A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭Niska

First shots (for a few seconds) in the recent HBO 2024/25 reel (from 70 second mark):

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 962 ✭✭✭geecee

trailer is out, looks awful TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

The accent is a bit laid on ("Noyght") and I lost all interest in that dragon spinoff (the characters just looked silly, being flung around on the back of the dragons. So much that it took me out of the moment). And of course the last couple of seasons of Thrones were rushed, style-over-substance with no risks taken.

But, having said all that negativity, I'll definitely give this a go. I read a couple of the stories and they were not bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,877 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Actually looks like they're staying relatively close to the novellas which bodes well…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭robwen

First episode of this seems to be out on Sky Atlantic, anyone watch, thoughts?

The trailer didn't look great to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭Niska

Going by the runtimes, and just six episodes, I may just leave it until they're all available and watch in one sitting.

• Episode 101, "The Hedge Knight" - Releasing January 18, 2026: 42 minutes
    • Episode 102, “Episode Title TBA” - Releasing January 26, 2026: 33 minutes
    • Episode 103, “Episode Title TBA” - Releasing February 2, 2026: 31 minutes
    • Episode 104, “Episode Title TBA” - Releasing February 9, 2026: 34 minutes
    • Episode 105, “Episode Title TBA” - Releasing February 16, 2026: 37 minutes
    • Episode 106, “Episode Title TBA” - Releasing February 23, 2026: 31 minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭robwen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,052 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Lead actor is from Portumna.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,140 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Should've let him use his own accent... dunno what the GoT producers have against Irish accents. Was the same with Liam Cunningham.

Tom Vaughan Lawlor seemed to enjoy throwing himself into his scene.

Feel like - as noted above - one 40 minute episode is a bit short to introduce a new set of characters and timeframe.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Enjoyable first episode.

Like the two main characters.Ive not read the source but seems like it will be kind of a buddy comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Yeah I thought it was alright, would have liked it a bit longer for a pilot episode.

Looks like it'll be good(haven't read the books)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭gipi

It wasn't bad - a bit light hearted compared with the other GoT stuff.

I haven't read the stories, early reviews I've read suggest they're following the books anyway.

Thought the main actor was a bit flat and wooden, maybe I'll warm to him. Ex rugby player, I understand.

Did it have to get so scatalogical?!

It's short enough, I'll give the series a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,679 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

It's a bit of fun and a fairly easy watch. More A Knights Tale than Game of Thrones.

I love the other shows but it's nice to have something where you are not constantly trying to remember various plots and plans within plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Hodors Appletart

Enjoyed it immensely, I haven't read the novella(s).

A nice light-hearted peer into the world away from the machinations of the various houses vying for power.

I think I know who Egg is, by some manner of osmosis, so that's interesting. I also thought the Baratheon lord with the antler crown looked a bit like Tyrion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 808 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

Exactly who I thought he looked like too

I enjoyed the first episode enough all the same. I've read the books and looks like they are sticking to the books.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

Watched the first episode and will continue. Read the books so know the story and how it will develop.

If it sticks to the books, it will be an enjoyable and fun trip seeing the world of Ice and Fire through the lens of ordinary and some not so ordinary folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,877 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Enjoyed it, seems to be sticking pretty close to the novellas. It's been a while since I read them but I don't remember him giving himself the sobriquet "the tall", thought he initially called himself Ser Duncan of Pennytree or something like that?

The Dunk and Egg tales are much simpler stories than the political machinations of the main ASOIAF series so it's going to be a fair bit lighter in tone and should allow for a bit more comdey.

Loved the language used by the Fossoways and how almost every saying was in some way related to the apple of their sigil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Thought it was fun. Was delighted to see Nidgey!

Was hoping they'd use the GOT theme tune, there was a nod to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,249 ✭✭✭ardinn

Jaysus - Dont watch of the opening episode 2 with the missus!

Dude hangs dong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Being under the GOT umbrella probably damns this show with grand expectations from the mass audiences, but it really is a great little show in it's own right. After just three episodes, I'm fully invested in the fate of the two lead characters. They're both just very likeable, with great small moments together. It's refreshingly earnest (at least through Dunk's eyes), and the supporting characters all are bringing something unique to each episode.

It's funny, Ep 3 was the strongest to-date and many will say it's due to the latter half revelation, but the first half was great character/relationship that made the second half land all the better.

Ya it's just straight up good. Really easy and enjoyable.

Reminds me a lot of Murderbot on Apple. Similar quick and easy episodes with some good humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,311 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

It's great my favourite thing I've watched in a while. Irish fella is good, like a really tall not quite as handsome Robert Redford.

I can't stop seeing and hearing former Galway hurler James Skehill.

It's a really nice show, not quite "feelgood" but the relationships are very good, well written.

The comparison to Murderbot is spot on actually.

Its also feels like the first show in years I have followed that didn't have about four different simultaneous plots or groups to jump between.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,089 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Only started this this evening.

I don't want to get too into the Dunc/Egg bromance because I know how the GOT world works, but I enjoyed the opener I must say

Episode 4 is out today to avoid clashing with the Superbowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭nachouser

I'm really enjoying this, it's very pleasant and the relationship between Dunc and Egg is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭PIORUN

wow episode 4. Absolutely brilliant , shout/ cheer at the tv brilliant. What an ending 🎉