Arsenal Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 25/26

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Have to say this really hit the nail on the head for me. I'm watching all of our games but I'm not enjoying them one bit. My wife asked me last night if I was enjoying watching the match and this is when we were 1-0 up as I was clearly miserable waiting for the team to f*ck it up royally somehow and they obliged me. It's grim, when you're dropping points and you know they're going to drop points against teams that we should be beating handily. There's a raft of players that shouldn't even be getting on the bench in their current form nevermind starting but they're starting week in week out and giving us absoluetly nothing. This was our best chance to win the league but I knew we wouldn't, was the usual slump in form when winning teams kick on and hoover up all the points on offer. Don't know what the answer is but Artea has had time, he has spent a ton of money and the team still don't have the mental strength to kill games off, it's pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

How in the name of god did Arsneal bottles a league title last season. Wern't Liverpool top from something like September all the way through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭omega man

Yes but it was the season where City collapsed after beating us to the title the previous season where we put absolutely everything we had into it. Pool were expected to struggle for top 4 with a new manager yet we couldn’t capitalise. Same again this season, pool collapse and City nowhere near their best. So I’d say there is an argument that we did bottle it last season too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭Butson

Modern football is a tough watch, the endless passing, I find myself just watching the highlights.

As Arsenal fans we need to be honest with ourselves - the likes of last night is no surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,568 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I knew when I seen a long post from you it'd be worth reading. You've pretty much hit the nail on the head with what you're saying there. For me I think the league is gone, and others will say we're top of the table and we are still favorites, but the truth is that it's the mentality of all involved last night is the reason why are not winning the league. Players afraid of their lives to go and play a game of football. Afraid to push on and enjoy the game, afraid to go for the kill because it might leave space behind. We didn't lose the league last night, but last night was the final bit of evidence I needed to stop believing we still can, and that I think is down to Arteta.

Arsenal have never been in a better position than this year to win the league. A full and comprehensive squad. Most other teams in transition or not playing extremely well as they have before. Everything is lined up for Arsenal to win the league except the mentality among the players. People keep saying Rice should be our Captain, but I disagree, as I don't think he has the winning mentality needed to be Captain of a league winning side. I don't even think it's lack of belief, I think it's fear. A fear of conceding so they defend as one unit, but there's two sides to every team and our attack is woeful, as it has been for the majority of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭omega man

it’s also worth noting that City strengthened in January with 2 big signings (premiership proven) while we did nothing despite our obvious issues up front. Just another example of City getting momentum at the right time coinciding with our regression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭IrishOwl...

But Liverpool didnt struggle, they were on course for 90+ points sesson until they decided to go on hoilidays with a month left after sealing the title. I think its harsh to claim that Arsenal bottled last season title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭mossie

Last season we were absolutely plagued with injuries and that pretty much screwed our season. We've had a few also this season but with a deeper squad we should be better able to manage this.

Gyokeres hasn't reached the hoped for levels but our 2nd choice, Jesus, hasn't been any better when he's played. Our defence has been less impressive lately and up front only Trossard has really had a good season and he's dropped from that level recently. Martinelli hasn't been at it for a couple of years really and Saka hasn't been great for months. Madueke has been OK but not brilliant by any means. Setting up too conservatively doesn't help and the slow horseshoe play from left to right and back is making it easy for the opposition. Hincapie's run for the second goal and the pass to him is what we need to be doing more often but our forwards rarely do this and are even more rarely passed to when they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Kerry Gooner

It’s the hope that kills you and there is still an opportunity but you need to seize the moment, not try to protect what you have. Heading into the climax of the season and none of our players seem to be playing at their best, none of our forwards can retain possession under pressure and own goal & set pieces have deserted us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The only glimmer - sliver - of hope that I can see is that it can't be denied now that there's a mentality issue that's acting as a block on the team. Maybe facts will be faced and looked at plainly.

It isn't something that can be dismissed anymore: Liverpool weren't that bad really, Forest away is a tough tie, United scored two wonder goals, Brentford away is tough... Last night there were no excuses.

Two nil up against the worst team in PL history... Who, while making an effort in the game, were clearly not that great and didn't even play particularly well. And yet Arsenal still found a way to implode.

