Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭cheese sandwich

SC has gone to shìte over the past six months. I’ve let my subscription lapse, maybe I’ll come back in the future but I’m not missing it to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I’ve seen some bad faith posters before but asking do they have to pay for it and then asking where did I say they would have to use for free is a strong contender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Same as that.

I can't listen to the rugby stuff anymore.

I can't listen to US Murph's shtick anymore.

I struggling to list to regular Murph!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Cherrywood FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,851 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I had a good aul listen to this piece as the general idea (an indoor multipurpose sports arena) isn't a bad thing. The model of how it is funded and how the "community" uses it is probably key.

Now, he raised this point himself, although not as directly as I am about to. Horse Racing Ireland, and the Greyhounds get significant amounts of funding on an annual basis from the Irish tax payer. Two essentially "niche" sports. Granted there are numbers of people employed in the areas and several spin off benefits but if you want to make the link between public funding and "community benefit" I think it's worth noting that public funding goes towards many things that you could argue aren't necessarily good for the "community" as a whole.

If this venue costs 300 mill to develop (and there's a clear plan and access rights - even if paid for) by community sporting organisations etc, then I don't particularily see the issue if the state were to pony up 80 or 100 million on a one off basis to get it developed, provided the right legal safeguards and frameworks are in place. I'd generally see this as much better value that some of the same amounts of spend go today.

Anyway, it is unlikely to ever happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 5offthetee

I’d vote for ending horse racing and greyhound funding too

Let the bookies fund it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,851 ✭✭✭✭kippy

I'd agree.

The money that goes into these sports could go into many other "community" iniatives.

The question then needs to be asked, where the legal frameworks for use and ownership agreeable, would the money that goes into these sports be better going into projects such as this. Basicilly a 100 million euro a year into something else with a potentially better community focus.

You wouldn't be too long part funding at least one indoor venue every year for the 1.8 billion (100 odd million a year) thats been put into greyhound and horse racing over the past 25 years.

If this kind of conversation shines a light on the use of public money to fund community sports facilities, thats not a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Should be investment in 4G playing pitches/complexes that can be used to fulfil matches for various clubs

My young fella has played 1soccer match since the end of October. Mainly due to water logged pitches and pitches being unavailable as other age groups are using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Until such time that the boxing and athletics programs are properly funded those lads can feck right off with the ice hockey cap in hand shíte. It’s not even a high level of the sport.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

31066.jpg

"Eurorailing with Ken Early." ?

Not even the remotest hint of an Irish accent off Daniel Whelan.

Ive zero interest in NFL but I enjoyed the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭cmac2009

I thought it was fairly dull to tbh. Fair play to the lads, numerous attempts to inject some enthusiasm into the discussion but Daniel wasn't having it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

NFL for beginners and Daniel would put Father Stone to sleep. An interview and interviewee so boring that it's almost must-listen content to be able to grasp how dull he is.

That was the dullest interview they've had since Peter O'Mahony and the "big, big men" debacle.

An incredibly dull guest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭bike2wkr

Seriously the content over last 10 days mainly when ken absent has been poor and/or boring. I've no interest in rugby and definitely not in some ice hockey stadium or NFL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Tucker.Tim

Some of ye need to sub to a football only podcast. Second captains has always been about more than whatever happened yesterday in Old Trafford, North London or Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

seconds captains is at its best when covering football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭The Davestator

That's probably because you are most interested in football. So am I, but what sets SC apart if their coverage of stuff I normally wouldn't go out of my way to listen to. US Murph, Caitlin for tennis, Gavin Cooney for anything, Clerkin on golf etc.

I love watching rubgy but can't listen to people talk about it. Same with GAA, love playing, coaching and watching, but you have to be a special contributor (like McConville) for me to listen to much talk about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,002 ✭✭✭bren2001

Second Captains is at its best when it covers niche topics. Their football coverage is grand and I enjoy it for Ken but some of their best stuff is obscure stuff e.g. the Christina McMahon interview in 2016.

Its pretty odd for someone to say and complain: "I've no interest in rugby and definitely not in some ice hockey stadium or NFL" - they've 6 pods a week. Its going to cover stuff outside of football. I don't want or need a daily football pod from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,252 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Ken is what makes second captains worth subscribing to and he mostly talks about football. If it was just Eoin and Murph I don’t think it would be successful and would only have a fraction of the subscribers.
    But I don’t mind over sports being covered, I listen to most episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,002 ✭✭✭bren2001

Ken is absolutely the best of the 3 and is the reason to subscribe.

I don't agree that they're at their best with football. Their best is niche topics but they pop up once every few months and don't form the podcast. The football pod is the one I listen too the most. I'd have GAA/Rugby/NFL on when I'm not really listening and is more background noise. That's just me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭joinme

Ken has a unique and compelling perspective on most stories that interest him, and that mostly happens to be football. But Eoin and Murph inform Kens analysis, Eoin expertly gives him the space and time he needs, but is not afraid to probe or push back when needed. Murph can be very funny with little quips during Kens monologues, but sometimes needs to know when less is more. I think there is an alchemy between them that would be much diminished if you took one away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭jones

I agree Ken is definitely what brings the pod its X factor but its the interactions between the three that really do it for me. Ken on his own wouldnt be as good and the show without Ken would be fairly dry i reckon. All in all its a cracking pods and i'm thankful for all of them…yes even Murph :-)

Even Brano has grown on me

I will openly admit I have barely a passing interest in GAA, but for those on here that do have an interest...Is it just me or is Paul Flynn an incredibly boring analyst? I would listen to McConville talk about GAA every time he's on as I find him very informative, but find Flynn's analysis incredibly dull. Is this just a "non-fan" perspective or do others who actually follow GAA religiously think the same?

I don't mind him, knows his stuff and gives some decent insights. Works better with someone to bounce off though

He's not too dissimilar from Shane Horgan I guess. Hes not going to convert you if you've no interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Flynn knows his stuff for sure but is a little bit cursed by the years under Gavin. Spend enough time in a charisma vacuum…

Horgan is both very knowledgeable and good craic. Not that Flynn isn't, but just a bit less monotonous to listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭bike2wkr

Personally I wish they covered league of ireland more. They do a bit but not enough IMO.

Their coverage of athletics is also half hearted and only for example 400m women relay are doing well so let's interview them. Id prefer if they got a athletics journalist on a bit more to cover middle long distance, sprint whatever and a bit less ice hockey and nfl as who cares about those (imo !)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I like Flynn, his take on things is usually interesting.

2 rugby pods in one week and no Friday podcast

1000016716.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 uggybear2

This! I think the LOI deserves a lot more of the spotlight, tbh. I mean, yes, Ken does a really good job in analysis of the PL matches that happened over the weekend and there is still a huge interest of the Premier League within Ireland…but our media (in general) is saturated enough with wall-to-wall coverage about it at this stage. I do miss David Sneyd and Branno's contributions!

Sidenote: I used to think the SC pod and the radio were pretty dull in terms of football coverage around the summertime; but that's because I didn't watch the LOI in those days - so now there's plenty of football to watch after the Premier League is over in April/May (besides international tournaments)!