Just need to vent - wtf is wrong with some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭bacon?

No, it's not my thing, posting daily updates of our life online. She found her tiktok partner, grand, just the way she went about it was proper cold.

Completely agree. Some people feel the need to constantly post how great their life is for validation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

they do- so block, ignore and leave them at it. And focus on your own life

Good advice, unfortunately, I've been mostly on my own for the past 2 weeks, looking after my Mam's house while she's in care. I'll be returning home (I live abroad) in a week. So, just me and the cat :D I am keeping as busy as I can, but just needed to vent a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭SineadSpears

I have to disagree with Daithi above (really sorry Daithi). I wouldn’t go around telling everyone what happened between the two of you. Relationships are private, and sharing details only gives other people something to gossip about - at the expense of your own hurt. In any case, people will see her posts and make their own judgments.

Hold your head up and get on with your life. Don’t let her actions have any power over you. You said you thought you were dating a good, caring person - that says a lot about you, because it most likely means you are one too. And if you’re in the gym taking care of yourself, you already have plenty to offer.

Try not to compare yourself to him either. It might be what she wants, but it doesn’t mean there’s anything wrong with you just because you’re not as tanked up as he is. (I secretly giggle when I see someone too big, it makes me think of a kid in a Halloween Hulk or Captain America costume🙊. I know I should admire the dedication, but my brain does what it does.)

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,263 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Ok was the perfect reply. She was expecting a fight, or you to beg, or you to do something. By reacting at all, all you're doing is letting her know that she has the ability to upset you. She has upset you, but don't give her that power.

She will absolutely come looking for you when you're back. Maybe not to get back together, but to "still be friends" so she can convince herself she didn't do something shtty and you and her "are good".

Don't fall for it. Don't pay her any attention, because it is attention she wants. Remain neutral. If she asks to meet up with you say you don't see any reason to, or tell her you're not available whatever.

Do not go looking for answers from her because you'll either get BS, or you'll get blamed! Neither of which are going to make you feel any better. I know the curiousity is there to watch what she's doing, so I wouldn't tell you to stop checking her social media just yet. (We all are guilty of doing it!)

But don't spend too long hanging on. There's others out there who won't treat you like she did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,291 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Those social media posts are either directed to you or her social circle ... or both. No-one dates someone for a few weeks and proclaims "i found the man i deserve" unless there's a target audience. (You, social circle)

It is all lies dude. However as other said, stop looking. It hurts the healing process.

Post edited by B.A._Baracus on

I've only told one close female friend, who knows her, and who's a regular at the same gym. I was pretty disappointed by her take.

She said she's found someone she likes better and wishes she could find that kind of love. I told her that I can accept someone breaking up and choosing a new person if they really are happier with them, but the way she did it was just plain wrong.

She said she saw them in the gym together and actually heading off for their bike ride adventure (the one where she send me videos and that she can't wait for me to come back) actually defending her saying they were probably just friends at that point. All the receipts are there, the next day there was loved up posts. She was 100% flirting and starting something new. My friend finally conceded what she did was wrong, but still likes her.

That's pretty upsetting too.

No, there was no verbal agreement, but we were together, I didn't think it needed to be said. When you're with someone, you're with someone. I doubt if it was even said it would have made a difference.

I actually got advances, from girls I was attracted to and didn't do anything. I believe in loyalty, respect and decency. I did cheat on a gf many years ago, when I was young, and felt physically sick after, let her know and broke it off… I've never cheated since. I couldn't do it. If I'm with someone and I want to see other people, I'll break it off first.

I've had girls break up with me in the past, but not like this. Literally posting videos in bed together with a new guy, and sending me comforting messages about my issues at home.

I'll be a lot more careful in future. I know not all women are like this, but she's definitely gifed me trust issues.

@bacon?

You really do need someone you trust and feel comfortable with to get things off your chest, especially after a breakup that hurt you. At the same time, I just don’t think it’s a good idea to try to turn a group of people against her.

Others may see it as a romantic situation that doesn’t involve them, and they might choose to not take sides.

In a few months, you’ll feel better knowing you didn’t react emotionally or give her anything she could twist or use against you later. She's the one in the wrong here, but if you do anything nasty, it only helps her make claims like - “See, this is why it didn’t work out with him.” Don’t give her ANYTHING to feed off. Your silence and maturity say more than any reaction ever could.

And just to be clear about what I meant earlier: when I said I don’t consider myself in an official relationship until I hear the words, I still act exclusively once I start dating someone, even if it’s not labeled yet (most normal people do). I only wondered whether she felt like your relationship was casual because it’s unusual to be open to meeting someone else while already seeing a person.

....…

2026: 'This is where something better begins' (←well that plan ain't working out too well)

Thanks for the support Sinead, and everyone else. It does help. I've booked flights back for this weekend, and will meet up with one of my last best friends here for a chat before I go.

Yeah, I can understand my gym friend not wanting to get too involved, but I thought this was a pretty clear case of heartlessness.

