No quitten we're whelan onto chitchat 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,990 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

They should be encouraging women to stay at sports not pushing them away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭somofagun

Has the fun been taken out of everything these days, or is a case of me just getting older and more grumpy.

I would hate to be training now, watched my lad at minor training the other night and there is no craic.

TV there nothing on that you would sit and laugh out loud at the way we used to.

Maybe its just me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I’m the same as you and I’m guessing it’s partly an age thing.

But I think Ireland has changed more in the last 20 years than in the previous 100. It’s a cliche but the country is more an economy now than a society.

Farming is another example. It’s obviously always been a business to some extent but some lads think it’s nothing only a business these days. And that you should certainly not be having any craic until you’ve the last c/l or DWG added up and benchmarked against the loudest willy-wavers in the country to show you’re better than your neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭endainoz

She didn't get much of a chance in fairness 🤣

Gibbons comes across as a right smug prik of course. It's a pity Fitzmaurice took the bait from him though, didn't really do himself much favours. Gibbons was delighted with himself anyway, I'd prefer to get someone better to debate him though. Plenty on here would be well educated enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,990 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What's with the 6 nations game being on a Thursday evening? Normally on at the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 137 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Did the message not mean that there was 4 kids at training last week. Not that there was 4 training sessions last week? 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 137 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Was supposed to be on Friday evening only it would clash with the opening ceremony of the Winter Olympics as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Aravo

Some one on here might know this about Kilree Farm.

1) Breedon Group operates a quarry at Kilree Co. Kilkenny. Was the Breedon quarry land originally part of Kilree Farm?

2) Who acquired Kilree farm in 2023?

3) Did Breedon group acquire part or all of Kilree farm? They are planning to expand the quarry and the expansion is into part of the Kilree farm that was for sale in 2023?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,524 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

hes dead right. if lads are turning up they should get the jersey first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Yes. But don't let the truth get in the way of a good story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,704 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

oh! Thats different! Sorry I read it as 4 “trainings”. My mistake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Day job here has me liaising between workers and employer after redundancies were announced. Not simple dealing with people who are stressed and worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,888 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭Tileman

just went through it in our org. Lots of good people who were very loyal gone . Got good redundancies but doesn’t suit everyone especially with age profile for some.
    o was hoping I would be illegible for it but unfortunately all I got was extra work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭lmk123

tough job you have, must be devastating for people, especially older people who have been there years or haven’t done interviews etc in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,761 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Oh god I don’t envy you.

We went through that back in 2008, I was sitting lads down telling them they had been selected and facing a recession it was very hard times.
    I actually volunteered in the second round because it was awful dealing with it. Not what I wanted to be doing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Talks was that John Magnier bought it at the time.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Just thru the annual insurance merry go round for farm/house & tractors. Fbd and Zurich were the most competitive fbd 40quid cheaper, Axa were almost 1200 dearer. Up almost 300 quid from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

As far as I'm aware the quarry bought some can't remember exactly how much but less than 100 acres and coolmore bought the rest. The tenant in situ is still farming and I believe might even have renewed the lease. However others here might be more informed and could confirm for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Aravo

That sounds about right. Quarry bought some and rest went elsewhere.

The hypocrisy of John Gibbons is astounding. I don't know how many in family but say John was entitled to part of farm.

a) leasing out farm to a dairy farmer. Why didn't he rewild some, more forestry. No he took the money from the lease.

B) Why didn't he hold onto his bit. rewild some, more forestry. No he took the money.

And sold part of the land for rock extraction, concrete production etc. John Gibbons ain't worried a jot about the environment. It's all about the money with him. A total bull sh##ter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Well, have we a hope in the rugby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Just where Gibbons grew up. It's the best land in the whole country. Anyone that has driven that road would agree.

There's a massive priory ruins nearby called Kells. There was a rumour this was the Kells where the great book was made and not in Cavan. Alongside the priory runs King's river. Remember that when I continue.

Where John grew up is called Kilree. Kilree actually means Kill Ri. Church of the King. Across the road from his homeplace is the church and round tower of Kilree. Just outside the bounds of the Church is a great Celtic stone cross. It was said the King of Ireland was buried here. But because he wasn't Christian he wasn't allowed in the Church grounds.

This King of Ireland was killed in battle and brought here to be buried.

IMG-20210530-WA0003.jpg 20210530_150553.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

There was 530 acres in the farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Austinbrick

Beautiful Round Tower and Celtic Cross.

Makes a change from Tams sheds and slatted units.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,039 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That's very interesting and something that I will have a look at.

As an aside Kells is in Co. Meath. IMO the best land in Ireland is North County Dublin and Meath and it commands the highest prices per acre.

It's absolutely lovely. Well worth a visit to Kells and Kilree on a fine day.

I took the above pictures during Covid lockdown when we weren't really supposed to be travelling. Water under the bridge now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,436 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Your a fair spin from it but you've been about it before. Family up there?

If you wanted to be organic the land there in that area of those ruins would trump anywhere in the country. They say the soil is as black and as deep in a good way as you'd get. Grass grows for sport.

I've been around Meath and North Dublin. Bought my parlour in Skreen, Meath. I'd take Kilree in Kilkenny.

Phil Callahan, was mad for those round towers in saying they boosted farm produce in the area.

Sunday touring. Lots of people know nothing of Kells, Kilkenny. Myself included till we took a road past it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭visatorro

farming and forestry and rugby are the only sections id look at here, theres sone fairly knowledgeable poster in rugby but it can be a tough read when things go wrong and they dont seem to like occasional posters either. Even though I've followed rugby all my life I dont get involved really. Ill just stay away for a few days.

As regards the team we had it good for 20+ years and from 2018-2023 we were capable of beating the best but couldn't make it count at world cups. I fear its going to be a lean couple of years.