinely. Without resorting to accusations of racism etc what are the simple positives that will arise from implementing this policy?

Then we come to the issue of the "cons". An obvious downside to the government policy is that there will be a raw increase in the absolute numbers of women and girls being assaulted. So if we did not have this policy the number of victims would be X but with this "let them stay in hotels funded by the taxpayer" policy in play the number of victims will instead be X+Y. Add in the fact that the new arrivals of this type are disproportionately more likely to commit these specific crimes.

You're trying to tell me that, because I think that actually the positives, whatever they are, absolutely do not outweigh the negatives of this government policy, I must be racist? Nah.

Personally, I would say that every single person who is victimised as a consequence of these government policies are generally just seen as acceptable collateral damage. Nobody wants to point out that the people who commit these crimes have no business being in Ireland at all, nevermind being guests of our government, with their seemingly indefinite stay funded by the taxpayer.

Instead we have, for example on this thread, people who do not even live in Ireland absolutely determined to handwave all of this away as just far-right racism or whatever.

There are women and girls on this island right now who have been the victims of men who simply should not be here. Why is it government policy to not only allow them to be here but to invite even more men knowing damn well that the raw numbers of victims will increase as a consequence of that policy?

What are we saying here, people? That whatever positive results we can have from this system of handing taxpayer money to blokes who just show up here looking for handouts are so unbelievably good that the additional numbers of victims is simply a price we are all willing to pay lest we be accused of racism?

Seriously, what possible good can be arising out of the current Irish immigration policies that we would just happily wave off the negatives as "just the way things are, I suppose"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

We are such a soft touch it’s a joke

Having a pending asylum application should be like being on probation in a new job - if you can’t manage to go a few months without committing a crime then it should be sorry but you’re not going to be a fit for us, off you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Deleted.

Post edited by sligeach on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,735 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Can’t Ireland just do a swap deal? I would much prefer the vast majority of immigrants than the crowd who hang up tricolours to “mark” territory. To me it speaks volumes that it only happens in certain “areas”. And that to me shows certain socio-economic backgrounds can’t face the competition. To me the answer is simple. If you are rabid anti immigration to this country. The person is normally at least one / if not all of the following-

1. Uneducated
    2. Insecure in themselves
    3. Afraid of the competition from those who want a new life for themselves and start from the bottom up - the “competition” normally has has work ethic and drive to succeed more often than not.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Well unlike some, at least you aren’t coy about hiding your utter contempt for the less well off of Irish society

Competition be prized, Survival of the fittest then is it?

Unfortunately your hyper-capitalist wet dream would also involve the expulsion of a huge number of migrants - half of Ireland’s homeless are not Irish.

It would also involve the expulsion of thousands upon thousands of asylum seekers and refugees (including legitimate refugees rightfully here)

It doesn’t sound like a very pleasant society to live in to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭enricoh

There were people like you in Sweden a few years ago, they have gone very quiet nowadays. It's generally those living in area's virtually unaffected by immigration that cheerlead it the most.

Ivana bacik a few years in the link below lamenting that d4 only took 6 out of 23000 asylum seekers. Fill the place with them please Minister, they want em- fill their boots.

Source: Newstalk https://share.google/cMVUnfD92J57kiGvF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Yeah let's swap them for Somalian 'asylum seekers' who have such a fantastic record of not being unemployed forever and not being involved in crime. It's racism if you don't love the idea of more of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

An entirely unserious contribution to the debate. ‘Can’t we just magic away the people I don’t like?’

That being said, I partly agree - a not-insignificant minority of anti-immigration protesters are people I would want nothing to do with.

But what about the 80% of people who said in a Sunday Independent poll that ‘the government is not doing enough to tackle immigration’? Does the poster advocate deporting them all?

The pro-immigration crowd in Ireland are intent on zooming in on the tiny minority of xenophobes so as to ignore the vastly larger cohort of reasonable people with rational concerns. You can’t debate these people. You just have to talk over their heads.

Thank you for demonstrating this so well.

You offer no thoughts on the positives of the governments policy.

No thoughts on the negatives.

No opinion on whether the positives outweigh the negatives and explaining why that's just the cost of the government policy.

Just anyone who opposes the government policy is uneducated, insecure or afraid to work hard.

