The Claire Byrne Show - Newstalk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

They are misery slots because it’s endless - and then is followed by more misery on Andrea Gilligan’s slot. Is the HSE / health service broken, yes, but I don’t want to hear misery every day - cancer, children with disabilities, children with autism not getting the right help - I know it happens, I just don’t want to listen to it endlessly. How about people vote for change instead of ringing a radio station and moaning constantly - they voted these numpties in, vote them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,334 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Well to start with it's clearly not endless because these shows cover multiple topics each day.

You seem to be suggesting that the media should self censor and not cover stories about shortcomings in the health service.

As for voting, this Government only came into office just over 12 months ago.

Action to address problems in the health service can't be put on hold hoping for a change of government in 4 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭bureau2009

So...…after six figure contracts, LLS interview, Sindo interview and much hype and analysis.....I can advise that the Claire Byrne show on Newstalk is remarkably........ordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭Random sample

ordinary is all I expect from my morning radio shows. I’m happy.

As mentioned above though, the podcast is annoying with the random ads thrown in and the volume goes down for the first minute or so and then shoots up. That’s a problem I’m having across all newstalk podcasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,334 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Can't blame them for a bit of promotion and hype.

If you don't blow your own trumpet etc.

She seems to have settled in fairly quickly as we might have expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

It is endless, every day there is a misery slot, mainly on Andrea Gilligan’s but it’s there and its like they are all competing against liveline constantly - I want current affairs, not hearing about illness and death. It’s not what I want. And I never said censor, I just don’t want to hear it every day.

And this government and the previous one is the same main parties and before that FG, has our health service got worse? Yep, stop voting for the same idiots, they clearly can’t put it right. You think a moan fest on newstalk is going to change government policy? You probably believe in santy.

Easy way to have more nurses/doctors/physios etc, is make every person who does a medical/health related degree in Ireland stay in the system for 2 years. Just 2 years and then they can feck off to Dubai for the big bucks. Can you imagine how many more staff we would have in the system, thousands in ancillary health workers (OT, physio, podiatry, etc) - easy to do but political suicide. So Irish people have to listen about suicide etc while the government do nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,686 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

She promised to show more of her personality and her personality is ordinary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Mohat Mogeansai

I am ranting about the same thing. I’ll take the What’s Your Favourite Humming Noise topics anytime over the Very Important Morality Sermons. Newstalk must be deliberately after a certain demographic of pearl clutching misery gluttons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,324 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

What I will say in favour of Claire Byrne on Newstalk is that her segments tend to be about 10 minutes long and then they move onto a different topic.

Andrea Gilligans producer went to the same school of Radio Production that Liveline's producer went to, where sometimes the one topic will be on for the entire programme, so you are getting 2 hours of misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,804 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I didnt listen to her on RTE.

Has she brought the same regular contributors with her she had on that station.

I wouldnt be able to stick a show that has Conor Pope as a regular so I have been trying out the competition here and there last few days and nothing jumps out at me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

To be honest today was my first time listening. No Conor Pope. She did have Ian Dempsey though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭JM2300

What were you expecting from a morning talkshow?

Are there other morning talkshows that meet your expectations beyond ordinary?

Post edited by JM2300 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭mykrodot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,152 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Personally I think she's a good replacement for PK. Ive never listened to her before so she's new to me but I Iike listening to her. Only thing that can be a bit annoying is she has a habit of speaking over people she's interviewing.

Claire: You just want to awareness that burglaries happen.

News Flash. Burglaries happen.

And for fex sake, people, please stop keeping (sizeable amounts of) cash at home. If you do keep a large amount, put it somewhere your average scobe is not going to look.

Denzel Washington put his cash in a bag in the freezer marked Veal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭QueensGael

That burgerly was a terrible experience for the family, but this was a LiveLine topic really. The show is lacking some political heft, which Claire can do, but the remit seems to be a bit more wishy washy on this show. I'll tune in for another while, but seems like I'll have an extra three hours to get through my podcast queue each morning now…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭mykrodot

the last segment on the show today was a chat about wearing the colour red, what shade of red, how many shades are there, what to wear it with, full red or a pop of red, a red lip or not!?? Complete bland inane girley chat. Not the kind of radio I want to tune into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,804 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Claire Byrne had "one of our own" as she described Conor Pope on the 1st segment this morning to talk about the comments of Man Utd part owner Jim Radcliffe. Didnt realise he worked for Newstalk?

