Ire v Wal rte 2 mar 6 26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ersatz

Fair enough appraisal of his current form. there are things about Crowley's game I think he can improve that will make him a much better player, obviously placekicking is one. He doesn't give himself enough time on conversions. He should be running to get into his routine and the team should ensure that he gets the ball much quicker once a try is scored. It's all a bit casual and he ends up rushing. he also got done by the ref who halted the clock with 12 seconds left to look at the grounding and crossing for Conan's try which interrupted his routine. (former Leinster ten pundit commented on this after then game but its also obvious just watching). Anyway, relatively easy fix. Others have commented in his ball placement, maybe he Is developing a new approach which can pay off later.

Great tens hang off and let their nine feed pods in the 22. They organise and plan and bark at people, Sexton was a master at this and it's something that comes with a deal of experience. Crowley loves to be in the thick of it, so when I noted that he lacked leadership in those 2 multiphase sequences thats what I was observing. He was involved in far too many phases right in the thick of it the whole time. Multi phase is a mugs game these days because defences are much more attuned to it, they're fitter and the rules now favour them. it didn't work against Wales and it certainly won't work against top teams. The ten is the one who needs to crack that code, whether its chips, grubbers, flat passes or getting forwards into short passing sequence to suck in defence, there are a number of tactics to use. Crowley didn't use any today. I remain confident in his ability to develop though, because so much of that part of the game is about coaching, and the should be very obvious to the coaches and I'm sure they'll work it in.

Final thought on this, yes he is similar in age to Sexton so there is a lot of road ahead of him, but he is also a veteran of test rugby, unlike the equivalent Sexton. He won a 6N a couple of seasons ago and was the back up ten at the last worked cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

Was the pass from Stockdale to Conan forward at 69.10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

If only you applied this logic across the board and not just for your own teams player.

You were one of the very worst culprits here only a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

That's what I thought tbh. Won't complain though.

Crowley has had two main misses in this tournament - a push just right that looks normal apart from direction and a dog-ugly low hook to the left that is painful to witness. I’d like to take points off for something so lacking in artistic merit.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

Fair play to Wales. They tackled their hearts out and offered a stern physical test which we struggled to cope with. The try by Rhys Carre was something else. I would have doubted a body like that could move so fast.

Our scrum held. Maybe some progress? I was surprised by the listed weight of the Welsh scrum, 954 kg versus our 882 which is a fair gap.

Post edited by Ardillaun on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,315 ✭✭✭✭phog

Ah here, there's no lack of understanding. Just look at this very thread and you'll see posters were waiting in the not so long grass to take pot shots, ignoring the obvious mistakes from the MotM against England but rushing to highlight any error from the guy outside him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Scrum definitely went better last night. Kelleher is said to be a strong scrummager so I wonder how much of that might be attributable to him considering we didn’t have a heavy 2nd row out there.

I thought Kelleher had a great game in general. He’s always punchy in the tight collisions. Doesn’t lose many of either side of the ball. Reminds me of Dan Leavy in that regard. Nailed his lineouts which have traditionally been the weak part of his game. He's had a strong 6N so far and I’d like to see him start with Sheehan coming off the bench for the last 30.

Was listening to The Counter Ruck this week where they had a data analyst on and the point was made that there’s a strong argument to have your best scrummagers coming off the bench as you typically have more scrums in the final quarter than first quarter. I’m guessing that’s why Leinster chose to bring on Porter of the bench after 20mins a few times last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,798 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Post edited by Lost Ormond on

Our only BP wins this 6Ns came when Crowley started as outhalf. I've really no idea what you're on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Madeoface

Jack Conan was outstanding last night. It is also great to see James Ryan back to his best.

As others have said here, the tactics seemed off. Lots of space behind a very good Welsh defence but we kept the multi phase approach regardless.

I did not expect such a close game but it sets up the triple crown nicely.

Doak looked good when jgp was off for a blood injury and hopefully he gets a chance again against the Scots.

I’d like to see Doak get another opportunity next week. I think we’ve seen enough in his 28 caps to know Casey is a limited player at this level. Doak looks like he has a more rounded game in general. We need to see if he’s an option for 18 months time.

He, like Casey getting 5 mins at the end of a game is a disgrace. How can the reserve SH be ready to take over if not trusted to get around 20 mins at least. More so last night because JGP wasn't up to the level he was v England

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭thamus doku

why is it that Crowley and prendergast have both dropped in performances over last year and a half.
    even Prendergast now can’t kick , whereas that was his main strength when he started out

Good players don’t always make good coaches especially players like sexton.

He’s made 10 starts for Ireland since his debut in 2021 and hasn’t managed to particularly impress. He was poor against Italy when the game noticeably changed once JGP came on. You play well when you get opportunities, then you get more minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭OldRio

Not the winning or losing of the match but Dickson and his TMO are really really grating my fecking gears. It's probably nothing and just paranoia but in my mind he refs Ireland and Irish teams different to the opposition. The number of times I've heard commentators say 'you don't see that being penalised very often' or such is telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,667 ✭✭✭amacca

That call at the scrum for not hooking properly was something of a blast from the past … for me anyway!

A hooker not hooking, when was that last penalised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,432 ✭✭✭OldRio

The one for the number 10 being offside at the lineout. Unusual. Correct call but how often?

Look it's probably nothing but it seems everything Ireland do is scrutinised. How often does the TMO get involved when we score a try compared to other teams?

Paranoid? Probably

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,924 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Tempest coming in with completely spurious "can we look at this" stuff grinds my gears even more.

Glad that super rugby and MLR are basically telling TMOs to fcuk right off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭almostover

Just looking at the match stats on ESPN.

Big Stu had a great game again. 12 passes. 13 carries. 67m made. 1 defender beaten and 1 offload. 14 tackles, 0 missed.

Jack Conan too. 15 carries for 47m. 2 defenders beaten and 4 offloads. 13 tackles, 0 missed. He has to start vs. Scotland.

Edit: Kelleher also, 9 carries for 30m and 2 defenders beaten. 17 tackles and 0 missed. 100% lineout success. Has to retain the no. 2 jersey for next week IMO.

Post edited by almostover on

The highlight moment from the match will be Carre's try. If that was an Irish prop we'd be celebrating it too.

Two weeks ago, England missed two touch finders from penalties, you'd have to imagine if the got those and scored from one that game could well have been different, this week, Conan's first try was disallowed for a knock on in the ruck, again, you'd have to imagine had we gone to 14 points then, the game could well have been different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

You’ve now literally “moved the goalposts” from my comment which was singular to the collective in an attempt to change the narrative. And you still miss the point. Well done. 👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭Heroditas

And that was despite Wales lining him up each time to double tackle him to prevent the offloads. They managed to nullify that quite well but he still made serious yards each time which put them on the back foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,327 ✭✭✭✭klose

Of the tournament nearly lol.

Balacoune will be hearing about that one for a good while getting sidestepped by a loose head, to be fair to the fella he had some burst of pace when he got through!!

That was a defensive error not an individual one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭CptMonkey

i think your on to something there. Prendergast could kick them from every where and suddenly it just left him.