The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭quidel7

I’m sure Cavan will throw absolutely everything at the Tyrone game and that could take them very close to a win. Tyrone are not near their best at present and a surprise Cavan win would be a game changer and a real boost for all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

No idea but Killian Clarke mentioned he’s been in the role 3-4 months on the podcast.

As for predictions about Tyrone, I don’t see how anyone could have any confidence going into this game going on recent performances against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭large_palette

It's in Omagh. Nearly 30 years since we beat them in a league fixture. They haven't been firing themselves. It would be a nice time to pull out a win, but I'd happily take a draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

I just have a feeling this could be the day we turn them over. The effort has been good and I think Tyrone may come in a bit arrogant and over confident despite not being going that well themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭Dickie10

bookies don’t see it Tyrone 1/7 , and you never see a bookie on a bike !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ipitydafool

I see Cavan Institute have made the semi-finals of their competition this weekend in DCU, playing a Liverpool College in semi finals today. I know it the 3rd tier of the college's GAA competition but great to see so many Cavan clubs represented on the panel- 22 different Cavan clubs - some good young players on it - https://www.cavaninstitute.ie/post/cavan-institute-targets-final-spot-in-sigerson-week-2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭piplip87

Probably the toughest game we will face until the Ulster Final coming up this weekend.

McCabe is getting good performance's from the lads, Tyrone aren't going well at all but it's Tyrone in Omagh, I'd say another narrow defeat is on the cards, if it is then we must win every other game to realistically stay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭South of the Bann

Team named... 6 Brady's named to start is that a record?

A full forward line of Gearoid, Lynch and Dara certainly looks like it’d trouble other teams but I doubt all three will stay in there unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Raymond Galligan gone to Galway.

To do what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,657 ✭✭✭tanko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,306 ✭✭✭piplip87

1000023364.png

Yeah seems to be the case alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Thunderbirds

Get himself a few euro and sure fair play to him.

Posted on Facebook:

Former Cavan manager Raymond Galligan is a new addition to the Galway senior football backroom.

He arrived with the Galway team in Tralee this evening.

Galligan links up with former manager Mickey Graham, who has been part of Pádraic Joyce’s backroom team since last year.

Galligan was goalkeeper & Graham was team manager when Cavan claimed their most recent Ulster SFC title back in 2020.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭celt262

It's a real cash cow these lads get on the circuit and they dodge about different counties and clubs hoovering up big money. Gaa seem to want to do something about it bit whether they will is another thing.

Galligan gone to serve his time. Retired 2 years ago. In between Cavan CB saw fit to appoint him as senior county manager.

Paddy Lynch not starting??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭celt262

Not going to get much fair play from this referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

What the fcuk is that cavan jersey, absolute muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

you can count on one hand the amount of times a cavan defender as touched a Tyrone player going forward….the cavan defence is solid shite here in the first 20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

Tyrone aren't that good they are just less brain-dead when it comes to shooting

1st Tyrone goal was a terrible decision the free against us . I'm thinking it's all over now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭DJIMI TRARORE

Well worked Tyrone goal, the full length of the pitch without anyone tackling, it's like a challenge match, no intensity, no hitting. , no tackling from both teams. Long time since I've seen such a placid Tyrone side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Just watched that first half.

1. Cavan slow and laborious going forward.
    2. 2. The defence never laid a hand on the Tyrone forwards.

You will win very few games playing like that. Recipe for disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭benjy1000

Woeful bad so they are.

Will bate Offaly & lose the rest.

Relegation & a semi final defeat in Tailteann.

This is an important half of football. We're staring down the barrel of relegation here. Fkn shore up that defence and play with some intent up front. Tyrone no great shakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

You are optimistic with a tailteann semi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,719 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭mylestheslasher

Cavan play in Blue, what the fcuk is that they are wearing. County board just want to make money. As for the football, some of the worst attacking play overseen from us. Slow, afraid to take a man on. Then eventually cough it up easy and Tyrone tip us apart on the counter. I thought we could do this, expecting a 10 point defeat from here