Basically, the government is doing a great job but you don't need to explain why and anyone who questions it (or hangs an Irish flag in Ireland) is actually just a bad person so there's no need to discuss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,028 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

@Boggles Your avatar is a penguin masquerading as a chicken. 🐧 🐓

Screenshot_2026-04-02-11-52-01-339-edit_com.android.chrome.jpg

https://wallaceandgromit.fandom.com/wiki/Feathers_McGraw

Just saying. 😉

It would almost just make you laugh at the absurdity of it all.

This gentleman has come here from Somalia and just wants to get his free room, food, energy usage and a bit of pocket money from the Irish taxpayer. It would be so terribly unfortunate if the fact that he is a sex offender were to jeopardise that!

Again, it's like the negative aspects of these government policies are seen as a bit of an inconvenience or unfortunate problem that we just have to ignore to get on with it.

Yeah, maybe the guy thought it was fine to go into a doctors waiting room and start jackin' it but we really really really want him to live here in Ireland so let's just look the other way eh?

The obvious question should be what is this man bringing to the table that's so good we can't just say "nah, application denied" and deport him immediately?

That's what I'm not getting. What's the benefit to Ireland there?

I think it's also pretty reasonable to ask what this man's prospects are in Ireland.

He's 42 years old living out of a hotel room in Galway and at a time when he should really have his head down waiting for his application to be dealt with he's out there committing offences and disturbing the peace of his prospective community. So before he's even been given leave to stay he's causing bother.

Seems like there's not much to hope for regarding his future prospects.

Noticed as well that his lawyer tried to block reporting on the incident.

So not only are we ignoring the negative effects of government policy but we are trying to block reporting on those negative effects because it might cause people to be unhappy about the government policy.

What an absolute mess we are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,794 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm sorry but you're about 2 years too late for this "anyone who has an issue with immigration is a big thick/scumbag xenophobic racist!" tripe.

It took a while I admit, but the majority of the natives have finally woken up to exactly what this represents.

Aside from examples like the no-doubt-doctor-in-waiting-right? public masturbater highlighted above (and there's many more like him who are involved in sexual crimes or just criminality in general as we're seeing reported more and more), most people (as evidenced by the polls in even the mainstream outlets now) have realised that many of these people represent nothing but a drain on our economy, society, and security.

The reason the more vocal protests happen only "in certain areas" is because it's the lower-working class areas and rural areas that have been targeted for all these wonderful "Cultural Enrichment Centres" (AKA IPAS centres) that have been dumped on the communities in question. It's actually no small achievement to get the Irish population motivated to actually speak up for themselves and protest in significant numbers - previously it was Water Charges in 2014, before that Anti-Drugs protests in the late 90s. Takes a LOT to get us out on the streets in reality!

Of course, you know all this if you are as wordly and educated as you infer. Reading the papers would show you that. It's perhaps reading the room that might be something to focus on.

I'm sorry but you're about 2 years too late for this "anyone who has an issue with immigration is a big thick/scumbag xenophobic racist!" tripe.

But that isn't want they said even allowing a bit of leeway for your false quote for effect.

They said very specifically.

Can’t Ireland just do a swap deal? I would much prefer the vast majority of immigrants than the crowd who hang up tricolours to “mark” territory.

I'm sure your good self wouldn't want to be tarred the same as with that crowd, no more than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,735 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That is a very false framing of a narrative and very telling of your thought process. Which again very tellingly got many likes. I used that post to test the vibe of this thread. It has worked perfectly.
    It is not the “less well off” I have contempt for.But the mindset where people keep themselves down. With an inbuilt inferiority complex.

Lack of societal progression because of inter generational short term thinking and fear of failure. Lack of drive. It is much easier for people with such a mindset to create “them and us” It is a lazy self defeating mindset.

If you look at migrants in general they want to progress create a better life for themselves. They are forced to work hard to succeed.
    In contrast to the uneducated and those from lower socioeconomic backgrounds who are very threatened by this. Instead of using it to drive themselves on as well the reaction is keep “them” out.

No doubt many on this thread have relatives who were economic migrants to the USA,UK Australia who became successful when they moved abroad because there was drive to succeed.

It is no coincidence that the tricolour markers areas are from certain socioeconomic backgrounds poor education levels . And ultimately areas people who want to progress will ultimately move away from. If people in such areas work hard enough and/or achieve the required educational attainment. It breaks the inter generational cycle of unemployment/low educational attainment etc.

Also there are varying types of migrants it is again interesting that you jump to asylum seekers. The vast majority of asylum seekers are not in Ireland for the craic. In the more extreme scenarios it is a life or death situation. Which more often than not leads to a drive and wanting to succeed as it is not just a chance at economic success. It is a chance at life.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.