General gaming discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 HopingforNewZ

I’ve been having great craic replaying RE2 & RE3 remakes and Village with infinite ammo (I’ll admit I bought this through a micro transaction, don’t think you can do this in RE4 remake).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,574 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Same. Also never played metroid or zelda games. Any other series you'd expect somebody to have played?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,727 ✭✭✭recyclops

I've always rather the remake of 3 over 4, no real reason why I always loved 4 but I think I played the remake just after playing 4 VR and it didn't hold a candle to it and I never got the hate for 3 tbh.

6 is still the only one I haven't finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭McFly85

The 3 remake is incredibly short, leaves out a lot of the original game, and nemesis was pretty disappointing. It’s a fine few hours but the fact they were charging €60 for it, I felt a bit short changed.

I’ve played the 1, 2 and 4 remakes over the last couple of weeks ahead of 9. All different experiences but all fantastic games.

The only main series game I never played was 6, and I picked it up for €5 today. Judging by the opening sequence I might be asking steam for the money back! A crazy amount of QTEs already, feels nothing like an RE game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,545 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I have played RE 1-4. I have 5-8 in my library good to go. Great series but I’m lowering my expectations to zero for 5 and 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,802 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

I can't remember the start of 6 but was enjoying Leon's part somewhat and then Chris's part and it was like wtf is this. I then looked up the 3rd guy who i can't even remember who it was and noped out of it. I think at the time the director was talking about wanting to be call of duty popular or making cod money, all you needed to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 HopingforNewZ

I'm the exact same as this; have been replaying the RE games over the last few weeks but have never played 6 (and won't bother now after the feedback here!). I remember not being mad about RE5 when it came out.

I watched a recap video of the RE timeline on Youtube last week and (whilst always being nuts) when it got to 6 the whole thing seems to go completely batshit?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I like that Civilisation VI uses native languages, albeit with subtitles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,955 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Anyone played Forever Skies and tell me if the Subnautica in the Sky is a legit comparison? I'm hovering over the buy button but I don't know if I can trust the Internet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Corvo

Zero-Cool will be along in a moment to tell me its great and I'll be skint again

I...... Had the same question 😂 i also heard Subnautica in the sky and was intrigued but i was very weary as that's a hefty claim so i figured it was BS and went about my day. Would love to hear if it is as good as Subnautica but i feel if it was, i would have heard about it by now.

Well, I'll let ye know later. This 2-click purchasing is too handy. And there was a time I wouldn't think twice about throwing €21 at a game. Oh better times... I blew it on Destiny 1 at full price at about 3.38am on a Sunday morning full as a boot...

Anyway, something different while I was hoping for someone to answer in 90 minutes (totally realistic). The PS Store. The reason why if your good game goes under €10, it will be lost forever.

Edit: I did set it initially to types Full Game, Game Bundle and Premium Edition and the total didnt go down by much, so most are "games" and not dlc. This was a search in PS+ Exlcusive Discounts.

1000011973.jpg 1000011979.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭MikeRyan87

Beat Neva, way better than expected. Didnt know it got such good reviews when it was released. Great art style/sound track, could do with a bit more of a challenge.

Was close to being overstaying its welcome. Definitely play it if you have PS Plus Extra or higher.

Wasnt the biggest fan of Gris according to my trophies, gave up on it early on looks like.

Shinobi Art of Vengeance next as its on sale and NG RageBound isn't.

Well ****. I bought Kingdom Come Deliverance 2 last weekend (owned it physically but hadn't played since last summer so sold it and bought Royal Edition digitally for a few quid extra). I couldn't remember exactly why i stopped playing it as i was enjoying but playing it this week, my vertigo set off and i had to spend a day in bed trying to get over it. Didn't even link it to the game but feeling better today, tried again and after 30 minutes, I'm in a bad way again so it must be the game. I think my vertigo has gotten worse with how sensitive it is to trigger it but the game is now unplayable 😩. I've emailed Sony about a possible refund but i know their policy is to refund unplayed games only. Saying that, i can't physically play the game any more. I know someone else on here has a similar reaction?

Simulation sickness is the medical term i believe. I get it in VR games, but i don't recall getting it in KCD2, but I didn't play a lot of it. Increase fov to the max and disable anything blurring, etc. Surprised head bob is not a toggle.

Forever Skies is grand for now. Usual slow start. Not as smooth as Subnautica but you're not underwater so makes sense. Too early yet to compare though. Will update.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,415 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Might have been me. I know it was making me dizzy and gave me a headache when I tried it. Ended up abandoning it. Been meaning to try it on Portal to see if smaller screen might help but haven't gotten round to it.

