Manchester United Thread 25/26 - Teamtalk/Transfers/Gossip Mod Note in OP 12.02.26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,989 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

you appear to be results based when analysing a manager, which is absolutely fine.

i was more on about the performances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Perhaps the fitness levels were somewhat better under RA, but reality is we also struggled with 2 games per week under him. Just as we did last night. Simply put, this squad doesn't cope well with more than 1 game per week.

The West Ham game early December. The Wolves game end of the year and vs Leeds early in January. We looked leggy and lethargic in all of those too. Too much is being made of the fitness under Carrick imo. We have not been at all capable at managing the games this season.

The reality is squad depth just isn't there and even managing game load when there are no European games and barely any domestic cup ties is a struggle.

Midfield requires major surgery….we're expecting a 34 year old to keep putting in 9/10 performances at DM week in, week out. It's just not realistic or sustainable.

Whoever is in the Head Coaches seat come next Summer needs a proper midfield and some squad depth to work with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,671 ✭✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Okay, his team have performed the act of putting the ball in the net more than the other team which has helped us pick up 19pts out of 24pts recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,625 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

We were aware this squad would be able to counter attack and score goals though. We don't see any progression there do we? Some great results but generally speaking they will always revert to type and will not get you were you want to go. Results will follow performance in the long run.

Good time for Carrick to flash his credentials now and show something I'm not convinced he has.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭waywill1966

Tottenham, oh dear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,199 ✭✭✭✭FourFourRED

5 defeats in a row. I wonder is there a Spurs fan equivalent of the haircut fella…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,796 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I was somewhat tongue in cheek last night but now with a strictly serious hat on we should really urgently start trying to woo the agents of 1) Bergvall 2) Gray 3) Sarr. All 3 are young, all will likely be sold as part of the fire sale to try and recoup the massive losses and while I ordered them by my preference literally any one of them would be a dramatic upgrade on our midfield options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,404 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Damn... Spurs must be odds on for the drop now. West Ham & Forest both showing some grit, fight and determination. Spurs showing absolutely sod all.

Edit: nope, West Ham slightly shorter odds. Wolves, Burnley, Hammers then Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭waywill1966

If they go down after all the money invested in the new stadium, that’s disastrous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,562 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭FrankN1

Arsenal fans must be enjoying this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,142 ✭✭✭✭JRant

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭BenK

My worry with Carrick and whoever takes over in the summer is that they make us competitive to a point, i.e. can qualify for the champions league and win the odd cup, but take us no further than that. The ambition should be to be competing for leagues and champions leagues.

I think what Carrick has shown so far though is not sustainable in the long term to take you any further than that, a bit like Ole. The team doesn't seem to have any real identity yet or structured way of attacking apart from counter attacking. They are relying on moments to score, something you could accuse this team of for a long time now.

Amorim, whatever else you can say about himself, was definitely trying to instil an identity on the team and a structured way of playing. I would've liked to have seen him get a bit more time to see how the team would've performed with a few new players more suited to his way of playing. I fear his sacking was the easy option when a bit more pain might've been the answer.

I don't know, I just fear the team is reverting to what it was and is getting comfortable again. I hope I'm talking bollix but the signs of complacency are there again. To deservedly lose 2-1 to a 10 man poor Newcastle team is shocking.

To state the obvious, recruitment and the managerial appointment is so important in the summer and will tell a lot as to what the club's real ambition is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

My worry with Carrick and whoever takes over in the summer is that they make us competitive to a point, i.e. can qualify for the champions league and win the odd cup, but take us no further than that. The ambition should be to be competing for leagues and champions leagues.

This isn't on the manager imo. How much better do you think Carrick could or should be doing with the current squad? Like the club heirarchy has been negligent in squad building, apart from maybe the last 2 windows. It's been obvious the squad is not up to the task for years now.

If Carrick or whoever competes to a point that is reasonable then it's on the club to make the decisions and purchases to get to the next level.

There's only so much lipstick you can put on a pig, and in my opinion, Carrick has applied a lot of lipstick to this pig since taking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭BenK

I don't really disagree to be honest. Recruitment has been so poor for too long and if you don't have the right players it doesn't really matter who's in charge. That's why recruitment in the summer will tell a lot.

In terms of results I think Carrick has done as well as could be expected so far. Has that been new manager bounce or something else as performances have tailed off the last few games? I just would like to see a bit more from him in terms of how he wants the team to play. We do have some good attacking players and it's been quite disjointed the last few games.

That’s probably a little bit harsh on the squad of players. They were in great shape and played very well against City and Arsenal.

Take the last game. It’s half time and Newcastle are down to 10 men. We have just managed to equalise after what was a poor first half from our side. Lucky to be going into the break in such favourable circumstances. At half time you have the opportunity to make changes, set the plan for taking advantage of the extra man, motivate the players to turn things around in the second half.

Second half wasn’t good enough at all and your question is what can Carrick do? Not leave it until the 76th minute to bring on an attacking player is one thing that could have resulted in a different outcome. Little things like that can be the difference. There is a balance in your attacking subs coming at the right time to be the most effective sure, but those subs felt late. Zirkzee looked like he could have done something. An extra 10 mins with him and Amad on and you could have a completely different story.

