Feeling stuck in my boyfriend's family business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭headtheball14

they aren't going to sign the business over to your boyfriend, he would lose his disability allowance and why would they do that when they can get an employee frwe to subsidize them.

you've spent over a year since you said you would leave waiting for something to change ,it hasn't , it won't don't waste anymore time, find a job ,aldi or lidl would be better your official a tenant in the flat now so hopefully you can stay there .

if it ends nastily then report to revenue wrc etc. they are exploiting you both

contact migrant rights for support

https://www.mrci.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

That tenancy agreement isnt worth anything, she is a lisencee, meaning she only gets a weeks notice. If you say you are leaving expect consequences and repercussion. "When did Noah build the Ark? Before it rained". Have that job got at Lidl or Aldi and new tenancy agreed. I am not sure that your boyfriend can make that jump with you. With your boyfriend its making your mind up time, its either time to get married or finish up. If you cannot decide after a year you can never decide.

That is perfect for the Father, keeps them right under the thumb with the tenancy. The real truth is the OP has probably been the day to day manager for the last two years and has a wealth of experience. Good retail staff are impossible to find. I know my wife was a manager in a slightly different circumstance to yourself (the bosses little darling fix it all manager but no money or proper compensation for it). These people do not negotiate or put everything on the never never until they cannot ignore it. Honestly OP, even though we see you carrying the shop and business (and boyfriend) they do not see it that way. They will NOT come to the negotiating table to meet you with serious intent.

A lot of very serious decisions are going to be made with far reaching consequences for all three parties (OP, Boyfriend, Shop). When these decision happen and what plays out afterwards there can be no undoing them. My wife was in similar position and as soon as the owner heard, it came as a shock to him and the wife, they were down the next day to see what could have been done. It was a case of she told them 18 month previously and she was put on the long finger.

I dont mean to trod down on anyones business but the larger independent corner shop is on the way out. Lidl and Aldi are already in every secondary country town. In five years they will be in every large village. I see the traditional family shop being taken over by foreign families with greater cohesive power like in the UK. I saw my own wifes shop where the staff couldnt pull together as a team and it is now falling apart. I see no working for the greater good in this family. I see no spread of benefits and no inheritance and retirement plan. I just see two tired people working as slave labour. There fore there is no third generation to pass the shop onto.

Post edited by SupaCat95 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Detritus70

Fully Automated Luxury Gay Space Communism

Oh yeah it is framed very deceptively. It is always like a utopian society but they never get there. The OP and her boyfriend have missed a lot of milestones in their lives. How many more do they have to miss to realise the sham the father is running.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,262 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

You have no chance of getting a mortgage at the moment. None.

The longer you stay working for nothing the less chance you gave of a mortgage.

Why is your bf claiming Disability if he is actually capable of working? Surely working elsewhere for a proper wage would be more beneficial to claiming Disability and working round the clock for his father for free.

You are being lied to and abused. They are telling you that you need them. You don't. They are actually holding you back. Both of you. They need you far more than you need them. So you either use that as your leverage to negotiate better terms for yourself, and your bf if you wish, or you walk away and let them figure it out. You have zero rights to anything right now. Not the business, or the accomodation. You are not a tenant so they can get rid of you at any time.

When you are on disability you are allowed work a certain amount of hours. There is no chance of getting a mortgage without two incomes. Been there done that. I was in that place, they wont say it but…….. they will tell you no without a reason. That auld lisences is a right gun to the head, "Do as I say or you are homeless next week". Total control freak.

Lesson to be learned when interviewing for a job, if they ever say "We are like family", run.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,262 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Sorry, I should have qualified the above by asking why he's claiming disability when he's able to work full-time + some!

He can claim disability plus work certain hours - and be paid a wage for it. Your bf is being used by his family who think they don't have to pay him anything because he's claiming Disability Benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 SassyOchreTurtle

My boyfriend receives Disability Allowance because he has had several psychiatric hospitalisations in the past. It is related to his mental health history, not because he is unwilling to work.

To be honest, even his own mother told me about a year ago that she doesn’t believe he would be able to run the business on his own.

The situation is complicated. My boyfriend is intelligent, but he had a very difficult childhood and from what I understand he experienced quite a lot of mistreatment growing up. Because of that, he sometimes struggles to make decisions and still believes the family business is the only path to stability for us as a couple.

I personally see things differently, which is why I’m trying to figure out what the best decision is for my future.

I was actually going to give his father tomorrow in a meeting the chance to explain himself why the hell he doesn't hire staff and leave us like this. But he's going to lie like he's being doing all his life. Reading all these comments made me feel a bit stronger so I'm just going to hand my notice. I have to think about myself now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,716 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Exactly what notice are you required to give according to the contract I would bet literally anything on you not having???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,867 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

And your bf has no chance of ever being assessed for a mortgage. He is living on social welfare in the eyes of the system and any bit of pity money he gets is probably under the table so not declarable.