I've found the last few years I always have to go into menus and turn off motion blur, turn down camera shake and head wobble stuff (particularly in first person games which to me is absolute nonsense anyway because while it might be realistic for how the character's head is moving, my head isn't moving, which means the screen is just moving erratically outside of my control), maybe make a few other similar adjustments. Unfortunately KCD2 options seem fairly limited in that regard.

Ah yes, i remember you saying it now Penn and remember saying back that it sucks you weren't able to enjoy such a cracking game, and now it's happening to my 😩 apparently pc mods disable head bob to help but think officially, there's no option to keep it immersive, which it really is. I'll try change some settings tomorrow but if it happens again, I'll have to uninstall.

Also, the last time i spoke with PlayStation, i still had the email but looks like it's no longer in use and i only get to take to their ai bot which is as useful as you can imagine 😩

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I am playing A Plague Tale Innocence. Rats, rats and more stinking rats. Some of it can be very frustrating too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,080 ✭✭✭✭The Iron Giant

Oh boy, you wouldn't want to be musophobic for that game. There are some fairly gruesome moments but I really enjoyed it by the end. Would entirely agree that some parts can feel disproportionately challenging and frustrating. Have the sequel still in the wrapper for when I eventually get around to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭Corvo

Forever Skies. I'm 13 hours in, and while it's not blowing my mind, I am invested. First thing first, Subnautica in the Sky it is not. I get the reference, when flying around in the blimp it does give me Cyclops vibes. Everything else is standard survival fare; scan, collect, build, explore, manage oxygen when going into the dust, etc. And its definitely heavier on the base building, but it's cool to see the blimp evolve. You can spend as much time improving the blimp as you do exploring. And there's a good bit to take in. I'm still early days and I've a fair bit unlocked crafting wise. And they all have purpose.

Story is interesting enough to keep pushing you forward. You're mostly on foot, so slow enough going. There are enemies, but of the few I've encountered so far they're not a big threat. They don't come after me yet, and they're all small so far, but hints of bigger things to come.

It's still a bit rough around the edges, but only released to 1.0 last year and has had 2 significant updates since, with ongoing fixes and patches. It's completely playable so far, so just small further refinement needed. I will say though, the thunderstorms are quite well done. Specifically the thunder and lightning audio/effects. Simple but very effective.

So far, happy with the purchase. I see plenty of hours ahead of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,506 ✭✭✭✭Necro

I had an issue like this with a game before. Not vertigo but absolutely splitting migraines after even 30 mins of gameplay. Think it was Infamous? I thought I was coming down with something so tried a few times and just had to stop playing completely. Never had the issue before or since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,574 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

My ex had something similar. She had no interest in games but tried out some first person shooter and she was dizzy and nauseous so quickly. Can't remember what game it was. She had no such issues with 3rd person games though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

Bought the original Resident Evil trilogy on GOG for like a tenner. Finished 1 a few days ago, Claire A in 2 last night and onto Leon B now. I've played every single mainline resi game including the outbreak stuff. My first was resi 2 back in 98. Working my way along all of them until 9.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 54,659 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

What I love about the resi remakes is that they don't negate the original games. Even if you play the remakes you really should play the original games as well as they are still amazing experiences that still hold up and are very different games.

Resident Evil 1 in particular. It's a very unique game that still has adventure game trappings and some really crazy alternative scenarios and story beats you might miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

The Resident Evil 1 Remake is absolute perfection in my opinion. It's mental to think there's only 6 years between it and the original. But the original 2 will always be my favourite, just for the music alone and the RPD..

I can't choose between 1 and 2. 1 is such a unique experience, nothing else like it. Resident Evil 2 went more action but also managed to nail that so well.

Resi remake is brilliant but I also think it compliments the original game. Both are worth playing.

I'd love another survival horror like those two. We almost got it with resident evil 7, the opening chapter was so good.

I heard good things about crow country, meant to be a good old school survival horror game.

The original Resi 1 still hasn't been topped for me as the best horror game ever. The music, the sounds, the crappy voice acting, camera angles, the dread, just a perfect storm at the perfect time.

As for Kingdom Come 2, i tried going back to it, on vertigo medication, but got 10 minutes before starting feeling the effects again. Sickened (literally) as I'm loving playing it, it's an amazing game but just unplayable for me now.

I phoned PlayStation support on the off chance they can do anything and they have given me a 1 time good will gesture and refunded my money so i can get get a different game. So, as bummed out i can't play it anymore, at least i can get something else in its place. Rare Sony W.