Ray Darcy's new Daily podcast starts March 9th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

I think Raymond should have taken the 50k RTE Gold job. I don't see how money can made doing a podcast, especially when there are other team members to pay. Raymond probably has his first holy communion money and it at an age were may would love to start winding down, and spend time on their own interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭Bellbottoms

I have just started reading the interview.

A couple of things.

He says his dad was a prick. Is this the same dad he used to have on the show regularly and was telling us how great he was and whos pancake recipe he would always go on and on about. Or is Pancake dad his step dad.

He makes a point about RTE knowing what they were getting when they hired him. He is vocal yah see. But nothing about him knowing what the expectation the extra pay in RTE were all about.

He talks about listenership going up. But it took 11 years to go from half of what Liveline go to two thirds. That is not the boast you think it is Ray.

It is an odd interview and he is very lucky that Freyne conducted it. He gets the benifit of the doubt with no hard grilling.

But I really don't think Ray has put much thought it this. A 40 minute daily show, with presumably no music. What are we going to get 20 - 30 minutes of a news paper round up. I am guessing they will be doing the producing and researching themselves. Best of luck going through the papers everymorning. Trying to find a take all the other breakfast shows don't have.

Then the rest of the show is 20 minutes of Rays "A man more singed against then sinned act". Best of luck with that Ray. I give it six months at the most. Or will they spend it talking about the time Jenny didn't show up one morning and they rang one of the guests only to have Jenny answer it and tell them the guest was still in bed asleep. Hmmm why did you have his phone Jenny.

You should have taken the solt with Gold Ray. You were always better with the music stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,070 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

50k a year for a few hours each day on Gold playing oldies was a deal he should have taken, but I suppose guys like Ray would find it hard to go from 250k to 50k overnight, and he is probably too proud a man for his ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

No. I’m not.

@hawley can confirm these numbers as I know he saw them too.

Tubs doesn’t help himself by the time slot - they’re usually on Tuesday or Wednesday at 1pm. The Toyman seems to forget people have jobs and don’t really want to spend their limited lunch time listening to him talk about books he hasn’t read and movies he went to for free and fell asleep during…in between the humblebragging and the name dropping…..

His delivery is awful in these live pods, even worse than radio and the regular bookshelf pod (with a guest) which at least had some elements of structure to them. The live pods are just him riffin’, guffawing at his own stories, namedropping, plugging free stuff and gigs he went to for free, name dropping, and using Aidan Power (who produces it) and Tom (the cameraman) as a crutch whenever he runs out of things to say. It’s truly awful stuff. You can watch them back if you need proof, but I urge caution.

I had been wondering what happened to Aidan Power. Decents kids presenter. Thought he was being groomed for his own show at one stage.

So how does he involve Aidan and Tom?

Going live on a Wed on Tues at 1 pm is an awful time.

I was thinking a live show Tuesday or Thursday evenings when all the mammies are waiting for the kids to finish up GAA practice. But his target audience is probably a good bit older then that now. Late 40s early 50s wome and older.

Maybe I am wrong. Maybe it is a post irony 18 year olds with mullets and taches watching Ryan as they fall into a K hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,272 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Like Tubridy, another entitled git who thinks we all owe him a very well padded living, despite not being blessed with much in the way of talent for broadcasting

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Jelly Welly

might last til summer - might not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Where do people have the time to be listening to all these podcasts?

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Driving, cycling, walking, commuting I'm guessing. That's the only time I get to listen to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,742 ✭✭✭RoTelly

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/vincent-browne-told-me-to-take-a-gap-year-abroad-ray-darcy-on-his-public-humiliation-over-losing-his-job-at-rte/a940103571.html

This idea that Ray D'Arcy worked with RTÉ over 40 years is a bit of a strech, where are his co-hosts of Jo-maxi today, while he joined Today FM in 2000. I am still not convinced of this RnaG work he did.

2 Pod casts D'Arcy Daily and Being Human (Another article suggest many of the household names that have appear on The Bookshelf).

I'd agree with VB, take a year out, and both teens could easily travel with him for a year and return to school the following year. (or your rich enough find a very posh boarding school for them!)

So he said RTÉ gave him no warnings, RTÉ disagree.

He perhaps blames lack of communication, the irony being on RTÉ as a communications company … not him where is job everyday is to … communicate.

