General gaming discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm looking forward to it. Just hope it varies enough and the combat doesnt get repetative. Plus, I also hope I won't have time to play it because the the universal GOTY is out on March 19th and everyone will be playing it forever...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Can't wait to get those sweet sweet counter pick points 😎

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,801 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

For 25 quid, expectations will definitely be in check but it could turn out to be another Sifu and I'd be well happy with that. Hopefully the console release isn't too far behind but at least by then, should be plenty of feedback on what's it like and if it's worth it.

My worries is that the combat won't be as detailed (or hard, which would be a good worry) as Sifu, but it'll be deducted points for an unfair comparison by some. I always try to play a game based on its own merits, but the douches who leave reviews can't separate those thoughts and mark it down because its not like X game. Just like the new Carmageddon is getting negative reviews because its not old Carmageddon (other small issues aside).

And just like Retr0 may very well get those counter points because people will inevitably say Crimson Desert is not GTA/TW3/RDR2 with magic.

Have to say fair play to Pringles for managing to make the new mystery Fallout flavour taste like a radioactive Deathclaw's arse 🤮🤮🤮

17799.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭JimBurnley

Man it's actually impressive how bad they were able to get it to taste. Actually like they scraped up the dust from EVERY other flavor on the factory floor and dumped them all into this tin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

"Mystery Flavour" = Pringles made when switching manufacturing from one flavour to another to avoid having to actually just clean the machines out.

Seems quite appropriate for a Fallout themed flavour. Pringles have gone to shyt in the last few years anyway. Used to feel like crisps, now they just feel and taste fake. Same as most stuff tbh. Oilburys doing their best to remove as much milk as possible from their chocolate and ice-cream. Maybe Pringles Fallout are ahead of the game with the taste of the future...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

They're made with AI now.

AI doesn't care what they taste like.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Pringles have always been shite. You keep eating them despite them being garbage because there just coated in MSG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

That's not true. I read an AI review of Pringles which said they tasted like hyperbolic paraboloids with a moustache of flavour, and that once you have opened the lid it is difficult to cease eating them for food. And also I should sign up to their casino gambling website.

I read the review on Metacrispic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,451 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Long ago when we got our first (secondhand but with a stack of random games) Megadrive for Christmas our parents threw in a few cans of Sour Cream and Onion Pringles which were new to Ireland at the time, once you pop you just cant stop ads on the tv etc, we'd never had them before and had never tasted crisps like them.

Now whenever I fire any of those games from that Christmas up on Emudeck like Micro Machines, NHL/NFL 95, Ren and Stimpy, Light crusader, F22 etc for a bit of nostalgia I can still taste the way they used to be, the taste is literally in my mouth when I play those games, covered in white MSG dust with little green herb flakes all over, modern Pringles are a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Anois_

I once rang up Joe Duffy when I worked in the Knock Shrine complaining about people wearing the crotchless briefs.

Here is me calling him up. 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,571 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

A question for the gamers - I'm a pc gamer, but prefer controller for the games I play. I have an elite 2 controller but it's taken a few bangs (my son went through a phase of finding it and firing it on the ground) so it's not as elite as it was. Any suggestions on a replacement? I couldn't go back to a standard xbox controller, I need my back paddles and trigger stops and the general weight of the elite.

Is there an option other than a replacement elite? Wireless is a must, battery life isn't that important though...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,417 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

The new Steam Controller looks like it will be a best in class PC controller, though god knows when it will actually arrive given current hardware chaos. If no immediate need, however, I would hold out for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭recyclops

I picked up an elite on amazon warehouse was near 40 percent off keep an eye on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,876 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

If you own World War Z you can get 10 euro off the studios upcoming new game, John Carpenters Toxic Commando. So standard edition is 30 and the Blood edition is 40

Just finished Forever Skies. Got the plat too, as it was very achievable. Overall, I enjoyed my 35 hours with it. It's still a bit rough around the edges, but for €20 I definitely got worth out of it.

It has similarities to most crafting/survival games, but i think they've built an interesting (and monsters aside) believable version of what could happen. Core story is nothing special, similar to most of these games. Two endings which can be done with a quick reload. Performance on the Pro on performance mode is grand 95% of the time. Some lags when loading out of or into some buildings, but only lasts a second or two, otherwise smooth sailing. Story and game itself is still being worked on. I got it after a part 2 update, theres a part 3 to come so woildnt blame anyone for holding off. If they keep updating and improving it, it could be something special. They've the hard work done, just need to refine it.

So yeah, its not Subnautica good, but it does enough to stand on its own, with more to come. I'll play it again in a year or two and hopefully habe a great version of it then. But still worth it right now imo.

Still have a survival/crafting itch, so downloaded Deadcraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭MikeRyan87

Just back from holidays, what is going on with every single Smyths being sold out of RE Requiem?Read on Reddit that they only got in 15 copies to each store. Seems like a bit of an oversight for one of the biggest games of the year.

You can still buy it digitally on each system. Not sure if it's cheaper in Smyths though as I haven't even looked.

10 euro cheaper in smyths and can sell to cex after also.

@MikeRyan87 yeah, i pre-ordered mine for collection Thursday night midnight and they had 7 standard and 7 lenticular. Friday morning 8am, only 1 copy left.

Out of stock in well stores but still in stock for home delivery.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,417 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I think Smyths has gone down hill quite a bit in terms of stock in the past few years. Regular ‘out of stock’ stickers on half the games on display, and stuff getting shuffled off the shelves only a few months after release often.

Still better than GameStop ever was on pricing, and fine if you’re preordering. Some good discounts too. But it isn’t what it used to be either.

Most likely cause most people these days are like me and buy digitally. Pain getting up and switching discs.

I don't know about PS but Xbox have sales all the time so it's not like it's more expensive. It is expensive if you buy day one digitally but those days for me are long gone. Well GTA VI will be an exception to that rule for me. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭Grumpypants

Seeing similar reports all over not just Smyths. Seems to be selling like hot cakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭recyclops

Digital and gamesharing is the cheapest way to game by a long shot especially if you throw in deals etc. I'm surprised so few people seem to do it tbh

I never played a Resident Evil game but I was looking through my owned games and I actually have the remaster of the first one. I obviously got it for free as I never bought it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭MikeRyan87

At the end of Shinobi Art of Vengeance.

My god that floating mechanic is terrible.

Liked the game otherwise.