Match Thread: France v Ireland. 6 Nations 2026, 05th Feb. ITV and Virgin Media KO 8:10pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I'm going to be honest here in saying that I'm not sure whether Ireland would win in Paris tonight or whether France will demolish them on the 1st night of the Championship. If Ireland is offering a experimental team going into the 1st 6N match against the French; I feel that our team are not going to have an easy time out there on the pitch if France are seen to be too powerful to get them over the line with scoring tries. I think France would win this game tonight with a try or two if they have the grit & attrition within them to tear apart our Irish front row tonight with considerable ease.

I also have no idea what is France's win rate against other opposing teams if those in opposition offered experimental rugby sides against France on paper. If France are definitely capable to blitz themselves to win big against these experimental teams; what does that situation provide for the Irish team run by Andy Farrell & his management team in Paris tonight?

It could be quite easy out there for Ireland or it could be tough for them on the 1st night of this Championship.

I would take a French win with them taking one or two tries for the taking with Ireland asking themselves a lot of potential questions about their performance for the remainder of this Championship. France by 8 or 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭RogerThis

Ireland aren't here to make up the numbers. I think our scrum will suprise a lot of people. Come on Ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Manc-Red_

Come on Lads!

Better Born Lucky Than Rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Genuinely don't know how to feel about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭amacca

They must all have second or third jobs to make ends meet....no time to shave, multiple mortgages to service!

image.jpg

🇮🇪🇮🇪🇮🇪🇮🇪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Yer man , the " Growler" commentating on Virgin...........switches channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,940 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

The national anthem of Ireland. It isn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Hair on the back of the neck stuff...come on Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭TRC10

Listening to the Virgin Media coverage, what I find amazing is that in the space of two years, Ireland have gone from Grand Slam Champions, No.1 ranked team in the World, favourites to win the World Cup, to plucky underdogs, “maybe if it lashes rain we can sneak a LBP”, “this would be one of our most famous victories”, and everybody is just completely accepting of it. Nobody seems to care or wants to question why this has happened. It’s bizarre to me.

If NZ or SA suffered such a rapid decline, there’d be a national inquest and questions asked of the coaching staff. Here, we just shrug our shoulders and say “it is what it is”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Having to watch on ITV here, can only get better after the anthems. Sound was terrible.

This absolute nonsense. I want to hear the crowd singing the anthems, not the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,015 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Expecting them to come at us like a torpedo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,409 ✭✭✭clsmooth

When did we last travel to Paris as favourites? Also missing your first 3 LH options and your TH starter isn’t ideal is it? Games tend to be won in the front 5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

France by about 12, hope I'm badly wrong though. Just can't see it with the injuries and form Ireland has been in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Not a fan, but thought I read it will only be once per half?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Didn't realise Eir and Vodafone had it too, I also thought they purposely fed them the **** feed.

Problem with Sky Stream now though is no ITV, it'll have to be by other means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Not feeling incredibly optimistic but will be interesting to see if our relatively experimental side can produce just a good, well disciplined game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭HanShotFirst

Rain Gods

Ireland KO will help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,162 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

The Marselles always sounds better when the sound is from the crowd, reminds me of that nonsense at last WC with anthems.

Onto game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭benjy1000

Shocking defence from O’Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

Good man Sam, immediately throwing himself into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,998 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

thats a warning shot anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,940 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

blessed.

There's your warning.

Brothers Prendergast to the rescue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,781 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Frightening how easy France went through there. I'm fearful of a thumping.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Jesus that was close. need big scrum here. that was big warning shot thrown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Oooh….that was uncomfortable. Was that move there near the try line a sign of things to come from the French?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

French LHP folded inwards there