He had been put on a 2 year contract for 2024 and 2025 … why?

Now he blames Liveline loss in audience for his loss in audience, because they lead into him, basically he's admitting he relied on a strong show.

Monaghan met with D'Arcy alone, this seems strange, I agree with him there should have been someone else in the room.

He is only offered the slot on GOLD in a follow up meeting with Monaghan.

I'd say that RTÉ had done a deal with Callan. Callan wanted more money and RTÉ said they need more from him to justify the pay, he then asked that he be moved to 11am as he didn't want to be making his way in for 9am. This means a shuffle in the schedule. It's likely that more people knew of that shuffle and put 2 and 2 together and was able to suggest that Ray was going.

and a reduce number of hours for D'Arcy's show with music show also axed. I don't think RTÉ would have reduced Ray's pay along with the reduced 45mins to his show.

He was doing 60 - 70 hours a week when on both radio and TV, he's suggesting a ten hour day ! How is that possible? There is no way.

On the pay issue: -

It’s a bit embarrassing. We became whipping boys. There was a particular point there when Dee Forbes was DG [director general] and the government were at RTÉ and she made promises to them about reducing the salaries.“It struck me that we were just pushed out. People would say, well good enough for you because you’re paid well enough to put up and all of that. But I think just because you’re well paid doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be well treated.”

Noel Curran (Christmas Cake Fruit) had made those promise long before Dee Forbes entered, however she had inherited his pay packet leading the Chair (Moya Doherty) to make her famous statement stating that a sponsorship deal with Volkswagen for his radio show would "more than cover" his pay. D4bre's join that summer and well just followed what Christmas Cake Fruit was saying and doing.

He said there was “a constant ­tension” between on air-presenters and ‘the suits’ in RTÉ.

Really? Because that doesn't seem right when Jimbo Jennings goes to Joe Duffy's retirement do.

But he feels contracted presenters deserve more due to what he calls “the three Ps” — “a lack of permanence [in contract], a lack of privacy and most importantly lack of ­pension”.

Three P's covered

1. Lack of Permanence
      1. We found out that all of the top ten earners are on a 2 to 5 year contract with RTÉ, D'Arcy was there for 11 years on a high wage, that others don't get
    2. Lack of Privacy
      1. Even if you consider that D'Arcy is a high profile person, I'd say these last few years have been the most he's been in the public eye.
    3. Lack of Pension
      1. The high pay cover you for your lack of pension, just look at how the government introduced auto enrollement …. why?… because may low paid workers rely solely on PRSI in their pension years.
    4. And longer holidays, they were all getting between 6 and 8 weeks

I had to pull somebody up on this in [RTÉ] when it was announced that Claire Byrne was leaving. The person was looking down their nose at Newstalk [part of Bauer Media] and mentioned that we do public service broadcasting and I was saying, ‘Well, come on now’. I think they were taken aback at how forceful I was about it.

It's an odd reply to that but my reply would have been simple, since Pat Kenny left the audience has not fallen, since Tubs left the audience has not fallen, and when you leave its unlike that the audience will fall.

It finish with a comment from an RTÉ spokesperson. I wonder who that is? Name the spokespeople.

______

In the end they were just greedy, they all knew one another and knew what to expect more money for no return, it was a secure cash flow, but in fairness they looked for what they wanted and fair dues to them for that, and wouldn't you be doing the same!

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,509 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

The podcast is being hosted on Acast its surprising there not video element to it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

That article does him even less favours than The Times one!

That is a very good breakdown. Ray has been on a media offensive in the run up to the launch of the podcast.

But no one has tried to pushback on anything he as come out with

1. In terms of permancy and pension. Did Ray ever speak to any of "the suits" about this. Would he have been willing to take a pay cut in return.
    2. Ray admits he was relying on the audience from Liveline before hand. As such what was the need for Ray and his high salary if he was just coasting on Livelive audience. He probably did deserve the large salary when he was poached from RTE. But when the audience didn't follow. Well …… that was time for a pay cut.
    3. There is no way he was doing a 70 hour week in RTE.
    4. "Did he ever consider legal action against RTÉ for the way he feels they handled his departure?“You go through everything in your head,” he says, but he decided against that approach feeling it would be ­“toxic”. He also acknowledges he sought advice but “the contract was up, so I had little or no rights”." So he DID consider legal action. But didn't proced because he was told he had no grounds.