You are 35 and currently have no pattern of a secure income, savings, no assets.

Yup as someone else said, they need you more than you need them because if..and it's a stretch.. that the business is eventually signed over to you both, or even just him, you've said so yourself OP, mentally he won't manage it by himself. You're going to be propping up this family for the rest of your life essentially.

Is this man really worth it?

You say you have a great family back at home.

Is it time to go home?

To thine own self be true

I assume I must technically have a contract because I am registered with Revenue and officially working 21 hours per week (the father does not want to pay a full-time wage).

However, I have never actually signed anything. The only time I saw anything resembling a contract or payslip was once in an email belonging to the father, but nothing was ever given to me to sign.

My boyfriend does not have a contract either, and one of the two employees working in the other shop also does not have a contract and is paid cash in hand.

There was recently a workplace inspection and apparently some irregularities were identified. This is what the mother told me herself. She seemed quite worried and said that some contracts were never done because in family businesses in the past things were often handled informally like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭POBox19

I feel genuinely sorry for you and the situation you have landed yourself into. You have drip fed information about this a little at a time building a picture of abuse at the hands of an uncaring family and personal desperation. Just now the bombshell: 21 hours wages per week for what appears to be 80 hours work/slavery. It is truly shocking that this type of modern slavery is happening to a vulnerable young woman in this age.

You have been lied to and treated like a fool by the father, mother and son. They have systematically abused your feelings and you have accepted it because blinded by love you probably thought that you could help him, but you can't while inside that toxic family. You are not the first person to fall for this type of stunt.

Take the next bus out of that god forsaken village, or spend the rest of your life in misery.

Apologies for being blunt, but you deserve better in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Kalimah

That last revelation is beyond belief. Paid for 21 hours a week officially but in reality probably doing three times as many. No payslip, contract, proper annual leave. That’s slavery to be honest. There’s no future there. Get out as soon as you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭rolling boh

You are been walked on so get out as soon as possible to at least build your own career and get everything above board .You will regret it when its maybe too late if you allow the current situation continue .The best of luck to you ,you deserve so much better .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,867 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Are you sure they're definitely submitting your payment details to Revenue because if not, you have no PRSI record for the past 2 years.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I was in that situation of the cage open but not going before. My situation was arguably worse than the OP's boyfriend…at least he could have a legitimate inheritance waiting. For me it was my uncle's business that I had to work for. My mother and all my siblings had to. My father was controlling and abusive. I was working from the age of 11. At one point in my late teens, I worked 80 days in a row…I didn't stop because of a scheduled day off. I eventually physically couldn't go to work. My body said no more. OP's boyfriend's father has probably been a manipulative lying sack of controlling sh1t his entire life. He probably has a tinge of Stockholm Syndrome. Only thing to solve it is distance and time.

My boyfriend receives Disability Allowance because he has had several psychiatric hospitalisations in the past. It is related to his mental health history, not because he is unwilling to work.

I didn't mean to insinuate that he was unwilling to work. Clearly if you are both working 6 days a week with little or no annual leave then he is not unwilling to work. But he might be better of in a more stable job, less hours, more leave, more stability. He could still claim his disability and work properly and have more money.

Have you considered that his current work circumstances are largely contributing to his mental health problems? You can't save him, if he doesn't want to be saved. But you don't have to be dragged down with him.

The shop has actually been very damaging for his mental stability. Especially during Christmas, when the workload becomes extreme and there are usually only the two of us running everything. He gets very stressed and overwhelmed, and afterwards I often feel like I’m the one trying to pick up the pieces.

I feel sorry for him because he has no real perception of normal labour rights. He genuinely believes that what happens in this business is normal. At times he has told me that he took on the shop “for us”, so that we could settle down and have a future together. He believes that before the shop there was no future and that we wouldn’t find better conditions anywhere else.

I think he has been in this environment for so long that he has started to believe these things himself.

But as you said, I can't let be dragged down because at this very moment, no-one is taking care of me.

It's difficult, because you clearly care about him. But there comes a point where you have to make a choice and decide if the relationship really is worth the stress and upset it is causing. He is stuck in a situation and can't see any alternative. Neither of you are happy. Your health (both of you) is being affected by this environment. If nothing changes, then nothing changes.

You can't control anything outside of yourself. So unless you make a change in yourself, nothing will change. Everybody else is going to keep doing what they've always done, because there is no reason for them to change. If you change, the situation changes. Either other people will have to adapt to the changes you have made, or they don't but at least you have rescued yourself from the situation.

I think you need to get another job. As a matter of urgency. Anywhere. Send your CV into a recruitment agency and you'll likely have a job offer within a week.

You are all adults here. I know you care for your bf and worry about him, but at the end of the day he is an adult, and he is responsible for his own decisions and choices. It's hard to stand back and watch someone continuing to struggle. But until he realises he needs to change things for himself there's not a lot you can do. But you can refuse to be part of the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Joesa

The father probably thinks he's doing what's best.