He could have used Heaven instead of Malacia. Throwing Malacia in at 1-1 was madness.

We didn’t deserve anything from the game but we definitely could have won it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

I don't think performances have tailed off, Amorim and ETH had some big results against big teams, same as Carrick had at the beginning.

The issue has always been the same, struggling to break down teams that don't also look to attack. That's down to squad management.

But Newcastle did attack. A lot. And they were destroying us in that first half. It’s too easy to basically put the blame on other teams.

Everton was another game where some expected some form of low block but they came out and played. Got back well defensively when they needed to but they did attack also. We won that game so it’s not an issue of course.

West Ham was the only game under Carrick where you could say this about and Nuno played it to perfection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,764 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Hate saying it but it was a fantastic goal the other night to win it for them

The technique, power and curl on ball i dont think it will ever get the appreciation it deserves.

I would think no keeper in world is getting to that. Thought Lammens waa very good again other night. One of few bright spots from the match.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Do you think? I actually thought it wasn't especially far away from him and he could have done better. He seemed to be caught flat footed and like he wasn't ready/expecting the shot.

But as with everything on the internet….I caveat that with he has been brilliant for us since coming in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭kyleman

I thought the match against Everton would be the low point of the season. We were terrible but at least we had almost all the possession and most shots in the game.

Against Newcastle we only broke even in possession against 10 and a squad with loads of injuries and they had more shots than us.

The slow start to the game was worrying but to go in at half time even against 10 men was a bonus and then to produce what we did in the second half was shocking.

We were a mess at the end, no tactics and no shape and we got what we deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I'm not convinced Carrick is the man for the job full time, but that depends on the other options, and also what happens in the rest of the season. However, no one needs to decide now!

Personally I thought Amad was brought on too late, and obviously hindsight says Malacia with no game time wasn't the right call (but he has been praised since taking over for square pegs in square holes).

Casemiro can't play twice a week, and essentially this team doesn't perform without him playing or him playing well. That was true under Ten Hag, Amorim and Carrick. Martinez is massive miss as well.

United still need quite the list to improve the team and the squad depth - 2 full backs, at least 3 midfielders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

And due to no cup football, the youth isn't really getting any chance. (except Yoro who cost 60 million)

We have no idea if they are good enough - the likes of Lacey, Obi, Amass, the Fletchers, Leon etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I kinda disagree, but my disagreement also carries fear.

I don't think appointing a manager to get us CL and cup runs is a bad thing. Given where we are, and the managers avaiable, it might be all we can do right now. Someone to set us up solidly in the top 4 and capable of maintaining that positioin will competing in the CL would be fairly big progress.

The fear is that if someone is consistently getting your 3rd and quarters of the CL - do the club have the ambition to decide that is no longer good enough and sack them - potentially pushing on to a proper PL push, or potentially destabilising the progress and regressing back to struggling for top 4/5.

I also find it hard to judge carrick - cause I am not seeing what else he can do. Maybe with better players it doesn't get significantly better, but imo the team on Wednesday had issues in central midfield, both fullbacks and both CBs (for different reasons). We lacked physicality in CM and fullback especially and vs Newcastle if they are playing well at all you can't lack physicality. He can't magic up a new pair of new fullbacks. He can't give Casemiro and Kobbie legs. He can't give Maguire pace, he can't give Yoro physical assertiveness (he COULD have made decisions far better than Malacia at left back though)

Given those issues, the issues that would exist for any manager, I'm not sure what else Carrick can really do. Maybe Dalot should have started cause he does offer physicality. Maybe Amad should have started ahead of a poor Mbeumo but that is hindsight. Maybe you could have dropped Bruno deeper instead of mainoo (as we did later in the game). But its kinda moving the deckchairs on the titanic.

Until we sort out CM and Fullback (and I think the weaknesses feed into each other) and possibly CB (Do all Maguire, MDL and Martinez hamper a higher lined midified?) I think we would struggle with any manager at all. So is Carrick good or bad? Hard to say when there are clear limitations with the players that are inescapable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Caustic

I'm not sure why Carrick isn't playing Heaven, he was as good as yoro but he can play those passes into midfield not as good as Martinez but to a higher level, this would get mainoo on the game more, it would allow Maguire to play on his better side and a side he can pass the ball on better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Yeah v Ncas I would have preferred Yoro FB and Heaven on. More height and composure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,456 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I thought Everton home was worse in a lot of ways. At least against Ncas 11 or 10 men we had plenty of chances. Mbuemo twice, Bruno, Yoro, Cunha, Zirksee to name a few.

Everton game was at home withs even slower build up with feck all chances from us iirc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,339 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

He should have come on instead of Malacia who is absolutely useless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,304 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

i'd even have argued to move Amad to RB and Dalot LB ahead of Malacia, but we didn't have a player to replace Amad in the front line.

Having Malacia and Kukoni on the bench was silly cause they would both come on at LB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

I think Malacia's injury finished him at the highest level, not sure he was good enough to begin with, dreaded him coming on the other night as I felt he'd be exposed immediately. Heaven really should've come on for Maz in reality.