Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 49 terracedgarden

Great win for St. Kieran's, delighted they saw it out as were loosing early in the 2nd half. I thought Richie Power juniors son Ruairi would have been involved yesterday. Maybe he was on the subs bench?

Will be interesting to see the Kilkenny team named for the weekend. I think Richie Reid will be starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

u19 game Friday night is on Clubber.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭kentu

Looking forward to heading the match Saturday night to see what kind of reaction we will get. Kilkenny will surely come ready for a battle big time. I know for the League there is nothing at stake for either team but We need to see a positive reaction before coming into the championship.

Before the league started i felt this was one game I really wanted Kilkenny to win, we have to stop the rot big time against tipp as they've had our number at all grades over the past few years. I would also hope good numbers come out in support but I wouldn't be overly confident of this given our track record in recent times.

TJ night make an appearance on the panel this weekend, probably still a bit early for Adrian and Harry Shine, unsure of Marty Murphy and Mackessy's fitness, but it would be good to see if they can offer us something coming into Championship.

Hard to know who will Man full back with Carey out injured probably, Corcoran seemed to go there in Galway game when he went off, There was talk of Deegan going back on here during the week I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭robwen

1000009548.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Marrooned

If Paddy Deegan is full back on Saturday night that would surely be a backward step for the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 kilkenny123456

Not 100% on this at all so correct me if I’m wrong but I think Ruairi Powers only in 5th year. Was he wearing number 16 yesterday of have I that wrong?

Ye I think O Mahony will certainly bring something to the U20 full forward line.

It’s good to see KK naming the underage panels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 covcat

While agreeing that we need a reaction to last performance I'm not sure we need to go to war with Tipp on this occasion would much rather see A team something along the lines of

D.Galway

M. Butler R .Garrett. I. Bolger

P.McDonald E.Lyng S.Murphy

D.Blanchfield K.Doyle

L.Moore. J.Donnelly T.Clifford

T.Phelan. T.J.Reid. H.Shine

Obviously this depends on how fit some of lads are fit.I think it gets game time into some a bit more experience for some and a little break for others before we need the big reaction above in Salthill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭KK36

I'd say there's very little chance of Eoin Lyng and Harry Shine starting.

We could do with Shine as an option during the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I definitely like the idea of giving more players a run, and I would worry that they might over react to the last day and just go back to all experienced players. But I would say a team like that is very unlikely, and also it would probably be annihilated by tipp, which they definitely don't want two weekends in a row right before championship. They need confidence back, I'd expect some more familiar faces than that. I do like the idea of Garrett getting a run at full back though, they should at least do that for a while at the weekend, see what options we have.

I see where you’re coming from with that team but too many newcomers to put up a decent challenge imo.maybe end up with that many.

I'm not sure whether that team would mount a serious challenge or not to be honest but what I am sure about is to return to same old same old of last 5/6 years will do us no good either.To me now is time to try something different as I'm fairly sure Cahill will be trying something different.As I said in earlier post the time to go to war is 1st round Robin game in Salthill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Takeyourpoints

I'm getting what you're saying but going out and letting all the young lads get a hammering two weeks in a row would be scarring. We need to blend the players in so that we can build a panel with a mix of old and young. That means we have to have a few more experienced players in there to lead. Also why are you dropping Darragh Corcoran when he also needs as much game time as possible to get him up to speed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Rebelside

Tipp V Kilkenny:

Shelly

Doyle B McGrath Breen

Connolly Maher ODonoghue

Martin D Stakelum

Morris Tynan OFarrell

D McCarthy J McGrath Forde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Very strong side, thought they'd experiment a bit more but that's a team revving up for championship. Should be a great test for us as we rev up for galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

10 all Ireland final starters. 4 of last year's u20 team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Village87

I don't see it as dropping anyone what I am suggesting is giving game time to possibly Tj,Shine,J.Donnelly T.Phelan etc.Giving Garrett,Bolger,Lyng some experience while Giving the likes of Corcoran,Molloy,Kenny,Cody&Mossy a bit of a rest before Championship.The last thing I want to see is Deegan FB and R.Reid CB as I think it's time to move on great servants and all as they have been to Kilkenny hurling. As for getting a hammering two games in a row Maybe we might get a nice surprise who knows anyway best of luck to all who take the field against Tipp and indeed going forward

we saw enough of the old hands. Rebuild now.

Id expect TJ to play, get a match under him before Salthill and strengthen us up so we can try beat Tipp who are actually vulnerable at the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Nedflanders02

Do lads need a rest? They won't play another game for 4/5 weeks after Saturday night. Another game against top quality oppisition is exactly what Corcoran needs and I'd like to see a reaction from Mossy/Cody etc.. after the Galway game. Obviously if anyone is carrying a knock you wouldn't risk them this close to championship. I'd agree Donnelly and Phelan need more game time and Garrett/Bolger/Moore etc.. wold benefit masively from another game. If TJ is fit then 20/30 minutes would be perfect for him, I don't think Shine or Lyng will be anwhere near fit enough yet unfortunately. I'd like to see Ian Byrne and, if fit, Marty Murphy get a bit of game time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭neverbet

If rumours that Mikey Butler and Mick Carey both out, then Deegan and Reid must start. I would have them on either way as I don't see any better at present. I haven't been convinced Darragh Corcoran is quite good enough. I hope we can get someone to slot in at full back. Fair play to Carey or anyone that gives it a go as it is by some distance the most difficult position to fill. Boger/ Garrett and Moore have shown signs of stepping up and would like to see all three againstcTipp. Very strong Tipp side so KK should put out the strongest team available. Would also like to see a much bigger support for the team, as they really deserve it.

Mikey Carey will be a loss he has been excellent full back imo, a lot of problem lies with the lack of pace in the half back line, Carey got very little help in there. I would have Blanchfield nailed on as one wing back, possibly Molloy the other, we need pace and energy in the half back line, Reid and Deegan do not bring that imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 driveitshort

Tallis butler Deegan Bolger Corcoran Reid Molloy Kenny Doyle j Donnelly Cody Phelan mossy tj moore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Is that the team or what you want to see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 driveitshort

If Deegan is full back it’s a huge step backwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭Charlie69

I would have like to have seen Corcoran tried at full back at some point during the league and Blanchfield at number six.