I never got the impression she thought we were in an open relationship. She just wanted to be with another guy, string me along until it was secured and then dump me, all while posting her escapades online for all to see. She's a bad egg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

“I've only told one close female friend, who knows her, and who's a regular at the same gym.”

Assume everything you told that Friend to be repeated to your ex - this may have been your wish?

No, they're not that close. Also nothing I've said to my friend my ex doesn't already know. My ex has to know I've seen her posts. She literally has the same username on Facebook and Tiktok, not to mention the threads link on her ig is still active. Not that she cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭NiceFella

She sounds like an absolute melt 🤣. Bacon lad, you dodged a bullet. These people are so conceited they aren't worth a second thought or min of your time. I largely agree with Big Bag of chips saying she'll be trying to communicate with you. The only thing is I wouldn't even say anything back to them. sayonara, good luck!

You have to realize that People who are obsessed with social media aren't mentally healthy, there is something off about them and it's a compensation for having zero meaning in their lives. It's that simple. You'll feel better when you know that these people are mostly vacant and unaware of how much they're wasting their own existence.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Mod note

Posters are reminded that asking for PMs is strictly forbidden in the PI/RI forum. If anyone receives a PM on the back of a post or thread in this forum, please let one of the moderators or an admin know.

HS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,217 ✭✭✭spaceHopper

Some women have to have a boyfriend, when that relationship has run it's course, they get a new one and then let go of the old one. It's not a nice thing to do but that how they do it. It's not you it's them. Hope your mum is OK, give it time and you'll meet someone better.

I've no problem with someone ending a relationship if they want to be with someone else, however, she strung me along, sending me caring supportive messages while fcuking another guy and posting intimate videos publicly. It won't be too hard to find someone better than that narcissist, and it's certainly been a life lesson.

Thanks for asking about my Mam, she's doing much better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

Sounds like she didn't consider the relationship she had with you serious or exclusive. Had you had a conversation around this?

I didn't think we needed to as I was sure we were. We were even planning a trip when I got back. We were together.

There really isn’t much anyone could learn from a situation like that. There were no signs or warnings of what was going to happen.

As you said, everything seemed to be going well between you two - you were making plans together, and she was supportive the whole time you were away looking after your mam.

There is a reason for everything but it’s one that only she has the answers to. Maybe one day you’ll hear, through the grapevine, what actually happened. For now it’s okay not to have that clarity, what's done is done.

It’s unusual and confusing, and the only thing that really makes sense is that she may not have been viewing it as a relationship, even though her actions very much suggested otherwise.

Did you ever talk much about past relationships - whether hers tended to be more casual, or if they were usually serious?

....…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Avatar in the Post

^^^ that’s an important point. Don’t look at all relationships through a lens dominated by this relationship.

Thanks for the feedback, but if I'm being honest, I've learned a lot from this experience, and in hindsight/a month to reflect, I can see our vibe/energy/goals etc, were not exactly aligned. She's a bit younger, a fitness influencer wannabee, so I did overlook her "look at me" gym posts/videos, but now see that she's just obsessed with validation, quick dopamine highs, attention, adventure etc…

She lasted 2 weeks, and folded with a bit of attention from a steroid dude at the gym, with a bigger bike.

I've never liked to come off as controlling, but I see now, I should have called her on the thirst trap posts… Part of me sort of knew, long term we were a mismatch.

The reason it effected me so much was just how she betrayed me, not just finding out she was sleeping with another guy, while messaging me, but uploading public intimate videos the week before dumping me, all while I was alone and vulnerable/stressed. Like being treated like a piece of trash, thrown out a car window and backed over a few times.

It has been a wake up call to exactly how straight up callous, some people, even the ones you trust most, can be.

I'll be a lot more cautious in future.

What does him having ''a bigger bike'' mean?? You've mentioned that twice I think

....…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭skallywag

I assume it's along the same lines as my cow is better than your cow?

Update, almost 3 months on.

I saw them multiple times at the gym, but acted completely indifferent. Not easy in the beginning, but got better. I did catch her staring over at me a few times, I just looked through her.

She unblocked me on ig 2 weeks ago and yesterday she sent me a pretty polished apology text for the way she treated me and that she feels guilty. I left her on read of course.

Silence really can be louder than words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,420 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

jesus, social media is completely fcuked up, join another gym, and delete all social media, or you re head will be mashed!

Not changing my gym of 10 years over some pos cheater. Life goes on, she's already fading into the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,420 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,397 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Honestly, fair play to you for taking the higher ground. It's bad enough what she done but it can't be easy seeing them together in the gym and still holding your head up.

Looking through her is a boss move 💪

It might be worth considering blocking her now. She can see that you didn't throw a tantrum before by blocking her, but now you don't have any reason to be connected to someone like that. And you're not interested in anything she has to say.

The last thing you need is for the new BF to find out she's messaging you, saying she's sorry, and you being dragged into drama with the two of them!

....…