What adds insult to injury is the fact that there was zero need for Raya to come for that ball, there wasn't a Wolves player anywhere near it. It was a bad cross. I've never been more stunned and yet totally unsurprised by a moment in football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Ah im sick, so so bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 58,507 ✭✭✭✭Necro

They (Wolves) didn't even have a shot on target between both goals, we just completely crumbled under the remotest whiff of pressure.

I'm not even sure replacing Arteta solves it, we have had many examples of this mentality for years now, even in the Emery era (albeit with weaker players) we managed to somehow miss out on CL football despite nobody else seemingly wanting 4th place, AND being in a Europa League final.

I'm in a low place after that game last night despite where we sit in the table because that feeling we're all expressing… it's not a new one. There's just nothing left to hide the truth anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,973 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Utterly depressed today. Sick to my stomach. The XG last night was ridiculous! we had 1.86 (way too low Vs Wolves) but theirs was 0.29! Yet they get 2 goals off it. Heard a mad stat on a podcast today that Arsenal have conceded 18 goals or something like that off an Xg of 2.5 in recent games… That's bonkers.

It does feel like we've let it all slip away, but what if this is just rock bottom and we go back to some form of our former selves? A moment of introspection. One can but hope. You know when Szoboslai banged that cracker in against City, I turned to my eldest and said, we are going to win the league this year. It has all gone terribly wrong since. It's all my fault.

I think it stretches back to the 07/08 season. Sorry to bring it up again, but I know, personally, since that season I've always had a dose of fatalism when it comes to Arsenal: that they won't do it, that they'll fail. Arsenal fans can't get salty or defensive when people say "bottlers" or "chokers". It's deserved.

I've seen people get defensive when people talk about the 23/24 run in. "lol, 16 wins out of 18 and you call that bottling, roll eyes emoji etc, etc" Yeah, great, 16 out 18, fantastic. But what about that other 2?

One was City away: played totally cautionary stuff, looking back they may as well have gone for it and died on their sword.

The other was Villa at home, a 0-2 defeat. That game was significant - if they had won that day they would have gone in front of City with six games left, Liverpool had already drawn, inexplicably, at home to Palace earlier that day.

It was the chance to get their noses in front. Everyone knew it. But, instead they played with fear and anxiety and got increasingly jittery when Villa didn't capitulate in the first twenty minutes and eventually suffered a humbling - but sadly thoroughly predictable - loss.

So, yeah, 16 out 18, great, but that was all in keeping pace - when they had the one opportunity to take the initiative: they didn't take it, they couldn't take it: they shat the bed. They fcking choked. When the chips were down they bottled it.

That 16 wins out of 18 defence annoys me every time I see it trotted out to counter "bottling" accusations. Yeah, great run, but at the decisive moment they didn't take their chance... again. I thought this year was going to be different... but, gah, I felt it again the night of the Liverpool home game.

I think there is something there that's deeper than Arteta for sure. I think a lot of Arsenal fans expect things to go wrong eventually and I think that lends itself to a slightly neurotic, emotionally charged atmosphere around the club: it colours the outside noise about the club to an extent. Some of that has to rub off on the players and the staff.

But, then again, you have to say last night was pathetic. Outside noise or no outside noise. Just absolutely pathetic. You don't deserve to be champions after that really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Last night was a pile of shíte and I reckon they'll blow it from here too but let's dial back the revisionism a bit, specifically the City game in 23/24. They absolutely did not need to win that, avoiding defeat was what would have left the run in in Arsenal's hands and that's what they went there to do and succeeded. Don't forget the Etihad was a much tougher place to go a few years back and Arsenal's record there up until that point was atrocious.

If you want to call losing one game out of the other 17 bottling then go for it, I would simply have to strongly disagree with you.

22/23 and 07/08 were "bottle jobs" if you want to call them that, and you can probably add 25/26 to the list when all is said and done.

I think you can have both things occuring.

I take your point about the City game, it doesn't bother me as much as the Villa game.

On one hand Arsenal did play great stuff and show great consistency during the latter half of that season, but the Villa game was the one to finally put their noses in front, to grab the opportunity and that's when they suddenly couldn't perform: the team got anxious, the crowd got anxious, you could feel it. I think it's revisionism to forget that game or handwave it away.

Edit: Not trying to come across at overbearing here. I guess it's a day of high emotion.

Post edited by Arghus on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭blingrhino

Its far from ideal and we were/are shite but lets face it ,we are 5 points clear middle of february and there is nobody that wouldnt have taken your hand off for that in august 25.