Conor, along with being an expert on the quality and price of baked beans and sticky tape, is also a Man Utd fan so was wheeled on to speak on the topic.

The silence when he was asked when Utd are playing next suggests he should stick to reviewing baked beans.

My own fault for not switching off after the initial commentator from the UK had filled me in ok the story I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Could never warm to Claire Byne after her tone of voice when she ambushed a British politician in the way she did about 4 years ago. Farage trusted an Irish person and was tricked some time previously, as part of a light hearted Brithday greeting, in to saying Up the Ra as requested by the Irish person.

Claire Byrne confronted him some time later on live TV which was supposed to be about something else and said, in a very ugly tone of voice, : “Don’t try and lecture the Irish people about the history, culture and precarious nature of peace on this island. You haven’t got a clue.”

Easy for her to put in the knife and twist it to a British politician. As part of the RTE golden circle for so long, never saw her put the knife in to "one of our own" (to borrow a phrase she often uses) like that. Could not care less what she will do in Newstalk because as long as boring Caire Byrne is on it, people will move the dial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,575 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So you don't like Claire Byrne because she was mean to Nigel Farage?

The caller (expert?) also said red has the shortest wavelength. That is incorrect. Blue has the shortest wavelength. That is the reason the sky is blue.

Can you imagine the chat the producer would have with Pat?

Producer: So after the news at 10am you will talk to Julia about how and where to wear the colour red.

Pat: You are joking right?

What is it about these people? Trump, Farage, their supporters get all butthurt when someone is mean to them.

Trump: Some news anchor on CNN was mean to me.

Melania: Aww, poor baby. You want I sing "soft kitty" to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,686 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Particularly strange given the saddos in the Irish media who spend half their working week lecturing on Britain and America. Most of their tweets and comments aren't about Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,628 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod - please don't comment on a presenter's appearance as per the charter, some posts deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,497 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Lol the fact you still have a chip on your shoulder about this is pathetic.

She was making the entirely correct point he didnt have a clue about Ireland or Northern Ireland during a time when he was constantly spouting on about what needs to happen with NI as far as a hard border goes to achieve a "hard brexit", even the most loosely knowledgeable person on NI should know what "up the ra" means. Anyone associated with british politics as he has been for the past 30-40 years absolutely should know what it means, the fact he didnt shows how much of a spoofer he is and always has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Francis McM

I never liked Claire Byrne on the radio before that either. Interestingly, Farage was married to an Irish citizen, Gráinne Hayes, from 1988 to 1997, so I would not say is is factually correct, as Claire Byrne spat out with venom and a video clip taken out of context, that Farage has not a clue about Ireland. Byrne's job as an interviewer was to interview, not act in the sneaky, very hostile and agressive way she did.

Woul love to see the tables turned on her some day, as no doubt they will be.  

Post edited by Francis McM on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭griffin100

I've tried to listen a few times over the last couple of weeks and I just can't warm to it. It's like Liveline Lite and isn't differentiated enough from the Lunchtime Show that's on afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭griffin100

Is the quality of guest starting to diminish when compared with Pat's time?

I listened to some of the show yesterday and today.

Yesterday some gombeen from the IRHA was on talking about how crap the RSA are and how great truckers are. He pushed back against regular training for truck drivers except for them foreigners driving trucks who are responsible for all of the poor truck driving you see. Then he got started on them foreigners on bikes who don't understand Irish culture and the rules of the road. All this went unchallenged by Claire. It was abysmal. I did laugh when he said it was important 'not to throw the baby out with the dishwasher'

Today she had a piece on Garda using double strength pepper spray. Really good balanced input from a civil liberties person (and I wouldn't always say that) but she then had a retired Garda on who was clueless about the issue and seemed barely aware of GSOC let alone its change to Fiosru. Despite having used pepper spray he didn't seem to be aware that every use gets reported and investigated. He really was poor.

I find that Claire puts no real effort into challenge guests even when they should be challenged. Not everyone needs to be as contrary as Sarah McInerney and chase soundbites, but there is a middle ground. It's back podcasts for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭tarvis

RTE and Newstalk have become hours and hours of light magazine topics - endless sound bites with very little in depth discussion of anything.

Add to this the fact that the 6 pm news on RTE has been replaced by sport - at a time when many routinely would switch on for news -

What is being served up is just wall to wall - mush.