Look at the 2 successful business he owns. How is what he's doing wrong.

I know it's not in everyones best interests. But he wouldn't see that way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

The father knows rightly what game he's playing. Do you honestly not see what he's doing wrong? He's exploiting the OP and her BF. He's breaking several labour laws. And there's no way on earth he's letting this 'foreign lass' get any hold on his business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,232 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Hi OP

I've read all the comments and sympathise with your situation. You are caught between a rock and a hard place in wanting to help your boyfriend. It's time though now to cut your losses.

I wouldn't say anything to either of them. Get your CV updated and get online. If you want to stay in retail everywhere are looking for staff - Lidl, Aldi, Tesco and Dunnes. Get some applications in, get interviews and set yourself up ready to leave. Be prepared for the fall out. Have somewhere you can go and stay if needed but its time to look after yourself.

Do not resign until have everything in place. New job start date AND new accommodation. Place yourself in the fathers psyche, he will kick you to the kerb before he finishes reading the letter in a fit of rage. He will actually have to pay someone to do your hours. I am guessing you are racking up about 60 hours a week and have to pay tax on it too. Thats a load of money. Expect paper work problems exiting. Dont expect a reference.

I am curious to the fathers state of mind, that the mindset of a family business is to pass it onto the next generation. This is shooting his future family in the foot, I am guessing it is the only son.

He is not the only child. My boyfriend actually has three siblings: an older sister who lives in New York, a brother who lives in the south of Ireland, and a younger sister who currently lives with the parents.

All of them are very well established professionally and none of them are involved in the business. In fact, his father once told me that his dream would be for the older sister (the one living in New York) to come back and help run the business.

Something that I found interesting is that once someone asked the younger sister if she would ever want to be involved in the family business. Her reaction was basically “Oh God no, that’s what my brother is for.”

From what I have seen, most of the family seem to see the situation as normal. Several relatives have even said things to me like “welcome to the life of mil & fil"

One cousin did tell me something that stayed with me though. She said that when my boyfriend was younger he was often forced to work in the family business and that he was treated quite harshly growing up. I can’t fully judge what happened back then, but it did make me understand better why he feels so tied to the business today.

Reading that again, I know this sounds harsh, but I dont see you fitting into the central or even the greater picture….. or maybe any of the picture. There is no way in hell the daughter is going to up root the American family and hubby to move back and be under the thumb AGAIN. The rest of the family do not see the situation as normal they see it as there is nothing that can be done to change and have move off and moved on to better lives.

The relatives were trying to warn you, you cannot see the bars but you are in prison. Your boyfriend is brainwashed through conditioning. He believes he is lynchpin of his community, his father is an astute business man with a thriving business. The business is "thriving because he is not paying ye about €65k a year (considering you and boyfriend are working a combined 110 hour week at minimum wage) and that is short changing you because you are manager and he hasnt paid you supervisor rates. He does not pay you properly because he cannot. He does not pay you properly so he can control you both. If you dont have saving or money you cannot make decisions without him.

You are not potential daughter in law/ future store manager material you are disposable commodity, He is still treating you like kids (probably still treats his other kids like children hence they moved off).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭rock22

I sympathise with your situation. I would suggest, however, that you separate your romantic involvement from your employment as much as you can.

As has been suggested already, get your CV sorted and begin applying for other jobs. Your experience would be a big selling point for many retail employers. Only resign when you have another opening secured.

Your BF can make up his own mind. Perhaps he will continue to work in the family business , or not, and you can then assess you relationship without having to fear for your employment or accommodation.

Do not make any plans on the basis of what someone else, the father, might leave as an inheritance. The inheritance might never come about, or if it does , it might have various conditions. For instance, the shop might be left in a trust for your bf to allow him continue to receive disability allowance. etc. Siblings might challenge any will. Especially if the father has indicated his preference for the sister to get involved in the business.

So, my two cents worth, is get your CV sorted, get another job, and then evaluate you relationship. In that order

There are three things she cannot separate, her career, her boyfriend and her accommodation. They are all tied together that is the problem. As soon as she says she is resigning she will be told to take her stuff and get out of the accommodation, the boyfriend will be told she was nothing but a gold digger anyways. This is time for a clean break. My worry is the boyfriend cannot leave. I would say he will experience a meltdown shortly/immediately afterward what ever happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,015 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The boyfriend is so affected by mental illness that doctors have certified he is unfit for full time work, and expected to be like that for life.

I have some sympathy for the family, who are foing what they know to support a family member who would not be able to get work elsewhere. Only some, because they are also exploiting his girlfriend.

We have no idea if the business is even making money: Revenue by itself is irrelevant. Profit is what matters.

Women's Aid and Migrant Rights are the places to go for help. The goal needs to be for the OP to escape the situation, safety.