Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

Regarding Cuddihy (and that’s probably the first major embarrassment of his Liveline tenure) the clip below gives an insight into his progressive outlook on immigration.

His general point that Ireland’s genetics are a mixture of north-west-European peoples is an interesting one. But it’s quite another thing to argue that the concept of nativeness to Ireland is incoherent, with the implication that only a bigot could object to further immigration. Twenty years ago this would have been radical stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I appreciate that.

We have different priorities but I imagine we come from a similar intention of wanting what is best for our country. I am a patriot. I'm from the North, where to be openly Irish when I was growing up could often be a point of contention in a way that I find many in the south have never experienced (I still remember my mother having to use fake non-Irish names for us when we were children so as not to identify herself in Portadown where she worked in the 90s). I love the Irish language, Irish music, I love the Irish people, I am fiercely proud of our history and our culture.

My feelings on immigration are that many on the Left retain a purist view of compassion, without acknowledging the reality that entwining too much compassion in policy eventually destroys your ability to be compassionate at all —because you sap the will of the people to be compassionate. And if that happens, any Left leaning person has to ask themselves: was it better to limit compassion for foreign migrants for the purpose of perpetuating it than it was to maximise compassion for short time only?

But I read things on here (and elsewhere) all the time that tell me Right leaning people have not learned that there is a similar inverse question for them to ask themselves. If you retain a purist view of discompassion towards migrants, ignorant of human emotion, you will sap the willingness of the people to be discompassionate and you will continue to lose the argument.

Because the Right is losing when it comes immigration. That's evident in the fact that migration continues and demographics continue to diversify even in places like the US and UK where the Right has won significant battles within the last 10 years. So the Right has to ask itself why it keeps winning battles but keeps losing the war — and it needs to recognise that much of it is self inflicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,056 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Women who claim asylum with young children are rarely deported why you see so many its good loophole for them . They get leave to remain if they did not qualify for refugee status .A swift decision no benefits and back to the UK where they most likely came from .

Post edited by rgossip30 on

How about do your research to prove otherwise as to dismiss does nothing for your argument.

So is that a reason to bring in more migrants from different cultures different religions that don't assimilate integrate and want to create a sub culture of their own .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Cuddihy would not have been let anywhere near the dials for a show like Liveline unless his open borders credentials were anything less than impeccable.

This notion that Jim O Callaghan is a tough guy on immigration is a media construct.

This Nigerian family have had their case heard, they have had their appeal heard. They were issued with a deportation order.

It's Jim O' Callaghan (FFG) who has blocked that deportation order, making a mockery of our judicial system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭TokTik

You seem to think I care if we look heavy handed. I don’t. I’d welcome heavy-handedness. They applied for asylum, don’t meet the criteria, goodbye. Next flight home. Every day they are here they are costing the taxpayer money. Get rid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭ingalway

Ah yes. Of all the stories I could have made up this is the most original my unimaginative brain could come up with.
    Well done you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭engineerws

https://www.msn.com/en-za/news/other/schoolboy-rugby-stars-in-ireland-could-be-deported-to-south-africa/ar-AA1VYtQU

The family sounds lovely but can't figure it out. The sons are incredible athletes, sound nice and Gonzaga gave them a sports scholarship that amounts to about €8000 a year.

Will gonzaga ever give a scholarship to an Irish child from a disadvantaged area. What about a black coloured Irish child?

If they're not entitled to asylum why are they here.

The whole thing reminds me of the Belvedere boys sleep out over Christmas where they collect the money that might have gone to a poor homeless soul. Private schools....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

But I read things on here (and elsewhere) all the time that tell me Right leaning people have not learned that there is a similar inverse question for them to ask themselves. If you retain a purist view of discompassion towards migrants, ignorant of human emotion, you will sap the willingness of the people to be discompassionate and you will continue to lose the argument.

Many thanks for the reply and appreciate all the points made - however regarding this bit I quoted from you, I would say that some of the more hard-right certainly would fall into that category, but their numbers are insignificant overall.

Most people I converse with regarding immigration wouldn't have given it a second thought up to around 4 or 5 years ago, they have become quite hardened in their views towards immigration in that intervening time though.

The people who have been championing open borders for a long time now (Irish media, Irish NGOs, EU, the vast majority of Irish politicians, etc…) have been the instigators of this new wave of hardened views from ever increasing amounts of Irish people. The drift to the right, and further right on immigration issues is in response to the above.