Between Ray and Ryan it is very clear that some on air talent in RTE belived that RTE owed them a living. Gerry Ryan would make the argument all that time that his salary was paid by advertising that came into 2FM and there might have been an element of truth to that. It is also an argument I think RT has made.

But in this interview Ray admits that he was entierly relient on the audience from Live Line. Oliver Callan has grown his shows audience from RT. It is clearly the case that in RTE at least. It is the slot that has the audience and not the presenter. The only person I think actually bringing in listners is John Creedon. Even with that his listners figures are comparable low to the rest of the RTEs lineup.

Good post Ro but you’ve seriously underestimated the holidays - they had between 10 - 12 weeks off. A former poster tabulated Mr. Duffy’s appearances on Liveline for a number of years and the figures remain in the thread for all to see. Mr. Duffy famously once took 2 weeks off after presenting Liveline on the first 4 working days in January.

Similarly Mr. Tubridy’s contracted radio show appearances worked out to approximately. 9 months of the year, again giving him 3 months off.

What’s also jumping out from D’Arcy’s interview is the convenient failure of these “stars” to realise the difference between contract and salaried work, when they chose to be contractors to afford them a very different remuneration and tax structure not available to PAYE employees.

His complaints re. permanence and pension are frankly, laughable when one considers his level of remuneration and the advantages accruing from the arrangement. It’s not dissimilar to when Joe Duffy complained he wasn’t getting sick pay when he broke his leg. It would be being kind to say they were being disingenuous, though in Duffy’s case it is possible it was concept too difficult for him to understand.

As for his privacy claim - utterly ridiculous. It’s a public facing role. And as we’ve seen with Kelly’s crew, they certainly don’t seek privacy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,011 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Ray did a masters in Personal or HR as it now known. He should understand the difference between being an employee or contractor. However, the RTE staff appear to think they should have employee rights and and funnily enough Revenue/DSP (SCOPE) thinks they should be employees as well!

How does one access Raymond's new podcast, does he have a YouTube Channel or is he using somesort of proprietary subscription system?

Sponsored by a gambling company. Ray, shame on you. Gambling is almost as bad as the drink for running people and families.

When did he complete his Masters? As with any qualification unless you’re maintaining your knowledge through continuous education AND practice it’s not worth the paper it’s printed on.

Mr. Duffy was another lad who thought his 40+ year old basic degree in a course that’s unrecognisable today to what it was when he completed it made him an expert on not just that subject, but most things. His famous angrily-shouted line to Michael O’Leary “I have the education as you” based solely on the fact that they both went to TCD shows how “silly” he is. Mr. Duffy’s logic would have one believe a research masters for example in nuclear physics is the same as a taught “Orts” degree…..intriguing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Show me a parent who doesn't brag about their kid, and I'll show you a liar.
    I knew someone in her twenties who was annoyingly posting about her kid, constantly, on every social media cos the stuff the kid said was 'hilarious'. It wasn't.

I gave Ray's podcast a listen… he couldn't even do an hour, and had an ad-break in the middle. How's he going to do that daily?
    Then there was a voxpop to win a free cup of coffee. But not for the audience, so that's kind of pointless. And then the old stalwarts, and hopes of interviews.

Muireann O'Connell had a podcast with Joanne McNally at one point. Heavily promoted it, and it lasted for a few months before Joanne left Muireann and went off with Vogue, probably to raise her profile. The podcast never officially ended.
    I see Ray D'arcy's podcast going the same way.

D’Arcy has a yen to be busy. Even as a young man, he mixed studying with DJing every night. He remembers telling his thesis tutor at the National Institute for Higher Education (now Dublin City University) about his schedule and, he says, the tutor said : “Jesus.”
    What was he studying? “I was doing a masters in personnel management ... I’d done psychology and I thought, ‘Isn’t this great that organisations have this department which is responsible for the welfare of their staff?’”

The Irish Times:

https://archive.is/uR9wZ

Rocking into Montrose one or twice a week to record a show for RTE Gold is a far easier way to earn a living, even if it is for 50k or so.

Genuinely wasn’t aware of this. His degree is 41 years old (or 41 years out of date) this year and he hasn’t practiced. He wouldn’t even get a graduate entry level role in HR given how much the discipline has changed since, and of course, his age. I’m not saying this to be a dick btw, just a factual statement.

