Died or Passed away?

• 16-02-2026 11:53PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭
    The truth doesn't lie.

I would never say "died" because it just sounds so brunt whereas passed away is more subtle?

If you keep looking back you'll never see what's in front of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭greenbin2

Aunt etc passed away

The cat died

But Jaysus, he died for our sins, awesome guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭KaneToad

I always say died as that's what happened. Passed away is a bit childish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Time for changes
    The truth doesn't lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

Departed this life…

if the person believed they were going somewhere else 🙏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭Appletart Upsetter

Brown bread.

The truth doesn't lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭geographica

died

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭lucalux

I say died. Euphemisms are more annoying to me than not, it doesnt make it less upsetting for anyone to say that a person 'passed' I feel

The truth doesn't lie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,508 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

It's in the Bible.

"For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a loud cry of summons, with the shout of an archangel, and with the blast of the trumpet of God. And those who have departed this life in Christ will rise first."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

You're forgetting "unalived" 🙄

The truth doesn't lie.

I never heard of that before but after looking it up I don't think it should be part of the thread.

Unalive

is a slang term used on social media as a replacement for the verb 

kill

or other death-related terms, often in the context of suicide. 

Unalive

is typically used as a way of circumventing social media platform rules that prohibit, remove, censor, or demonetize content that explicitly mentions killing or suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭NiceFella

Below ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭adaminho

He's not pining! He's passed on! This parrot is no more! He has ceased
    to be! 'E's expired and gone to meet 'is maker! He's a stiff! Bereft of life, 'e rests in
    peace! If you hadn't nailed him to the perch 'e'd be pushing up the daisies! 'Is
    metabolic processes are now history! He's off the twig! He's kicked the bucket, He's
    shuffled off his mortal coil, run down the curtain and joined the bleedin' choir
    invisible!! THIS IS AN EX-PARROT!!

Monty Python summed it up best. I use both died and passed away equally, died in a more casual setting and passed away in a more formal setting. My American in-laws use passed and the wife hates it when I say Dead House and not Funeral home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,535 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

Who's dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭dairyedge2

Both are better than expired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,893 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

"Asleep in Jesus!"

Untitled Image

…can I get an amen?

Untitled Image

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭mykrodot

Died.

Passed where? That's what I always think of when someone says "passed". Its a real soft option, because we are afraid to actually name it, name death, name the finality of it.

My daughter died when she was just 5 years old. She died. I learnt to speak the word then, no pussyfooting around, no pandering to other people who were afraid to say it. It was appalling, the worst thing to ever happen in my life, but it happens to so many of us. It is death.

I remember at the time people sayng "she is with the angels" and I used to feel like screaming at them……..she should be with me! It was no consolation to be told she was in a better place, with God, with the angels! People say such stupid things at these times. It is far better to just say "I am so sorry for your loss" and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Left the mortal coil. That was another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Jacovs

Kicked the bucket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Perfidious Cretin

I've heard a few people say Unalived..

Feel like throwing a shoe at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭puntosporting

Im nearly sure unalived became popular due to Instagram mods and the likes getting triggered on posts etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭JVince

Personally if someone has died naturally of old age, I like the phrase "passed away".

And if someone has passed away due to illness, accident or some other sudden situation, I prefer to say they "died".

😉

Yeah it's to bypass filters on the likes of Youtube and social media. There is still a stigma around the word suicide with phrases like personal tragedy often used by the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭Kalimah

I hate that “with the angels “ rubbish too. I use rip.ie a lot for work and you wouldn’t believe the number of condolences posted for a stranger’s child, most using “ with the angels” or very often “with the angles”. Horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,508 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

With the angels is no more rubbish than Rest In Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Boardnashea

Anything except "Passed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭blackbox

Died every time.

And Passed is much worse than passed away.

At least if you hear that someone has passed away you know they haven't just performed an overtaking manoeuvre.