It's not like people wake up one morning and say from now on I'm gonna detest immigrants coming in to the country. The trigger has been the free-for-all over the past decade or more, that's mostly if not completely on the shoulders of open border advocates. The same crowd who shout racist and [X]phobic at anyone who dares to question the madness of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I don't care if you care about coming across heavy handed. But what I am telling you is that if your policies are seen as heavy handed, they will last a few months and then fail.

It's up to you to decide whether you want a short term policy that conforms to what you want but fails quickly, or a decades long policy that achieves some of your key aims.

Up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭Joe 90

There might be a right wing hovering the USA now but it's more ty thirty years since there was anything resembling a right wing government in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭iffandonlyif

An Irish fellow has a documentary out with some fairly big names in America discussing the ‘exportation’ of the culture wars. I thought, fantastic - lots of stuff about Irish lefties adopting beliefs and language that emerged on US campuses twelve months earlier. But, no, it seems to be confined to right wing politics. From the transcript:

‘And instead of entertainment and just culture traveling across, politics did as well. And then the culture wars stuff were more specifically when we were talking about some of the trans issues beforehand. The Gender Recognition Act was something that I think was debated in the Dail in 2015, 2016.

And it wasn't really any massive amount of pushback. We've got Paul Murphy, the TD in the documentary too, who spoke about that. And he said it wasn't until a couple of years later then that it became these people who had cottoned on, that it was a major issue that riled people up in the US, that if they did it here, it would get people riled up here too.’

It seems entirely beyond his powers of imagination that the reason the Gender Recognition Act was not controversial at the time might be because it was sneaked through at a time of overwhelming progressive consensus within the establishment. As that consensus recedes, and cases like Barbie Kardashian come to light, we naturally revisit things we tacitly supported at the time. It is staggeringly simplistic to say, ‘It didn’t exist then, it exists now, therefore it must have come from abroad.’

The relevance to this thread is that the very same argument is made about immigration. These people, who advocate for a characteristically American multiculturalism, will accuse you of importing ‘American culture wars shite’ if you do what every society in the history of humanity has done and instinctually oppose rapid demographic change.

Incidentally, culture wars was a phrase the left wouldn’t allow you use until about a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

It now appears that Seamus Culleton who was made a hero by the media earlier this week has twin daughters in Ireland who he abandoned , its harder and harder to feel any sympathy for him

https://archive.is/20260215004558/https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-15561001/Hes-Irish-illegal-immigrant-claims-hes-victim-Trumps-ICE-crackdown-twin-daughters-home-say-abandoned-toddlers-return-face-drug-charges.html

Post edited by Jack Daw on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

I’d argue that public sentiment on this issue, at least as it relates to asylum-related immigration, is less unstable than you credit. In the UK, the Government is in the process of adopting a policy that will re-interpret asylum as a temporary status rather the permanent status that it previously conferred in practice, this will involve regular re-examination of asylum status and enforced deportation if applicable. As a policy this is supported by a majority (55%) of the public. It is a radical re-interpretation of a system that regarded asylum status as a direct pathway to citizenship. Amendments to Indefinite Leave to Remain for asylum recipients are accepted as a given, the debate in the UK at the moment is whether to apply the amendments retroactively to multiple types of immigrant. At an EU level, the initial discussions on the EU Migration Pact excluded the concept of third-country processing, a measure which, once implemented, will allow EU Member States to enforce deportations and entertain appeals from outside the EU. In actuality, third-country processing was only included in the Pact once the draft Pact was initially agreed, it is an indicator of the pace of re-calibration on this issue. According to polling, a majority of the public (56%) in Ireland supported a form of the measure that involved processing the initial claim outside of the EU. It is true that the optics employed by the Trump administration would be unpopular but there is a difference between efficiently enforcing a deportation order and indulging in the unpleasantness of it. If I were a pro-migrant organisation, I’d be consoled that at least the re-drafting of the Refugee Convention and the European Convention on Human Rights is out of the question, for the moment…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

Very welcome to see the European Parliament voting in favour of the third country hubs a few days ago. 3 FG MEPs voted in favour, 1 (Maria Walsh) against. All 4 FF MEPs abstained as did Independent Ciarán Mullooly. Independent Michael McNamara was absent from the chamber for the vote. SF predictably voted against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭minimary

So some South Africans with children are being deported but not those with friends whos children attend private school. I don't see how this isn't an example of class privilege in Ireland. Surely all asylum seekers should be treated the same and deported if their claims fail, its manifestly unfair to have different rules based on who you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Hats off to the 3 MEPs who voted in favour of it.