Yes its frustrating listening to the media and gary nevilles of the world but fcuk them and get behind the team.

Time to be positive and glass half full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭wassie

Yep. Gabby & Decs looked extremely p!ssed coming off the ground last night and Im sure words were had. I'd say the team will be fired up for the weekend looking to make a statement.

A solid win against the crosstown rivals could be the spark the lads needs. A lot of football to be played and we are still in running for all silverware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭eastie17

Have you just started following this team? This is a repeated pattern and it’s a flaw with the manager. It’s happened in other sports, take James Horan in Mayo, brilliant manager, revolutionised that team but didn’t know how to land the big one. Arteta is now the same, it’s some sort of mental hang up, it’s not fixable once you fail 2 or 3 times. There’s team starts to doubt and it’s fatal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,072 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Getting it up for one game here and there isn’t good enough though. I think it’s done already as it’s now in City’s hands (win every game and they win the league), but to give themselves a sliver of hope they really have to go out and beat Spurs & Chelsea back to back now. After failing to beat either of Brentford & Wolves I just can’t see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,568 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

The people mentioning that it's now in City's hand are annoying me in a big way. The very same phrase applies to Arsenal. If Arsenal win all their games then they win the league. I don't see many people pointing that out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭DvB

I hear you, however….

I think the fact that City have a mental strength & experience in landing big trophies that we don't gives them a significant advantage from this point on, so whilst we can mathematically win 4 trophies 'IF' we win every game between now & the end of the season, the reality is that this is extremely unlikely based on the fragility we've shown since Christmas. City whilst not being as dominant as they have been in the past have a manager that delivers & core players that deliver & owners that reinforce instantly when needed (legal or not, they address shortcomings quickly). We cannot match that ambition, resources or experience.

My genuine expectation is that in every 'must win' game we'll crumble as I've seen very little to suggest we're capable of regrouping to the extent of putting up much of a fight against city & the mental energy they bring in the run in. We had our chances to build a buffer against them but have pretty much failed at every opportunity to maintain a lead, let alone extend it. To me the writing is very clearly on the wall and no amount of bookies odds, simulations etc will change that.

As mentioned above we at the very minimum need to beat Spurs & Chelsea to keep ourselves in the mix, as I sit here now I would not be confident of 4 points, let alone the 6 we really need.

FTR i'm not being pessimistic, I've just accepted the reality & am going with my experience of both playing sport at a reasonably competitive level & watching a lot more of it over the last 40+ years. IMO we will win nothing this year, might win enough games to finish 2nd again (on the assumption Villa or United dont put a decent run in together), but thats about it.

What I'd like to see from the remainder of the season is something that we can build on for next year because thats when the fun really starts for Arteta as he wont have the injury excuses he had last season to fall back on for this one, that squad was more than strong enough to get the job done so where to next?

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens

Sorry that I annoy you. It’s been in Arsenal’s hands for quite some time but now they’ve fecked things up to the point that it’s also in City’s hands. I’d be backing them with the way things have played out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,282 ✭✭✭✭OmegaGene

The internet isn’t for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I thought city were mental money at 4/1 a month or so back when they were only 6 behind with the Etihad game to play, never did anything about it though 😔

Of course this isn’t the City team of old but I think signing Guehi & Semenyo in Jan and Dias coming back from injury leaves them in great shape for the run-in

it’s like we have morphed into the city fan club here now

I was still optimistic, if not confident, up until the Wolves game. That’s just completely knocked the wind out of my sails now tbh. Even with 5 extra points on the board I just can’t see them getting it done now

you can take anything for granted over 38 games, when a club is at the top every team ups their game and its best in my opinion to enjoy the ride and always expect the worst.

I was in the barbers earlier and according to them Saka is rubbish and totally over rated and won’t even make the England squad, rice is clueless running around not doing anything

I gave up listening after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,153 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Same, I had justifications for the other poor results, but something shifted on Wednesday for me. I never bought into the whole dialogue that this City team were incapable of going on a run either, and their willingness to go out and improve the team in January told me they were serious about chasing us down. I was always of the belief if we opened up a big enough gap they might concentrate on other competitions or suchlike, but as we've failed to pull clear they've clearly taking the approach that its game on. With all the pressure on us its set up perfectly for them.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" Charles Dickens