I don’t have the same disdain for D’Arcy as I would for some other presenters. I rarely listened to his show as I wasn’t the target audience. I also think he was a very limited “talent”. All that said however I do think he was badly treated in the end in RTÉ. When one considers the send off Mr. Duffy received it is a stark contrast indeed.

I like Ray with his mistakes and grumpy ways. I listened to the show… I believe it was a mistake not to take the Gold job. It would be nice winddown to retirement in 4 or 5 years, or he could keep going for another 20 years. He has made his money, or he should have! I don't see him squandering it like Jerry Ryan or having to support multiple ex's like Tubirdy. I am not impressed he has a gambling company as the sponsor. Raymond loves to preach to us. I remember him giving out about drinking too much, when he saw the the number wine bottles some people had at his local recycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I am a contractor. I earn nothing like what Ray was on, but I have PRSA, which I pay into every month. In it's current state it's about enough to keep me in 2 pot noodles a day until I die, (which if that is all my diet consists of might be sooner than I planned!) but hopefully come retirement age the pension pot will be a bit bigger.

My contracting/Accounting firm set me up with a meeting with a pension adviser. The meeting cost me nothing as the consultation was paid from my taxable income.

Ray bemoaning the fact he doesn't have a pension is him stating very clearly he was too tight to pay for advice, and too thick to look into it, where he would have found the initial consultation would have cost him nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

“Like Tubridy, he has made good money. Just stop and maybe he'll come back into fashion in a few years?”

But was he actually “in fashion” for the last 10 years? He had a captive afternoon audience who would listen to paint drying rather than turn the dial.

It can’t be easy for him but he hasn’t handled himself well on either his radio show or his dismissal- he’s quoted in one of those recent interview articles as saying he lost listeners (about 10,000 or so I think€ because live line lost listeners- that to me shows denial of his own responsibility towards a show with his name on it.
    I would doubt his podcast figures will grow as he brings nothing to a radio show except preachy preachy- the question is, what will be his off ramp? You couldn’t possibly find the motivation to do this every week if you only have a few hundred or even a couple of thousand views/listens - how will it end I wonder? Maybe once a week then once a month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,974 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I think he was treated as well as any other employee would have been, if their contract ran out, and they were offered a new one with reduced pay. He could go to another company, if they wanted him… but the offers weren't there.
    If he'd stayed with RTE on RTE Gold, he'd be able to retire in 3 years. On a great pension.

Duffy took retirement. I agree, he was lauded to an insane degree, which he didn't deserve. He was no Gay Byrne, no matter how much he wanted to be. And the insane money spent for a retirement party was ridiculous.

Completely agree. Larry Gogan did it. And Larry was far more beloved, in my personal opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I've said this in other threads, but my mother used to listen to the 1pm radio news every day. Possibly every day of her adult life. That stopped when she went into the nursing home because as she put it, there was no guarantee the nurse would be back in time to turn off Joe Duffy who she disliked immensely. In her later years, before the nursing home, she became a fan of the Moncrief show. I don't think she ever listened to Ray on the radio. So Ray can blame Liveline for him losing listeners, but him on day 4 of his sour dough bread, and whats the cheapest brand of porridge out there was not brightening up anyones afternoon listening.

Well poor Joe has no pension according to himself. Just a coincidence this topic always came up when talk of his outrageous fees came up of course……

If it were true (which I simply don’t believe) the blame lies firmly at his own doorstep, or his agent’s. Again, he could have had a very nice pension from RTÉ had he chosen to be a salaried member of staff, but that would have meant a cut to the headline salary figure,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I bow to your superior knowledge of the intricacies of his show 😀

”not brightening up anyone’s afternoon” is not a bad perspective - his content was probably more morning time suited as well - you had the misery of Joe Duffy beforehand and the misery of 5-7 live after- so that slot really needed to be light, maybe informative but on nice topics such as theatre or upcoming festivals - instead it was often just more misery or preachy stuff.

From the little I’ve listened to the new show from 3-4 or whatever it is, it’s probably now overly light so complete vanilla dumbed down radio.
    I guess my point is, if you’re paying a guy that sort of money, he really needs to be blasting the figures out of the water and turning in a great show most days- he wasn’t even doing that monthly no less daily

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

well I was bored on a journey and stuck on his podcast.thats 45 minutes I ain’t getting back.🤦