I voted for Mullooly and have regretted it since, he would be more at home in a party like the Soc Dems than Independent Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Thorny Queen

I came on here to talk about that family from South Africa (safe country) who have been here since 2023, live in Dundrum and one of the sons attends a private school already. WTF!

The Mum is a good person because she volunteers (obviously saw the cheat sheet).

Seriously if they get their case accepted now, I am offically giving up on this country and lament what has happened here in the last 10 years, 5 years to be precise.

I have said before that most of my Dad's family live in South Dublin but his grand nieces and nephews will never be able to afford to buy a house there now. Not one of them could afford to buy or rent in Dundrum and not one of them was ever offered a scholarship in a private school nor could their family afford to send them to one in this day and age. Despite their parents working hard.

Certainly not after living in this country for 2-3 years.

I am really starting to give up on this place. Betrayal is a horrible thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭herbalplants

Shocking. Looks to me more like discrimination towards locals. It seems locals mean nothing in this country.

Remember the shills only get paid when you react to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

If you play Rugby in a private school then you get a pass.

😄

Edit ... get it ?... nevermind

What's happening with this South African family is quite disgusting when you think about it. What about the families out there with a genuine claim to asylum who are missing out because they don't have the connections that a few well placed south Dubliners have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Perseverance The Second

Think your conception of 'right wing' is not accurate. Some of these may have used the Rhetoric of a right wing but clearly governed Liberal Left.

Not to dissimilar to some wealthy benefactors such as Murdoch who might rhetorically be anti-immigration in his newspapers. But absolutely wants immigration- just go back to 2013 where he advocates for high immigration to Australia.

In the USA context it seems Trump's second term is the first time Right Wing policies have started to be implemented. Suspension of immigration from 75 countries, ICE, Defunding USAID etc.

In the context of the UK it's clear that the 'right wing' are just neoliberals who still hold onto to the social liberal consensus. The Conservatives throughout their 12 year reign governed entirely along the whims of socially liberal ideals- especially inducing mass immigration.

The UK still does not have a party anywhere near close to an actual right wing such as the AFD- Rupert Lowe's new outfit appears to be the closest. The socially liberal consensus on immigration is extremely strong amongst the UK elite.

Which is also the reason why the Radcliffe comments were particularly shocking. As it's the first time someone has actively hinting towards a split from Elite Consensus.

Professor David Betz provides some better insight on this matter

https://x.com/DavidBe31099196/status/2022033401826443686?s=20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

According to RTÉ nearly 63,000 people were refused visas for travel to Ireland over the past two years, with citizens of some countries facing rejection rates of over 90 percent.

More than 321,000 visa applications were granted in 2024 and 2025, according to figures released by the Department of Justice.

In 2025, visa decisions were made concerning 72,137 people from India, with 92.4 percent of all applications granted.

Unreal, so not only did the bould Seamus Culleton run out on drug dealing charges, he also ran out on his two twin girls. In their own words.

The two young women said their mother has not received ‘a penny’ in child maintenance from Mr Culleton since he ‘abandoned’ them.

RTE put this man on a pedestal without doing a shred of due diligence. Will their be any apologies or retractions for attempting to hoodwink the public? Or do they just quietly attempt to brush their embarrassing mistake under the carpet? 💩💩💩

Thats the really disgraceful thing from it all , there willl be no self reflection from RTE, no apology for falling hook line and sinker for his fake sob story, and Billy Kelleher won't apologise for bringing it up in the european parliament and wasting everyones time with it. Hopefully someone calls in to live-line during the week a drags Kieran Cuddihy over the coals for it but I doubt that will be allowed to happen.

The whole Culleton story also showed the benefits of social media and X, for all its faults.

If gives peope and outlet to call out the bullshit spread by the mainstream media as in the past they were gatekeepers of information and "the truth" whereas they arent anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Juran

Those 63,000 must be thinking .. ' why did we bother applying and paying the visa fee when we could have just shown up at Dublin airport and claimed asylum. Hey, I wouldnt even have to pay for my hotel or food myself '